We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vat 2

Vat 2
2 Jetty Road, Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
97918833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 103 Restaurants in Bunbury
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Coolgardie
1 review
“Excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I visited Vat2 on Wednesday with my daughter for the first time on Wednesday for lunch. The staff were friendly and warm, we were given the option to have the kids meals served first so they didn't have to wait (which is great with the massive playground in clear view). The food was prompt and fresh, great value for money and something to please all tastes. Highly recommend visiting when you're in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    55
    36
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Well what started off as my birthday trip down South started off pretty dismally with a visit here with my husband, we had sent two emails with the time and dates of our reservation in May, however when we arrived there was no reservation but no need to worry as there were plenty of seating inside but only 1 left outside in the beautiful winter sun we were told we were lucky to get it, we did notice there were at least 4 table for 2 left must be reserved we thought( strange as we thought we did reserve?) but we ploughed on and were looking forward to the duck spring rolls which were cool in the centre but the thought was there, a lovely dish however was the chilli pops, my husband was also a bit affronted to find his beer fizzing away from what appeared to be a little bit of brown sticky substance stuck inside the side of his glass? Not very appetising so I guess we give this place a wide berth next time we visit Bunbury.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All this and Dolphin Watching thrown in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Vat 2 Restaurant is one of those places that you want to share with friends and visitors to town. Not only has it got superb views to the bay but dolphins often frolic there. A few weeks ago we were treated to a mother and baby playing in the water.
I went there with a group of friends for the Sunday Sundowner and the weather was good enough for us to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful view.
We decided to all try some of the smaller meals offered for that time of day. The food was good and certainly hit the spot. They had a singer to entertain us and he sang songs that we all knew.
I returned last week for lunch and the service was as great as always, with Jenny Spencer running around, making sure it was run like a well oiled ship. If you haven't tried it yet then definitely worth trying out. It is the sister restaurant to The Vat in Margaret River which has been running successfully for many years down there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of my favourites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Love this restaurant! From the great service to the wonderfully tasty food.Those little fish pieces for entrée with the beautiful dipping sauce..YUMMY! We left feeling very satisfied..thankyou.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Improved on our last visits, better service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I hadn't been to Vat 2 for ages due to some average experiences with service and coffee, but went there for lunch with a friend on the weekend and it was great. The service was prompt and friendly and the new menu had a good range of choices. We had the duck spring rolls which were delicious, the Thai chicken salad and the most amazing dessert - a warm chocolate brownie with chocolate sauce and raspberry sorbet!! The coffee was also good and hot, an improvement on previous visits. The prices are high, but with improved service and the new menu, I am planning another visit sooner rather than later.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vat 2 also viewed

Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 
Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 

Been to Vat 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vat 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.