We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Cafe & Bar

Pavilion Cafe & Bar
50 Viaduct Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
0355611551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Warrnambool
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Situated on Warrnambool Foreshore.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Coffee was nice and the view was nice, the food however was awfull. I had salmon and salad which was so dry and over cooked. The salad was not much better. Massive chunks of coriander ( they forgot to put that on the menu, had I have known this I would not have ordered it) the salmon was cooked then cut up so the chefs would have known it was dry and overdone but chose to serve it anyway. Coffee was nice though. Won't be going back in a hurry

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, as for the rest...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I would recommend visiting for a coffee and the view, but maybe avoid eating a meal there. The food is overpriced and not great.

The pavilion cafe is a great spot. It is located right near the water, and with it's elevation it offers a great view.

The atmosphere is also quite lovely, with simple and slightly edgy styling, and the natural light streaming in the surrounding windows.

Unfortunately the menu is a tad limited, and tends towards slightly more 'odd' options. A few simple and classic options would have been nice.

On top of this the service was average, or maybe a tad below. It was adequate, they weren't rude or anything, just didn't offer a smile or a particularly friendly demeanour.

The food wasn't great, and a bit overpriced. However the coffees were quite good.

Lastly, if visiting for lunch on a sunny day avoid the back wall at all costs. We chose a table right next to the window on the back wall, and when the sun came out it was scorching. Even though it was a cold day, the sun on the window had us sweating and gobbling our food down so we could escape! Maybe the cafe could invest in some blinds?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service, location and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Pavillion cafe for coffee and cake with the kids. The atmosphere was lovely in the light filled space with fantastic views that can be enjoyed at any time of the year. The cafe was warm despite a particularly cold day outside which was an important factor to our enjoyment. The location has ample parking, especially on a visit in the middle of winter. The kids and adults felt very comfortable and welcome by the super friendly staff who were chatty and attentive. The cakes were delicious, but it would of been nice to see a few more classic cakes to appeal to the kids and the masses, but they ended up happy with their cookies. We will definitely head back here on our next visit but stay longer and try brunch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We perhaps went their on the wrong day since it was raining right throughout. After walking through the freezing cold waterfront this cafe "Pavilion" was a god-send to enjoy a really good cup of coffee. The staff was friendly and the enviornment was fantastic. Only complaint is that it is perhaps too small to accommodate all the clients

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place for coffee and brunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have never had a bad coffee at the Pavilion. I go there most for coffee as it is consistently good ( and I am super fussy) their breakfast is sensational and a fantastic view! Service is A1! love it! My favourite place... :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavilion Cafe & Bar also viewed

Warrnambool, Victoria
 
Warrnambool, Victoria
Warrnambool, Victoria
 

Been to Pavilion Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.