We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean Drive, Victoria, Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allansford Cheese World and Museum

Allansford Cheese World and Museum
5330 Great Ocean Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3277, Australia
61-3-5565 3130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 12 Attractions in Warrnambool
Type: Factory Outlets, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cheese World and Museum are located 15klms from Warrnambool on the Great Ocean Road Victoria. Aust. Vistors can taste award winning cheddar cheeses manufactured across the road at the Warrnambool Butter Factory. There is a cafe serving light snacks and fabulous milkshakes. The Museum shows the history of dairy farming and cheese manufacturing from this region. Free admission.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Ocean Drive, Victoria, Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Free cheese tasting and free Museum depicting the history of the area. The cheese was fantastic, there was a café which served the best milkshakes we have ever tasted. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry019, Public Relations Manager at Allansford Cheese World and Museum, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Sounds like you had a really great time at Cheese World. Thank you for such positive feed back.
We are proud of our facility and continually strive to provide our visitors with a tasty experience of the local dairy industry. I agree we do make fantastic milkshakes all due to the lovely fresh milk straight from our factory. I trust you had an enjoyable time exploring the other attractions along the Great Ocean Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    39
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paraburdoo, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Say cheeeeeeese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I almost hyperventilated with excitement at the prospect of a world of cheese, but kept my expectations in check. The cheese was just fantastic, and each type was described in terms of ingredients and matching food. There are loads of chutneys and accompanying wines/ports and other boozes, plus biscuits. I'd have loved a crusty loaf to take away with a block of cheese and a knife, but went to the cafe instead which was a mixed affair. Service was slow and looked like it was a hassle, but having said that, one of the staff put together an enormous and satisfying ploughmans and looked genuinely happy that we were so pleased with it.
Hint-don't down a milkshake before your lunch.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice cheese, more variety needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good little set up- cheese really tasty- would like to see more of a variety of cheeses showcasing the area. Timboon ice cream excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“tasty cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

free cheese tasting of their 4 main cheese products, variety of products to purchase, has a cafe and supermarket; they also sell Timboon ice cream, which is delicious!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“a gift shop really”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we were driving by and thought we would stop, it was nothing really but a shop, so we were disappointed, we did buy some cheese which was good before we drove on

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry019, Public Relations Manager at Allansford Cheese World and Museum, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Part of the Cheese World complex is a shop you are right but it is an excellent place to buy local products and I noticed you are from Ireland so hope you enjoyed tasting some locally made cheeses. Perhaps you didn't have time to visit our Museum area? There you would have seen our local history on display and being an area rich in Irish heritage you would have noticed some similarities to your own back ground. I trust you had an enjoyable holiday in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allansford Cheese World and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Allansford Cheese World and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allansford Cheese World and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.