We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merton Manor

Merton Manor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Merton Manor to your Saves list
Merton Manor
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Ardlie Street, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Warrnambool B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Give it a miss!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

It's Over rated place in the suburban back streets of Warrnambool well away from everything central.
We had what we thought would be a enjoyable breakfast and although the food was okay the host sat down with us and constantly asked intrusive questions about are personal life. It became very unpleasant.
The rooms are detached from the main old home, set up in a box formation next to each other and are alright without being flash. We found several spiders nesting in the front room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We were 3 adults travelling along the Great Ocean Road in early September, 2009. We had booked our accommodations from Canada and found that Merton Manor was the only bed and breakfast which actually had the rooms ready and warmed up for us upon arrival. A very nice surprise. The accommodation was in a separate building, much like a motel setting. The 'living room' had a sofa bed which was not great, but passable. That was the room with the T.V.. The bedroom had no window so was a bit dark. The bathroom was lovely and had a great shower. Luckily we had a rental car because there were no restaurants in the area and we travelled to find a good one in the center of town. We had been offerred the use of the house to pass time in the evening so we went over after dinner but the house, although open, was dark and cold and we saw no one around so we left. Fortunately we were a bit tired from sightseeing so we just went to bed really early that night. The breakfast in the morning was decent and Pamela was a pleasant host.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We sadly only stayed one night next time would stay longer. The accommodation was as stated, private, roomy, very comfortable. However we enjoyed the friendly hospitality of Pamela who very kindly drove us to see the whales and local sights and on to Flagstaff Hill for the Laser Show. Pamela recommended "Pipis by the Bay" the food and atmosphere and great service there was excellent. Angus enjoyed playing on the full size snooker table while I enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful sitting room. We will certainly recommend Merton Manor to friends and tourists.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were suprised that the rooms are not part of the main house, but didn't actually mind at all as we felt it offered more privacy. The rooms are cute and decorated with quant antiques for an authentic feel. The bathroom is huge and has a separate shower and enormous spa-bath. The location is great if you have a car and want a quiet break, but not so great if you want to be in the hustle of the town (town is about a 5 min drive away). The owner Pamela & her husband were just lovely and cooked up a great beakfast served in the main room. The decanter of port in the room and constant supply of chocolates were a big plus! If you visit Warrnambool make sure you go and see the "Shipwrecked" laser light show - I thought it looked tacky but was pleasantly surprised by how fun it was.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
251 hotel reviews
Reviews in 235 cities Reviews in 235 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

I must agree whole heartedly with some previous comments, as a regular TP respondant I should have checked it out butquality rooms were thin on the ground in the area and the web site looked great. The standard of the rooms is very high with reservations re motel type, no window in bedroom. The fact that it was not cleaned or towells changed was disgusting at the price charged. The web site is totally misleading, we saw nothing other than the breakfast room, otherwise it was the outside' garage' conversion units. it would have rated much more highly if described correctly and charged accordingly.The breakfast was so so for the price charged, the property quiet, well out of town centre, we took a chance and drove to town, ate at the Beach Babylon recommended and was indeed superb for an out of the way kind of place. We liked the town itself and if you really want to stay and are aware of the true status then it would be fine, I wish the owner would look at the reviews and take notice for their web site.

  • Liked — high quality rooms, the town is nice and eating at Beach Babylon was good
  • Disliked — mis- leading web site, room not cleaned, rooms not in the historic house as promised
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

I agree with GEM48's comments that Merton Manor isn't really what it seems from its website. Although you have access to the main house, your accommodation is essentially motel-style rooms at the rear of the house. Although the premise of using the main house is a nice idea, it doesn't seem to work in practice - when you are not staying in the main house itself you don't feel encouraged to make use of it.

The rooms are well-appointed, very clean and of high quality, although the decor is very feminine and a bit over the top (cherub wallpaper and dark green floral carpet). By itself, the bathroom (which includes a huge two-person spa) is bigger than some hotel rooms I have stayed in. However, there is no window in the bedroom which was claustrophic and made the room seem stuffy.

The breakfast is nice enough (the dining room is magnificent), although personally I did not enjoy having my breakfast at the same table as other guests. Others may not mind this, but I am not a morning person and would prefer to have my breakfast and read the morning paper in privacy (or at least at my own table).

If you want easy access to the main town and waterfront of Warrnambool, the house is not well located and there are no views at all. The main town is a 30-40 minute walk away or 10 minutes by taxi. The upside is that it is very quiet at night (which may be appreciated by some, particuarly during the busy summer holidays).

I thought it was strange being asked whether I wanted my room serviced. It may be that the intention was to provide for some privacy, but it came across as though it would be an imposition. At the prices being charged I would have thought that rooms would be serviced as a matter of course.

Overall a pleasant stay, but did not meet my expectations.

  • Liked — High quality furnishings and fittings.
  • Disliked — Location.
  • Tips/Secrets — Not the best choice if visiting Warrnambool for the first time.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

This B&B consists of 2 sections - the house and the accommodation. The house is fantastic and just what its website suggests. Unlike most B&Bs, however, you don't stay in the house but in motel-type rooms across the car park. These rooms are of a good standard but we were a bit surprised that this was not obvious from the website. Breakfasts were very good and visitors do have house access. We were also taken aback that rooms were not serviced daily as a matter of course. So a good place but you need to be aware of what you're getting.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Manor

Address: 62 Ardlie Street, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merton Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Merton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merton Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.