We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off; Cheap Food At Restaurant Prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Cafe & Bar

Pavilion Cafe & Bar
50 Viaduct Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
0355611551
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 77 restaurants in Warrnambool
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Situated on Warrnambool Foreshore.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rip Off; Cheap Food At Restaurant Prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had the Bruschetta which was overpriced at (@ $15 to $16) for what it was. Basically two bits of stale, dry bread on top of each other with a few cherry tomatoes and a couple of cheese balls thrown on top. There wasn't enough flavour/oil to soak into the bread. The first time I went to Pavillion Cafe, I had a Carbonara from their specials board. It was the nicest Carbonara I've ever had so thought I'd go back for seconds. Problem is I haven't seen it offered since. Perhaps they don't have it on their specials board anymore. I think the high prices are for the seaview alone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    25
    20
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overlooked batter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had been to this cafe before and had been served some very good local battered fish. As a result we ordered it again. While we were waiting for ours we noticed some of the fish being served appeared to be quite well done. When ours arrive two serves were ok, but the third had one piece of fish that was far too cooked. I tried to get some of the fish out of the batter but it was stuck and appeared to be very small. This was disappointing, perhaps it was due to the cafe being very busy at the time, but not what one expects.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Originally turned up here for a few pre-dinner beers, but it unfortunately closes at 5pm. So we returned the next day and had breakfast.

The service was friendly if a little slow, but the food was well worth waiting for.

Great location with ocean views. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horse Feed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great location. Excellent service and food. Can't get much closer to the water and the endless stream of horses taking an early morning dip was a source of great entertainment!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We came to the Pavilion Cafe three times during our short holiday to Warrnambool, one visit being just for drinks. It was busy most of the time. The service was ok, and the staff seemed friendly enough.
Our first breakfast trip was good and the food was tasty. The eggs benedict was quite nice and my partner had a scone with jam and cream, which was delicious and fresh out of the oven. The scone and coffee was delivered straight away, but I had to wait some time before the eggs benedict came out.
The second time around (on a Sunday morning) our breakfast took 45 minutes to come out and we only ordered pancakes and bacon on toast. Both meals were nice, but still average. To me, the pancakes didn't have that lovely fresh cooked taste (they looked more like the ones from a packet, which was disappointing).
The coffee was good on all occasions, and you really cannot beat the location. On the beach, it was absolutely perfect and probably the main reason we kept coming back.
A good cafe to go to for a leisurely breakfast/lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavilion Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Warrnambool, Victoria
Warrnambool, Victoria
 

Been to Pavilion Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.