We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Lord Forrest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Lord Forrest to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Lord Forrest
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Symmons St., Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We have been long time stayers with the Lord Forrest and it has been good to us over the years. We stayed at the mantra a few months ago and reverted to the LF just to save some money this trip but I have changed my outlook on things and think the mantra is well worth the premium.

The LF is just too tired and although nothing was terrible everything did seem "standard". Checkin was good, efficient and informative. There is no lift from the basement carpark to the lobby so you have to haul your luggage up a couple flights of stairs. The light in the bathroom was non operational until I gave it a few taps. The water pressure In the shower is bad and I actually ran out of hot water mid shower (bloke shower) not hour long!. The biggest concern was the sound proofing. The room we stayed on was on the 3rd floor but we were kept up all night by a bunch of drunks screaming their heads off in the courtyard below for hours on end. On a good note the location is great (centre of town) and there are plenty of options for dinner nearby.

Basically you get what you pay for. If you go into it not expecting too much then you will not be disappointed. If you are going for more of a special occasion then I recommend the mantra up the road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    67
    48
    29
    19
See reviews for
32
64
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Ok so we know this hotel has been around for a while and its a bit run down, so we didn't expect the world. But at least the service could be still there.... I stayed in the Lord Forrest Suite for the night before my wedding, on arrival the lady at reception greeted us and we checked in, I asked for a second key for my friend and she said " sorry there have been a lot of keys lost or not returned and we haven't had time to get some more cut". Then i needed to bring bags and clothes in from my car and there's no staff to help, we were just told " go over there and get yourself a trolley" and we had to bring them in ourselves. So other than a few other minor peeves, it was what it was, average.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel when travelling to Bunbury for an event. While the condition of the hotel isn't all that flash, we weren't overly concerned about this - what was bad was fact we couldn't get any sleep on the Saturday night because of the thumping bass from the nearby nightclub. I have stayed in hotels and hostels all around the world and have put up with lots of noise - but the room was actually vibrating from the bass. When we raised the issue that night and the next morning the customer service from the staff was appalling - they just didn't care or want to try and help. On following it up with numerous phone calls and emails to the Manager who wouldn't return my calls / emails, I was treated with disdain. Overall, a very disappointing experience and won't be staying there ever again and would encourage others to look for alternative options.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We have stayed at the Lord Forrest quite a few times now over the years. Keep returning as the location suits and we like the pool. We have had our old review removed so we could write an update.

As usual we booked well in advance, over the web and stayed (again) in a one bedroom suite on the top floor. As other reviewers have noticed the Reception staff appears to be untrained and possibly casual employees. They were pleasant enough but ready to put us in a corner room on the second floor. We had hard copies of our reservation and this problem was soon sorted out (no apology or excuse offered). We just don’t believe they did not know what they were doing.

The fifth floor had new carpet since last time we stayed and the suite had definitely been freshened up with new furniture etc. Clean and comfortable and quite spacious we were very comfortable. The bathroom is huge with a good size spa bath and separate shower. Lighting was not very good for makeup. The phone was not working and a hotel maintenance man was quickly at hand to fix (was not actually faulty but the power was off due to an unlabeled wall switch not being on). One of the tea cups was cracked and this was replaced. The view (as usual) was great and the twin patios had new surfacing but it is stand and view only, no outdoor furniture. The TV in the bedroom was placed too low for viewing from the bed (if you had feet!). The air conditioner blew warm air (same as last time) – perhaps it is not considered necessary to have cooling air in September?

The pool was very pleasant as usual and we enjoyed a swim. Other family members staying here the same evening had limited hot water in the morning but we were okay. We will probably return once again as the location suits us for family functions we often attend in Bunbury. Enjoy the pool, don’t expect too much and try not to pay too much!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

This hotel is very early 90's but thinks it can get away with charging top end prices. Bunbury needs a new, modern hotel, the lord forrest could be it with the right renovations as it's not too badly placed in the town, very central.

We found the rooms to be noisy, both from adjoining rooms and from noisy people outside. I had a pretty average nights sleep there.

I have only ever stayed in one hotel worse than this one.

I'd have felt agrieved at paying $100 a night here, not $150.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband and I and my brother and his partner booked 2 rooms for 2 nights over Easter. We understand it was peak time but what you pay per night for what you get was not good.

The rooms are small and have a musty smell. The carpet was really dirty and stained and the bedspread looked like it was from 1980. We found the blanket to smell also on the bed.

We have travelled all over Europe and Asia and I find that the quality of hotels in WA to be somewhat overpriced for what you get. This hotel in my opinion would only be rated a 3 star if that.

Great location with parking, so my suggestion to management - UPGRADE your rooms if you want to charge high end Melbourne/Sydney boutique prices.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

The rooms are still dated and need a proper cleaning anyway and the staff are still obviously untrained casuals however things have improved since my last vist 3 years ago (a little).
The buffet is only average and the prices are alittle high for what's on offer however the big let down here is that after about 8.30pm the place is like a mortuary - nobody about and you can heal the clock ticking!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Lord Forrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Lord Forrest

Address: 20 Symmons St., Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Lord Forrest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Lord Forrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bunbury
Quality Hotel Bunbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Lord Forrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.