We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing staying!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stingray Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stingray Beach Inn to your Saves list
Stingray Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ziyaarai Magu, 08090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing staying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It was a first time going to Maldives and we all enjoyed staying in Stingray hotel. If planning to go to Maldives, Maafushi island is very good for value so please do not expect the same island as you can see on pictures from resorts. However we experienced a tasty food and clean and modern rooms for very good value of money. There are the options booking trips to the luxury islands and also plenty of water sports, night fishing etc. It is a muslim island so wearing the swim costumes is strictly prohibited however you find some beaches that allow tourists to wear it. This hotel is not located on the beach but a few meters from the beach so there is a need to walk. Hotel is very cozy and very friendly. The hotel is perfect for tourists, young people, money savers, short term staying but I think that if you are really looking for paradise, honeymoon or some special occasion I would look for a different place. The property is bricked up so you cannot see anything around. I do not recommend it for families with children as the hotel is small and everyone can hear every noisy that may be a bit annoying for others. We do recommend the staying anyway as service, manager (owner) was very helpful, informative and had all well organised when it came to guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

It has been more than a week that we are back from Maafushi, Maldives but the hangover of the wonderful place is still there. My wife and I were on our honeymoon and stayed at this very lovely, homy and cozy guesthouse. We were welcomed with a surprise as our room was well decorated for the honeymoon couple :)

The manager Ibrahim, in charge of guest relations Ismail and the entire staff at Stingray Beach Inn were extremely nice and helpful. They helped us with almost everything including planning on our excursion trips. They suggested us a good souvenir shop and got us some discounts too.

As for the room: It was very clean and simple and had everything you need. The aircon, fan, tv worked well. The room service was good.

We were a li'l concerned with the food as we both are veggies but the kitchen staff took very good care of it and prepared us some really good breakfast during our entire stay.

Ibrahim also arranged the local Bodu Beru dance during our stay which we thouroughly enjoyed.

I look forward to coming back again and experiencing another pleasant, restful and fun stay in this guesthouse. Many thanks to Ibrahim, Ismail, Yunnus and the rest of the staff for making our stay a very nice experience!! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Last week I have spent a week’s vacation in Stingray Beach inn on Maafushi, Maldives. We have had a wonderful time. As for the room: it was clean, simple, but with everything you need. Airco and fan worked well, which was nice with the heat. The hotel only has ten rooms, which makes it very cozy. In the intimate patio (with hammocks and even a Jacuzzi!) you feel at ease. The hotel restaurant serves great food, we had dinner there every day! Furthermore it has to be mentioned we had the best host ever! Ibrahim, the owner of the hotel, is very kind and helpful and is always there to be of help. The beach is just a small stroll away for the hotel. Be aware that this is a fenced off beach for the few tourists and only there bikinis are allowed. On the rest of the island one should respect the local customs and laws, and be covered up. Also be aware that there is no alcohol allowed on the island due to religious beliefs and laws. But if you can’t do without, you can always have a drink on a neighboring resort island. It is absolutely worth it to make some excursions the surrounding islands. We went to the resort island Rihivelli, which was really nice. Great beach and sea (very shallow which was great with my 1.5 year old), and we actually saw many dolphins swimming around the island. All in all, it was an absolute great week in Maldivian paradise and I will definitely return to spend another vacation at Ibrahim’s Stingray Beach inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Titika
Greeting from stingray beach inn.

We are very delighted to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and the team has done a great job to make your stay pleasant and memorable. I will definitely share your encouraging message to the team as your feedback is an inspiration to help us to serve our guests better.

I truly hope we will be welcoming you back to our little paradise in the near future.

Warm regards
ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a wonderful cozy inn (like others also in the island) with very friendly staff.
At first I was a bit disappointed with Ibrahim as he asked for quite high sum for sped boat transfer. But their service has definitely won my heart.

Pros
Very good service: the staff are really helpful and accommodative. In absence of Ibrahim, Ismail took good care of us.
No frill with lot of feel: they lent us free snorkeling kit with fin for our island hopping and also beach towels.
Wonderful food
Big room
Good selection of music
Very cozy, homely atmosphere.
Cons
Expensive speed boat transfer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear A B M Washi U

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

We are very delighted to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and the team has done a great job to make your stay pleasant and memorable. I will definitely share your encouraging message to the team as your feedback is an inspiration to help us to serve our guests better.

The team and I are looking forward to having you and your family back to our little paradise in the near future.

