We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Davidson Street, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia 6430, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Kalgoorlie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I found the rydges to be a great place to stay. The rooms were excellent and had all you needed to relax after a busy day. I cannot fault this place. It was just what I was hoping for after travelling for 11 hours.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear 22Hugo,

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am most pleased that after such extensive travelling we were able to provide you with what your expectations were and hopefully gave you a good nights rest!


Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    95
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
11
58
7
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Called to make a reservation - phone almost rang out before being answered at 11.30 am.

Asked cost of rooms told $219.00 per night. When I told receptionist I was online and it said from $139.00 was told prices changed and started from $139.00 but could go up and was $219.00 as it was busy.

After reading other reviews I dont think this place lives up to a 5 star standard and we wont be staying here.

Service was poor before we even attempted to book! First impressions are important.

Room Tip: Read reviews and check out for yourself before forking over any money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear alana a,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience. Our rooms on this occasion were certainly $219 per night and the advertising your saw FROM $139 was certainly correct for a package we have available on weekends and in December, January, February. Our rates, like other hotels do go up and down, hence we advertise rates as From with packages.

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed here before when it was Broadwater and it was brilliant Have stayed at many Rydges in various parts of the world without a single complaint.
However, our stay heres was very different. On arriving at our room No11 we were greeted by a half eaten pizza sitting on top of the microwave, the carpet was disgusting full of large heavy grease marks (we refused to walk on the carpet in bare feet) the bed looked as though it had just been thrown together and not properly made with the cover and cushions placed on shelves rather than on the bed,the bottles of wine on top of the fridge were covered in dust looking as though they had never been dusted, there were half used cakes of soap in the shower recess and on the wash basins and both mornings breakfasts in the restaurant at 8 am were stone cold. There was also a $55 bottle of champagne which we had never used added to our bill then withdrawn after protests.This is also the most expensive Rydges we have stayed at outside London.
Roger Adams --Perth

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Roger,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As discussed with you after your stay, I am disappointed that unfortunately your room had not been cleaned before you checked in hence the half eaten pizza, cakes of soap etc. As discussed I have addressed this with the team to ensure procedures are in place to try and ensure this does not happen. Whilst this does not make a very good first impression my understanding was that this was rectified shortly after you checked in. In regards to the cold food at breakfast I have also addressed this ad I am confident that guests are receiving hot food at breakfast.

I do appreciate your feedback as it only assists to improve our service whether it is positive or negative feedback, and I hope the next time an insurance audit is being conduct we meet your expectations.

Sincerely

Edward Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

After crossing the Nullabor & staying in roadhouses this hotel was heaven. The most comfortable bed & pillows, lovely inviting room with huge bathroom. Had 2 dinners 1 st night excellent next night so so. Staff very cheerful & obliging. Only drawback a fair way from the main drag. Played golf on the exceptional golf course, saw super pit, had very interesting tour of town hall with local historian Tim, visited the very interesting Kalgoorlie Museum. The only really crummy thing we did was the Questa Casa brothel tour. We were a captive audience for the Madame Carmel who droned on in a fake plummy accent & gave us a boring recitation of the history of brothels in the goldfields and sermonised us on her version of the failings of our government. This monologue was delivered in a very school marmish manner & when we reached the domination room I'm sure she would have liked to have given us all a thoroughly good whipping! This boring tour was such a contrast to Langtry's ( now a boutique hotel) which we visited a few years ago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear felicitySydney,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay during your recent trek across Australia. I am pleased our oasis setting with new Rydges Dream Beds provided you with the relief your needed from your travels.

I understand your disappointment with the Tour you went on. Obviously, we do not have much control over third party operators, however I will bring this up as part of my role on the Visitor's Centre board for discussion.

I hope you do choose to stay with us again if visiting the Goldfields.

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Overall the Rydges in Kal is top quality. The beds are indeed magnificently comfortable and our executive room was very spacious and well laid out. We stayed twice in two weeks and both times the restaurant was excellent with generous portions of well cooked food. Serving lunch at 2.30pm to weary travellers who had taken 20 minutes to check in proved no problem. The location is a little inconvenient unless your main destination is Harvey Norman, but we had no reason to leave the resort during our stays.

Minor gripes - both times there was maintenance to be done in the bathrooms, and as intimated above the check in process was laborious to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear grangeview,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the restaurant to your liking and your room comfortable. We unfortunately did experience some plumbing issues during your stay, to which I am pleased to say have been rectified. We will certainly address the check in speed with reception to ensure it is more streamlined.

I hope that you will choose to stay with again, when next in the Goldfields.

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Decided to go to Kalgoorlie on the weekend for a bit of shopping and r&r.Delighted with our choice at the Rydges.Rooms are a good size and the spa in every room is great.Breakfast was included and that too was enjoyable. Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Juliek920,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us in the heart of the Goldfields,

I will pass your comments onto the team and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Was booked into Rydges in Kalgoorlie by a client so no idea what it cost. However knowing the town fairly well I was very pleasantly surprised. A large room near the outside pool. Two storey motel style blocks of rooms with winding paths between shaded by gum trees. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Big bathroom with jacuzzi and nice toiletries.
Breakfast buffet (included) was one of the best I have had in years, although the coffee was a bit of a let down.
A great improvement on Rydges in Adelaide (see separate review)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear ilminstertraveller,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your tropical oasis setting and found our bathrooms and new RISE! Breakfast to your liking.

I will certainly address the coffee comment and ensure that our staff are being trained to provide the best coffee in Kal.

I hope to see you soon in the goldfields again!

Sincerely.

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Address: 21 Davidson Street, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Kalgoorlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa offers the traveller a 4.5 star oasis conveniently located close to the Kalgoorlie town centre in the heart of the historic Western Australian gold fields region. Offering the only hotel in Kalgoorlie with all rooms featuring couples spa baths, 92 studio, one bedroom and two bedroom accommodation rooms, indoor and outdoor resort style swimming pool and heated spa, versatile function areas, a contemporary all day dining restaurant Rydges Primewest Restaurant' and an al fresco dining area all surrounded by native Australian gardens. The hotel is the perfect destination to complete your business needs and as a getaway to relax and take in the history of the region. Come and experience the newly opened Alleya Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.