We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room comfy beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Geraldton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Geraldton to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Geraldton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Brand Highway, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Geraldton
Newman, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean room comfy beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed a night, checked in late which was fine. Had bar fridge with reasonably priced drinks and snacks. Clean room will stay here again. Bed was comfortable. No noises and good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
6
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I almost cancelled the booking here because of some of the negative comments, dithering over the frankly mediocre choice of hotels in this town. Actually, the Comfort Inn reality is much more amenable though it would be an exaggeration to say it was a sensation.
1. Our Tom Tom seemed to have no idea where this address is and tried to send us on a 5-hour drive south. Not the hotel's fault, but you might find it hard to locate if you rely on a GPS. Even when we located it in Places of Local Interest it still seemed to think the motel was further south than it is, and '107 Brand Highway' meant nothing to Tom Tom at all.
2. Access off the main road is tricky and extremely tight. As we pulled in one evening a woman in a pickup was charging out, leaving us perched halfway back on to the main road for a terrifying couple of minutes. Parking is allocated by room number.
3. We had an upstairs room - these cross the whole building with access from the back. This led into a corridor past the bathroom and on to the main bedroom which had a small balcony overlooking the front parking and the street. Yes, it's true that road trains pass by not infrequently and while you can hear them, the idea that these cause hideous noise levels is absurd. We live in a rural village in Lincolnshire and are used to graveyard levels of silence; we both slept perfectly well and hardly noticed.
4. The room (205) had a fridge, microwave, kettle, tea and coffee, as well as free broadband for which you need a (highs-speed data ethernet cable (in the room desk drawer). They call it 'dial-up' which makes it sound like an old slow modem and phone line, but it isn't. It's perfectly good broadband. No Wi-Fi. Not all rooms have the free internet.
5. Bed was comfortable and air-conditioning worked fine. Hot water flowed freely though three rooms next to ours seemed to have no hot water on our second night. Room was clean enough.
6. There is a mini-bar in the fridge and on the shelf above with Australia's idea of comedy prices. I can't imagine why anyone other than a lazy lunatic would pay $3.50 for a packet of crisps or $4 for a bottle of water, but then a cooked breakfast here is $20 which I assume is all part of the extended bad joke, based on the idea that only millionaires stay here. Since every Australian I have met here talks about the appalling cost of living for them, you can only wonder who ever buys these. Still, we bought two potatoes in a local supermarket for the equivalent of one UK pound, a sum of money that would have bought me 4-5 times as many potatoes in the UK.
7. The free continental breakfast consists of a range of cereals, fresh fruit, toast, yoghurts and tea and coffee. That was fine and there was no imposed limit.
The bottom line is that a motel like this in Nowheresville AZ would be $60-80 in the US; without the breakfast you could get similar facilities for 40-60 quid at a Travelodge in the UK. So it's at least double that in Australia but that's normal here. So absurdly overpriced by world standards but not by Australian.The Best Western up the road has no microwaves, for example, so at least you have the chance to cook your own meals here. In that sense this Comfort Inn compares well enough even if the Australian tourist industry has little chance at present of attracting foreigners. No wonder we hardly saw any non-Australians.
Geraldton has Domino's Pizza, KFC and McDonalds though we didn't try any of them.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade to the upstairs room with fuller facilities and allegedly quieter though we honestly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had visited this motel quite few years ago for business and my corporate agent decided we should give it a go this trip. I generally stay with Comfort Inn as they are usually excellent value and offer a very comfortable stay ( i have been travelling for 1/3 of 2013 already so have seen many motels thus far) WELL.

The desk staff are less than helpful, I complained 3 times I had no hot water only to be told by the maintenance staff that I should shower earlier or later as others might have been using the hot water! Not what you would expect from a multi room establishment.

The restaurant fair on arrival was ok if you can handle the noisy "hello, good thanks" chatter that constantly streams from the kitchen. The pricing is also very high for what you get, even for WA. My dining choice then changed when I spotted the chef behind the garbage bins relieving himself only to walk straight back into the kitchen. Not what I deem as very professional.

There are many other basic motels in Geraldton, I would recommend giving them a go first and utilize this motel as a last resort. Quite the dissapointment. I will be speaking with my booking agent regarding this one for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure it has hot water and no ants. Highway facing rooms upstairs are double glazed so the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As I book through a corporate travel company and as my usual hotel had bumped its prices up a little I had no choice but to book a few nights at the Comfort Inn.

Pro’s. I was given one of the older, ground floor rooms and I must admit it was one of the largest rooms I’ve seen in this particular price range. Everything was there, bed, luggage stand, tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TV on a swivel mount so you could move it depending on where you were sitting and even 2 comfortable chairs and a coffee table.

Bathroom was equally voluminous with clean towels and a good sized shower. However, it was here that I noticed plenty of small animal droppings. Not sure if they came from small lizards / skinks or cockroaches but it was disconcerting none the less.

I noticed that other reviewers had complained about the road noise since the hotel is about 10 – 15 metres from the Brand Highway but apart from one particularly loud truck it didn’t bother me at all. Neither is the attached liquor store a problem despite the fact that my room was only 15 metres away (it actually came in handy when I ran out of wine).

On the negative side the room was one of blandest I have seen. Pale green paint abounded with not a picture in site. It was like being in pea soup. It almost felt like a doctors waiting room. My suggestion would be to pop down to the local discount store, pick up some generic French prints and throw them up. Anything, even an AC/DC poster would make a welcome distraction from acres of green.

I didn’t have the chance to avail myself to their on-site restaurant but some of my colleagues that reside locally tell me they visit from time to time and the food is fine.

In the end, animal number two’s and the wall paint aside this is a hotel where you get what you pay for. The service is friendly, the rooms large, the bed comfortable. If you are after anything else you may need to open the wallet and go looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would ask for the rooms at the rear of the premises as these are shelte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilbara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had an older ground floor room so no ocean views (unfortunately didn't know there was an option upon booking). Rooms were spacious and clean, beds comfy. It is situated right on the Brand Highway so its easy to find (after a long drive). A little traffic noise from large trucks at night but not much. Bottle shop right next door. Worst part was the restaurant meals we had as room service - were all of poor quality and over-priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowcowing Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Have stayed here on numerous occaisions and have always been happy. Rooms are quite spacious and have everything that you need. Restaurant is a little overpriced but the meals are good. Rooms are neat and tidy. Not close to town, but everything is a short drive away in Geraldton

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms with a balcony with the entrance at the back of the motel. There can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great for a 1 night stay in Geraldton. Location not the best for in-town activities but only a short drive away. Right next to main highway so easily accessible.
Good breakfast included and rooms had plenty of space and were very clean.
Would definately return again and later returned to another Comfort Inn as a result of the standards and price etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Geraldton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Geraldton

Address: 107 Brand Highway, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Geraldton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Geraldton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Geraldton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Geraldton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geraldton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Geraldton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.