Best of Regards
ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I just returned from Maafushi, Maldives, and already miss it greatly. My friend and I truly enjoyed our stay in this lovely and very homy guesthouse, which is 3mn walk from the beach. Maafushi island is experiencing a mushrooming of modern hotels nowadays; it was therefore very refreshing to stay in this cute, clean and green place, where the entire staff is really doing its best to make you feel at home. The garden is full of palm trees... and hamacs. There is also a jacuzzi guests can use for free...
When we first arrived to Maafushi island by speedboat, we were personally met by the manager, Ibrahim. Along with his other colleagues, they walked us to the guesthouse and offered us a welcome drink (a yummy watermelon juice... so refreshing!). Afterwards, they let us settle in our rooms, and it is only after 2 hours that we got to sit down with them and settle the bill.
Ismail, in charge of guest relations, informed us about all teh various activities we could do in neighbouring islands. We were also briefed about the Maldives.
One of the highliths of our stay was the cultural evening that is held once a week at the guesthouse, by a local group of young men. Very rythmic! Make sure you don't miss it...
I look forward to coming back again and experiencing another pleasant, restful and fun stay in this guesthouse. Many thanks to Ibrahim, Ismail, Yunnus and the rest of the staff for making our stay a memorable experience!! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim M, General Manager at Stingray Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Segma

It has been a real pleasure to have you and your friend with us and I am extremely happy to read your review today.

I am ever so glad you have enjoyed your holidays and that we were part of your meaningful experience.

My team and I remain at your service at anytime and we all look forward to having you back in the near future.

Warm Regards :)
ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked this cozy little property for our 4 nights stay in Maldives. This place did not come as a surprise to us as we were already sure that its gonna be amazing. We were rcvd by Musa on the airport and transferred to the resort on a speed boat.. On the jetty we met Mr Ibrahim, and he walked us to the resort. The gesture of rcving each of the guests personally, was welcoming for sure. As soon as we reached the resort, we were told about activities, maafushi island, etc by Mr Ibrahim. He and his team made us feel totally at home. Within an hour of reaching the place, i decided to jump into the jacuzzi which was covered naturally by the palm trees. Couldn't have asked for a better relaxation than this after that hectic travel from Mumbai. The room was extremely well done, and beautiful with enough space to fix your luggage for 4-5 days. The interiors of the resort are well thought and do have a tropical touch to it. Classy pictures, warm reception, cozy swings and hammocks will always help you forget your day stress. There are n number of activities you can chose from at Stingray. Thrz this huge board where you can chose your day and activity and club your plan with other guests, to save on the speed boat cost. The resort is like 3-4 mns walk from the jetty and about a min walk from the beach. Another awesome thing about the resort was its food menu. The cook definitely does a fantastic job with the food. Mr Ibrahim arranged a traditional dance program on one of the evenings where all the guests let their hair down and it was something which we shall remember always. A special mention about people like Ali, Musa, Muneer, Younus and the lady at reception who made our trip to Stingray memorable... Wanna go bk thr soon! Some tips:

-Use the ferry for airport transfer beacuse it comes out to be hell cheaper than the speed boat
-Dont miss the snorkeling and sandbank trip
-Thrz a small store 10 mnts away from the resort where you can buy water and other snacks for excursions. Resort can be costly
-Have dinner on of those beach restaurants with live music and grt food
-Maafushi a local island and not a resort island. Alcohol is totally banned on the island. but thrz a boat called Haveli in the ocean which is 5 mins on boat(free service) from maafushi where u can get drinks. all u have to do is get in touch with Mr Ibrahaim
- Sit on the beach after sunset gazing at the stars
- Try barbeque fiish at Stingray with watermelon juice :)
- Take a walk on Maffushi island from one corner to the other

Loved Stingray!!!

Room Tip: Room number 6 7 8 9 .. alottle away from restaurant, though its does not matter a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked Stingray Beach Inn, but when we were met at the jetty by Ibrahim he advised they had built a new place called Suntan Beach and we could be upgraded to this one for free. Of course we took up the offer. We had an upstairs room, spacious with great ensuite and views to the sand and water. The staff were very helpful. We did a trip with staff to swim with whale sharks and manta rays which was fantastic, we didn't have an underwater camera but one of the guys filmed the sharks and copied it onto a CD for me. The also had plenty of daily activities and trips to other islands. The beach was good, not very big but also had good snorkelling. Beachfront dining at night. Breakfast was OK a bit hit and miss. Room was cleaned everyday. Economical stay in the Maldives and you get to view the local life as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the eating area as we felt that was a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stingray Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stingray Beach Inn

Address: Ziyaarai Magu, 08090
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stingray Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stingray Beach Inn, a small boutique hotel, is purpose built to suit the needs of travelers looking for an easy going budget alternative to the Maldives resort experience.Stingray Beach Inn, offers 10 deluxe airconditioned rooms with attached bathrooms which bring together contemporary and modern style to the discerning guests.All our rooms feature tropical décor, a king size or twin beds. Rooms are also equipped with individually controlled air-conditions with overhead ceiling fans and modern furniture. Stocked mini bar with complementary tea and coffee making facilities available at the lobby. Each room has its own attached bath room with quality bathroom amenities such as water heater and rain showers.The hotel lobby also consists of an attached restaurant where our guests can enjoy themselves sipping tropical cocktails, fresh juices and gastronomical delights before heading off for a big day of activities. Our facilities also include free wifi internet to catch up with friends and family while on their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Stingray Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stingray Beach Inn Maldives/Maafushi Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stingray Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.