We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn On Raglan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn On Raglan to your Saves list
Comfort Inn On Raglan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   349 Raglan Parade, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Warrnambool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times for work and certainly recommend this to anyone regardless of travel intention.

The rooms are always immaculate and the hosts are lovely, nothing is ever too much trouble.

I

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C, Owner at Comfort Inn On Raglan, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Scott,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a feedback here and thank you very much for not hesitating to encourage us with all the compliments.

It's nice to get a pat on the shoulder!

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
21
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

At the end of a long day driving the Great Ocean Road this was a very welcome sight as I entered the outskirts of Warrnambool. Having used Comfort Inn's before all over the world you know exactly what you get for your money and this one was no different.
A very friendly and helpful welcome at reception. I was offered the Executive suite for a very reasonable price. As the hotel is about 1 mile from the centre of town I was also offered a lift into town to the local restaurants. If I wanted food delivered there was an option here too. Looking at the set up I guess in the height of the season they would open up their breakfast room.
The room itself was very comfortable. Everything in there you need and a very comfortable bed. As well as a kettle and coffee/ tea making facilities they supply a toaster but no knives/ plates etc.. I'm not sure what the reason is for this.
There is a free internet connection which is okay for checking emails etc..
As I have mentioned you are quite a distance from the centre of Warrnambool and there are no restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C, Owner at Comfort Inn On Raglan, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Zedbiker,

I am pleased to see that you are very satisfied with your stay especially after learning that you regularly stay at Comfort Inns. Many proprietors, like us, try very hard to maintain the Comfort Inn standard. Thank you for your loyalty.

Thank you for mentioning on our customer service and special notes to our comfortable bed. We have recently replaced many of our rooms with plush pillow-top mattress and the feedback has been all positive from many guests.

We has been considering re-opening our restaurant as we have received a lot of enquiries lately. Currently we are offering room service from a reputable restaurant in town. As you mentioned, we offer free ride service to the town centre for any guests who require it.

I hope your trip in Australia was a great one.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were super excited, when we got there the building disappointed us, we thought it looked like an old hotel with a dash of new paint over it. The reception was friendly. The spa wasn't working, but eventually bubbled up, it was fun, but smelt like chlorine. The tv was a huge disappointment, it was blurry and the foxtel was crap, only had a few channels and nothing good was on. The wifi was a joke, and only worked when I laid on the left side of the bed, and continually cut out. The rooms were very clean though and the bed was comfortable, but the blankets were too thin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C, Owner at Comfort Inn On Raglan, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear princess-palatte97,

I am very sorry and disappointed to find that your experience here was not satisfying. Please do call us and discuss perhaps any compensation we can do for you. I will try to respond to all your feedback here and hope it does not become too lengthy.

Our motel has gone through major renovation in recent years, including major structural change. The entire exterior has been completely rendered and painted over with new roof & guttering installed. I am sorry to see it did not meet your expectation.

After personal inspection, I found all spas are working perfectly. There is a main switch on the wall to start the spa’s jet, which is installed for the guests’ safety. We always verbally inform our guests about this at check- in but I understand this message might not always get registered. I have since ordered some signs to be displayed in the bathroom as another reminder. The spa cleaning product we use is from a reputable company called HY.GIENE Australia. This product is completely non-toxic and chlorine free. The chlorine smell you mentioned might simply come from our council water, which we have no control over.

I have also checked TVs in all our spa rooms and found them all working fine. However we found 2 TVs had the aerial cord pulled half way out (this could be a result of TV being moved). When the cord is plugged properly, the TVs are working fine. We currently have 14 Foxtel channels (the 15th one has been interrupted by recent digital TV returning in Warrnambool area), including 4 sports channels, 5 movie channels and 2 discovery channels and 3 news channels. We are sorry that Foxtel didn’t show anything you were interested in.

In regards to wifi, I tested this with my 3-year-old Toshiba notebook, Satellite L500, and all spa rooms have achieved full reception (5/5), except 1 particular bedroom in our 3-bedroom spa suite (4/5). I was able to open a Google page instantly in all the spa rooms. An engineer confirmed that there are many factors that may effect the consistency of wifi and heavy rain is one of them. We have had several rainy days lately and I do apologize if the rain was the cause of the wifi reception.

Our spare blankets are the standard type available in every room for guests’ extra comfort. All our beds also come with their own blanket/doonas and electric blanket. We also have heating in all the rooms. We are happy to provide more blankets if it is required.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity and hope if there is any issue in the future, you will let us know immediately so we can rectify the situation straight way and therefore improve your experience here without any regret.

Thank you again for taking your time for all the feedback.

Kind regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A.& C Brisbane

We have been very remiss in not posting this before. We visited on the 8th of February for our Wedding Anniversary. From the time we booked in until we left Ann & Steve could not off been more helpful. Comfort in on Raglan is a credit to them and their dedication to service and value for money. We booked the Premium King Spa room, how nice to walk and find a bottle of wine and chocolates left to celebrate. The room is very spacious, nicely set out, and extremely clean a credit to Ann. Breakfast the next morning was worthy of a 5 star hotel. Steve & Ann were very helpful with local information and recommendations. This might be classed a motel but many 4 & 5 star hotels could take a lesson. We have no hesitation on recommending this establishment, it was by far the best we stayed on the Great Ocean Road and if we get down that way again will be first on our booking list.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C, Owner at Comfort Inn On Raglan, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Andrew,

I am so pleased to see you had a great time. After I found out you were here to celebrate your wedding anniversary, I wanted to make sure that we don't spoil it for you. Looks like we have achieved something here!

