We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodle rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Hotel

Rose Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Hotel to your Saves list
Rose Hotel
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Victoria Street, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Bunbury B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Remodle rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

Had to work and stay in bunbury the rose was booked over the phone and I had no problems checking in the rooms were clean daly and the meals were good and the price was great

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
23
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth - Western Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hotel itself is very old world but lovely! The receptionist was great and very helpful. We stayed in the refurbished motel. This was the surprise, spacious, updated and clean if there was any fault, no hair dryer. We had a cooked breakfast in a very large olde world dining room with white tablecloths! for only $12.00 extra. Situated right in the middle of town, good value for money! Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Having booked a motel rm by phone on Fri for Sat night and advising we would arr @ 6pm we were dissapointed that on arr @ 5.55pm we were told there was no booking but we could have a rm (ice-box) in the hotel. There were no towels, the B/room smelt strongly of B.O., a louvere window had broken panes, the dbl bed was against the wall crambed into a corner requiring persons to climb over each other to get in or out of bed, no electic blanket, a dbl bar heater had 1 bar in it . Over a meal (grilled fish burnt on the bottom) we decided after having travelled for 5 hrs that we would press on to Perth and home; we asked for a refund which was forthcoming; we arived home to a warm comfortable bed; and so endeth happy memories of staying at the 'Rose' some yrs ago.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

After having stayed at the Rose hotel many times over the years i was pleased to find that the tired old rooms at the motel have been completely refurbished and are now modern and comfortable. The only down side is the 25 percent hike in the tariff and you now must pay for breakfast in the dinning room. Even with the price hike it is still cheap and the standard of service and food in the hotel is very good and the location hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We booked this through the local tourism office in Bunbury - because it was cheap and walking distance to restaurants etc. Very pleasantly surprised with a recently refurbished room which was crisp clean and nicely done out. The receptionist was a star, happy in her work and extremely helpful. The Rose itself is a beautifully restored pub which was a pleasure just to wander through, dinner was well cooked if the menu was a little limited, the service great with a great selection of wine and beer on tap. Breakfast the next morning was good value. All in all this was a little gem we found in Bunbury. Bunbury itsel fwas a delight and well worth visiting.

Room Tip: the local Visitor Centre is always helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Our guide book recommended the hotel rooms at the Rose Hotel but as they were full we opted for one of the motel rooms instead. Our holiday was not off to the best start when the loo in our room refused to flush! However the staff dealt with this promptly and courteously and we were moved to a new room, with a slightly newer looking loo. I have to agree with a previous reviewer that the motel rooms were extremely dated (rather brown) and a bit gloomy. Some of the bathroom tiles were coming loose. Having said that, it was clean enough and we slept ok on the first night. On the second night some guys were talking outside until very late and we couldn't sleep at all for ages. We didn't have breakfast as it seemed a bit expensive considering the standard of the establishment. Maybe staying in the actual hotel is nicer but our experience was only ok.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

I took my wife, 15 yo daughter, mother in law and myself. We ordered the calamari and chips, a Caesar salad (which arrived as a chicken caesar), a seafood basket and chips and I had a steak burger and fries. With drinks the bill came to around $80+.
Now I know it's a bar menu so i'll take that onboard when I make my comments.
Is there a difference between fries and chips? Apparently not.
The calamari and chips was a pass mark with 6 squid rings and a handful of chips you would find at the bottom of your family freezer. My mil was well satisfied with her seafood basket but would have preferred less batter, however the Caesar chicken was rubbish - flooded with dressing and with lettuce past it's use by date, however the chicken although edible but did not look appetizing. Now as for my steak sandwich - the meat was probably 3mm thick and cooked until black on the hidden side and looked good on the up side with 1 piece of tomato and some very burnt onion, lettuce and a soggy bottom bun. Need I say more. I am not sure if this is the usual service or quality but we will be unlikely to spend $on a meal at The Rose again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.