We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geraldton Air Charter

Geraldton Air Charter
Gordon Garratt Drive, Geraldton Airport | Moonyoonooka, Geraldton, Western Australia 6532, Australia
+61 8 9923 3434
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialise in tours of the spectacular Abrolhos Islands, but can also take you to Monkey Mia, or plan a tour to take in the special places that you have always wanted to see. We also conduct business charters in a variety of aircraft. Just contact us to discuss your plans.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We took an all day trip to the Abrohlos Islands, with Geraldton Air Charter. It was a fabulous day. The pilot flew us over the 3 atolls, pointing out ship wrecks and significant sites. The view of the islands, and the surrounding choral coast line, from the air, was spectacular. After one hour in the air, we landed on one of the small, deserted islands, East Wallabi Island. This, and several nearby islands, are connected with one of the most significant events in Australian history, the wreck of the Batavia, and the subsequent mutiny and mass murder. At the island we were able to snorkel on the reef, beautiful, ate, and then were taken on a walk on the island, looking for bird life, and wildlife. The pilot is knowledgable about the history of the area, and its geology and wildlife.
This is a must do trip if you are in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    4
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A day to remember forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We came all the way here from the UK to visit the Abrolhos Islands as we're interested in the Batavia wreck and mutiny of 1629. Booked this online three months or so before but didn't need to pay anything till we rolled up. You get issued with snorkel equipment and flippers. You must take your own water and hat. Flight out took about 45 minutes with a view over the Pelsart Group, other wrecks, and West Wallabi Island where the small forts built by the Batavia's marine Wiebbe Hayes can be seen. Land on East Wallabi, have tea/coffee and then swim in a perfect cove with white sand. Lunch follows and then a nature walk round the island to see birds, wallabys and the like. Take-off is like lifting off from an aircraft carrier down the short dirt track runway and then you fly over where the executions took place, and Beacon Island where the mutineers did most of the murdering. I filmed this bit and you can see it at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ciBfzv7B0TQ Then we flew back to Geraldton over a shimmering blue sea. Priceless views there and back.

All in all a sensationally memorable day. At $500 for two people it's not cheap but this is private hire of a light aircraft and that's what it costs - I have no second thoughts: it was absolutely worth a 24-hour flight from Britain, a 5-hour drive from Perth and the cost of the day. You should read Mike Dash's Batavia's Graveyard first though, and visit the shipwreck museums at Fremantle and Geraldton.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Abrolhos Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Charter a day trip to East Wallabi Island through Gelradton Air Charters. Boking was easy. We were originally the only two booked and they told us they would still take us out. But three more booked on and the 5 of us and the piolet frew to the Abrolhos Islands. The pilot was a student of local history and the Island lore and enjoyed telling the stories of the island and it history.
You Leave Geraldton airport ind head west, over the city and out to the southern group of islands first. The views are fantastic. Then we head over the middle group and onwards to the northern group. We land on the dirt runway and walk to our shelter location.
This walk was the only hard part - it is about 1.2 kilometers, part in the bush on a hard trail and the rest on the beach. We brought too much stuff and you have to carry what you bring. The morning tea was simple snacks and hot water for coffee or tea. The Pilot then gets into swim gear and heads out with you to the reef. The coral is fantastic, but there is only a small area of it about 100 meters off shore, maybe 200 meters long. There were dolphins in the bay while we were snorkeling, but they never approached.
The lunch is quite substantial, there really is no need to bring food, only your water or drink of choice in a small esky.
Then we walk around the northern tip to see wallaby, osprey and other wildlife. This is hot in the summer, bring head gear!
The only bad for me was not anything to do with the charter service - I experienced a sting from a cone shell, I believe, when in the shallows getting out of the water. Just be aware to watch the sand for wildlife before stepping! Fortunately, no bad outcome except for some pain.
Highly recommended. Bring plenty of film or other camera, and lots to drink.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Abrolhos Islands - Unforgetable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We 'googled' to see what to expect and were well pleased with the day trip to the Abrolhos Islands. Brendon was fabulous, his commentary, knowledge and effort to ensure we got the best along with the stunning Abrolhos, makes an unforgetable day of site seeing, nature walks, snorkling in the pristine waters and a well deserved lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great experience - fabulous Australian history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Recently my wife and I took the Houtman Abrolhos Islands Flight with Geraldton Air Charter. What a great experience, another tick on the Must Do List. From the moment Brendon (our pilot) introduced himself we knew this was going to be an experience of a lifetime. The preparation, information and his demanour gave us an insight to what was to be a great trip.
The weather wasn't great but it was still an outstanding afternoon. The flight out to the Islands gave us the opportunity to see migrating whales on a number of occasions. Brendon's commentary kept us infoprmed as to all aspects of our journey.
Seeing, the wreck sites (including the infamous Batavia), the "oldest European built structure" in Australia - Wiebbe Haye's fort plus the current settlements was eye-opening. Landing on West Wallabi Island and then doing the nature plus further commentary (plus afternoon tea) helped create the aura of a great trip. The return trip finished off a fantastic trip.
DO TOURSELF A FAVOUR - DO THE ABROLHOS TRIP

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geraldton Air Charter also viewed

Geraldton, Western Australia
Geraldton, Western Australia
 
Geraldton, Western Australia
Western Australia, Australia
 

Been to Geraldton Air Charter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geraldton Air Charter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.