I am very thankful for your kind comments and I always take comments like yours as an encouragement for us to continue delivering our good service to our customers especially at a not so great day.

I hope the journey back home was a smooth one and look forward to seeing you again.

Happy Anniversary.

Kind regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here overnight with my wife. Greeted by a friendly staff. Check-in was seamless. Staff gave us free WIFI access and offered to show us the local attractions on a map. The Standard Queen room we got was clean and had all the necessities we needed (electric kettle and toaster). Bed was firm. The bathroom looked new and refurbished, but the room can be quite dark if not all the lights are switched on.

Trying to sleep while being able to hear the traffic along the road can be a challenge for some, but we managed.

All in all, for the value that we paid for our stay, we couldn't be happier with our experience. I wouldn't mind returning here if I'm around the area again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C, Owner at Comfort Inn On Raglan, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write us your feedback.

Thank you for your kind comment about our customer service. I am pleased to see your recognition of the great value of our standard queen room. I have noticed you have similar comment to the last guest about the darker décor in this room. If this décor is not for you, for a little extra, we would love to have you in our other room types such as Executive Queen Room or Premium Queen Room.

Our convenient location, between Gateway shopping centre and town centre and walking distance to the beach, means we always have movements around us. The traffic noise drops significantly at night time and most guests found that it does not prevent them from having a sound sleep like you.

We look forward to your return and please do allow us to introduce you our other room types at your next visit.

Kind regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here one night while doing the Great Ocean Road. Warrnambool was along the way, and there weren't a lot of options on short notice (for one night's stay), so we opted to stay inland a bit to save some drive time the following morning.

There are plenty of motels in Warrnambool along the main drag, and the Comfort Inn on Raglan isn't a pretty sight, but it does the trick. Our upstairs room had a queen bed and two twin beds, so it worked for a family of four. Queen bed was a little lumpy, but the twin bed had a nice firm mattress. The kitchenette was filled with the right utility for us to get a quick breakfast and good start on driving that next morning: cups and plates and cutlery, a small refrigerator, and microwave (not used). The flatscreen television was a little small but at least it had Fox Footy.

The cinderblock-walled room was a little dark, made more so by the deep-toned wood paneling. It was a little depressing. However the bathroom was well updated and had a nice new shower, full-sized sink and counter, and plenty of room. The room had one of those remote-control-operated above-door heaters, which was located in the back of the room and seemed to do the trick to heat the room all night.

The one downside of note is that there was a lot of noise from the road throughout the night.

All in all, an okay stay for a family, at a standard budget motel along a main road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C, Owner at Comfort Inn On Raglan, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Iadodgerone,

Thank you for staying with us and spending time to write your feedback. We noticed, even though staying in the same room, your score is quite different from the previous reviewer, who scored 5/5.

Thank you for noticing our continuous effort to give our guests the best value in our budget family room – this room has 3 proper beds (no bunk beds), generous sized bathroom, free unlimited wifi, free 15 Foxtel channels and is fully equipped with all the essentials (fridge, toaster, crockery, cutlery, microwave etc) and even comes with unlimited access for swim and gym use in nearby leisure centre. Even with all of the above, our price is still close to backpackers’, hence the name “budget”.

I am surprised to see your comment about the look of the motel as this motel has been used by Choice Hotels as a good example of frontage and signage for other Comfort Inns.

I am sorry to see you did not like the décor of this room. It is one of the only 3 rooms that have dark timbre panels but I am very disappointed to see that your photos did not correctly represent our room. All our rooms have a large 4-panel window taking up nearly whole side of the wall which let in natural light in throughout the day. It’s a little difficult to keep the room bright with all the curtain closed and lights not switched on as shown in your photo.

We only have 3 entry level rooms in this motel for guests who are looking for values like yourself but we are certainly not a “budget motel along the main road” – we hope to have another opportunity to show you our other range which has gone through extensive refurbishments.

We sincerely thank you for all your positive comments and other feedback – always give us something to think about in order to improve ourselves to keep up with our guests’ satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The lady at the reception (on duty on the 23rd May) was very friendly. Going an extra mile by recommending some nice restaurants to have dinner. Had arrived pretty late for the check-in, but she had patiently waited for us. The room was very clean & the bed was comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C, Owner at Comfort Inn On Raglan, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Traveller-s010,

Thank you for your feedback and your kind comment about our staff.

I am very pleased to see you had a great experience in our family room and thank you for noticing the comfort level and cleanliness of our rooms and thank you for not hesitating to encourage us with such a high score.

I hope the rest of your journey was a great one also.

Kind regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn On Raglan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On Raglan

Address: 349 Raglan Parade, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Warrnambool
#2 Best Value Hotel in Warrnambool
#2 Business Hotel in Warrnambool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn On Raglan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn On Raglan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Warrnambool
Warrnambool Comfort Inn
On Raglan Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn On Raglan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.