We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for family.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Central Motel Apartments

Save Saved
You added City Central Motel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Central Motel Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   14 King Street & 8 Jackman Avenue, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia (Formerly City Central Apartments)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 28 hotels in Warrnambool
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value for family.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

We had a two bedroom apartment. The outside of the buildings look scruffy but inside is much better. Overall clean, quiet and near supermarket and takeaways; large kitchen, bathroom, washing machine and dryer. Beds, lounge, and dining suite a bit worn out, but for the price it was good for a one night stopover for a family.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We thought we'd booked in for a 2bedroom standard apartment at Kings Street which has free wireless internet, only to be advised of being booked to Jackman when we arrived and picked up the keys. We were put on the ground floor of a 2 storey complex and could hear a family of 5 stomping around and using the bathroom all night and early in the morning. The apartment was large and well equipped if you had a group or family, but smelly and grimy in spots. The couches need taking to the dump. The kitchen had everything you'd need and the spa bathroom included a washer and dryer. It was walking distance to the shopping and eating district. If you want to save money, stay here. If you want a lovely motel, don't! There was no telephone once at the apartment so therefore no reception or service. Definitely ask for a second floor apartment..ALWAYS!

Room Tip: Always ask for second story apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turangi, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Quiet, clean and good showers! This place is old school, but good value for a night. Complaints are that the couch was the most uncomfortable couch in the world and the air con was the nosiest in the world however, would stay again. Tarrif included light brekkie which was a bonus. Convenient and helpful and friendly host

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011 via mobile

The reception staff explained about the sound and light show it was fantastic.
We had a one bedroom apartment which had all we needed the separate bedroom was a surprise.
Location excellent

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We traveled from coast to coast to coast and we experienced the best service and the nicest people ... except at City Central!! The service could not have been worse! If you are planning to do the Great Ocean Road - do yourself a favor and steer VERY clear of City Central Motel and Apartments - you will be be glad you did!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed at City Central back in October, after having read some ok reviews (and yes... the suites did technically contain everything we needed - kitchenette, bathroom, bed, etc.) - but wow - it was like stepping into a time warp. The framed poster on the walls (from the 80's and almost faded to white) was just indicative of how old the bed was (I haven't slept on a mattress so old and worn out since my college days) together with bedding and decor from the same era - we could hardly walk the next day our backs were so sore (and we're in our mid-thirties). The broadband advertised wasn't accessible without taking our laptop outside - we were advised (with straight face) to just stand on the sidewalk out front for better reception. The service was fine, but wasn't forthcoming with suggestions about sights or things to do (seemed a bit blank on this front). Overall it was fine in general, but I don't reckon we'll ever be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

The plusses were a big kitchen, nice tv room, plenty of bed space, quiet street, good tv. So this hotel is a nice place to stay and a very reasonable price for what you get, but I just don't see it being highly rated. The place is definitely dated, the office closes after 6pm so we had to find our way in later, the heat was not on and all the windows were wide open in the winter so it took hours for our large room to heat up. And the toilet window was permanently open, so our trips in there were in a mad rush to return to the heat. That was the story we will take with us forever. I bet this is a nice place for a family of 5 to stay in on a summer vacation for a week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Central Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Motel Apartments

Address: 14 King Street & 8 Jackman Avenue, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia (Formerly City Central Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 hotels in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Central Motel Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to City Central Apartments - two great locations across Warrnabool. City Central Apartments are the ideal place to stay, only walking distance to Warrnambool's CBD, tourist and sporting attractions, schools, hospitals and the beach - there's something for everyone! City Central Apartments Warrnabool offers you attractive self-contained apartments, all have ensuite bathrooms, kitchen facilities. Reverse cycle air conditioning and free WIFI(King St ONLY). Two and three bedroom spa units are also available. Just imagine an area of historic seaside towns along one of the World's greatest scenic coastlines. Then add an abundance of tourist attractions, such as Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village, Logan's Beach Whale Viewing (May to Sept) Tower Hill Nature Reserve, Lake Pertobe Playgrounds, a wide choice of both indoor and outdoor activities, and you have all the ingredients for a memorable holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your City Central Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Central Motel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.