We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a few niggles.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Weelaway on Gregory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Weelaway on Gregory to your Saves list
Weelaway on Gregory
104 Gregory Street, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice but a few niggles.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights at Weelaway as we traveled to and from Monkey Mia. A lovely house with tastefully furnished rooms. Jackie and Bian met us on our first arrival but then we didn't see them again. The room had good aircon and was spacious with a comfortable, large bed.

The only down sides were a few annoying niggles. Our room had a scruffy bit of plate metal screwed to the frame of the door which was right up against the handle which skinned our knuckles as we opened it. The door into the ensuite had no door handle! None at all, not even a hole! We had to use a bit of bent metal we hooked over the frame to open it. We didn't find the blind for the patio doors on our first night so we woke with the dawn as there were no curtains. The kitchen was available with food for breakfast but there was no way to tell what was provided by Weelaway and what belonged to other guests so we were very reluctant to use anything from the fridges.

I could go on further but it comes down to a lovely property with great rooms spoilt by a lack of attention to some basic repairs and a lack of organization by the owners. Had we been shown around our rooms and briefed on the kitchen things would have gone much better for our stay. As it was we saw them for only a few minutes, had no idea how to find them again and felt somewhat abandoned.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daintree
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have had two separate family occasions in Geraldton recently and have stayed at Weelaway both times. Jackie and Brian have been extremely accommodating, and their house is lovely. The rooms are well appointed, as is the cottage out the back. There is a nice outdoor area for BBQs and the lounge in spacious and welcoming. It is a nice quiet street, and just a short walk to the calm and safe town beach.
It suits us perfectly, and we'd recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Have struggled with accomodation in Gero for a long time - premium prices - sometimes very ordinary returns, nosiy, dated and limited accomodation. What a pleasant suprise Weelaway was. We stayed in the Randolph Stow Suite: it has its own bathroom. It was well appointed, lovely furnishings, individual air con, very comfortable bed and an extremely quiet property. We paid $150 a night and for what we got (and compared to what else is on offer in Geraldton) it ws well priced, and our room was just lovely - will return for sure. A few small details (one has been mentioned by another reviewer) the common rooms are not air cond and it was 41, and those areas were just too hot to utilise. Would have liked another normal pillow for the bed and tv doesnt recieve the commercial channels and the digital stuff was ordinary, tv does have a built in DVD so maybe hire something for the night? (it all sounds minor though when I type it!)

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get your own bathroom, and if its going to be hot get the room with the air con in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were traveling In a camper on our honeymoon that broke down and the company we hired it from booked us into weelaway for the night, we had no idea what to expect and were obviously expecting a cheap no frills pub room but we were very much surprised. The owner of weelaway drove to the other side of geraldton to pick us up, took us back to our camper to get our bags, gave us a tour of the sights of Geraldton then dropped us off at weelaway to the beautiful and spacious honeymoon suite. We were shocked that such a bad stressful day turned out amazing, something we won't want to forget!!! The room was tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. Airconditioned, private courtyard opens off the room. Easy access to the main st of Geraldton (walking distance). Great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Large old colonial cottage with original main rooms tastefully converted to ensuite bedrooms.
Large communal lounge and kitchen with free continental breakfast - DIY.
If you want something different - stay in style - this is recommended.
Cons: Common rooms no aircon - It was 38 outside but this is not uncommon in Geraldton. Too hot to stay in these rooms for long.
On arrival some sort of layout plan of the home would help a lot next to the key pick up. It was confusing on my arrival. This is not an ordinary place to stay.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a lot of difference. The Xavier Herbert room wes the cheapest and was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed with my (older) parents in the 'cottage' at the rear of the premises. There are two bedrooms, a spacious living/dining area, a big bathroom and an adequate kitchen.

There is a split-system airconditioner in the living area which is efficient, but it doesn't cool the bedrooms very well, particularly in high temperatures. There is a pleasant patio area, and a small garden, plus the cottage residents have a carport.

The larger bedroom is very comfortable, and has a nice couch to relax on. The smaller bedroom is a bit poky, and the bed creaks a lot. Also, the smaller bedroom has no ceiling fan, so it could get uncomfortable at nighttime.

We were surprised to arrive to find the door open and the key in a box near the door, but we got in and settled just fine. Another guest arrived during our stay and was a little confused by it all.

The kitchen in the 'cottage' is adequate - there is a good quality, large fridge and a four burner gas stove. No oven.

I would certainly stay there again - we prepared nearly all our meals 'in' and saved money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

A rather unusual bed and breakfast, the owners don't live on the premises and although a continental breakfast is provided, you make your own. Guests can use the kitchen, dining room, lounge as their own. It's like being a guest at a friends house whilst they are out of town. It felt strange but I imagine if you stay a few days you get used to it.

It is a beautiful old house and the rooms are decorated in a tasteful eclectic style. We stayed in the Randolph Suite which had a huge bed and a small day bed. This was only just big enough for my seven year old and he is small for is age so do be careful if booking this room with an over 5. It was a lovely touch though that the owners left a picture book out for his bedtime story.

There was a good selection of cereals, bread, yoghurt and even hot cross buns for breakfast and a selection of spreads. The quantities were a bit limited though and after the family of four ahead of us in the kitchen had finished, there wasn't enough bread for the three of us to all have toast, and I think there was only 4 yoghurts between the 10-12 of us staying.

Quite a public toilet smell eminated from the toilets just inside the main entrance, I had to hold my breath taking luggage in and out. I don't know if we were just unlucky with the cleanliness of our fellow guests or whether there is a drain problem.

Overall we would defintely choose to stay again, especially for a few nights when the kitchen would be a real bonus. Although we never met the owners the email communication beforehand and the personalised note on our arrival made us feel welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weelaway on Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weelaway on Gregory

Address: 104 Gregory Street, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Geraldton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Geraldton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weelaway Cottage - two bedroom self contained accommodation, large, light, TV&DVD, private gardens, QS beds.Weelaway House - boutique hotel with huge beautiful heritage rooms with ensuites, TV/DVD, air-con, luxury liners and all conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Weelaway on Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weelaway on Gregory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.