We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins River Caravan Park

Hopkins River Caravan Park
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hopkins River Caravan Park to your Saves list
Hopkins River Caravan Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   125 Jubilee Park Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, large villa. Really pleased we chose the large (at minimal extra cost) as the extra living area and bathroom space was appreciated. Staff were always friendly and helpful from booking to leaving. The park had lovely wide roads which made it much easier, and safer for our 3 daughters (8, 8 and 5) to ride their scooters and the pedal car bikes! The park facilities were great, although the playground was a little tired, as was the mini golf, our kids didn't care ;-) Of course the jumping pillow is always appreciated! Kids loved the pool though it was quite cool whilst we were there, the pool was heated and is partially exposed to outside, but the kids didn't mind, they swam anyway for ages!! (not me though! eeekkk! haha!). The games room was really lovely, kids spent ages playing table tennis. There was a gym in the same area and whilst we didn't use it, the equipment looked like it was in good condition. The Hopkins River is on the back doorstep and whilst we weren't fishing we enjoyed having a walk and a chat to those who were fishing. We are very keen to go back to this place, we really enjoyed it and its facilities. It was also brilliant value for money, on our 9 day trek from Adelaide-Ballarat-Warrnambool-Mt Gambier-Adelaide this was the cheapest place we stayed, and our favourite place that we stayed! It was a little way out of the main part of town, but it was really no huge trip to get to town and especially Lake Petrobe Adventure Playground (if you have kids then allow yourself at least one full day to explore this amazing place!!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aldgate, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here on a cold night in a two bedroom cabin. Whilst there was an electric blanket and a very noisy heater (that continually heats to temperature and does not turn on and off) the bedding was totally inadequate for how cold it was, as a result really didn't get any sleep at all. Cabin could sleep up to six but you would be very cramped. The BBQ on the deck was a fabulous touch and we enjoyed that very much. Pool and spa nice for the kids.

Room Tip: I would ask to see the rooms before hand and check the bedding if staying in winter, if not you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, Manager at Hopkins River Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our park. We do experience some very cold nights particuarly in May & June and have now installed new electric heaters in our cabins and provided extra blankets. Your stay is important to us all at Hopkins river and we hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently stayed a couple of nights at this caravan park. It was well situated, the sites were flat and nice spaced. The facilities were close by. My grand daughter particularly loved the pillow trampoline. It has a tennis court and mini golf on site. We found the site to be quite close to town and shops for supplies. The drive around town was relaxed and the park for children was terrific. Visited Flagstaff Hill old town. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Luckily we spotted the small sign at the turn off on the Princes Highway 5 km east of Warrnumbool. The road then takes you across a railway line and through a farming area and then to the Hopkins River. On arrival we had to leave our vehicle outside the boom gate [ code given on check in]. It was peak holiday season and we didn't have a booking however there were campsites available @ $42 per night which was considerably cheaper than places further east. If you join the Big 4 loyalty club you also get a discount on all charges, peak season or not. Although we had to wait our turn in line we were quite quickly assured of a site and our booking processed efficiently with maps and information offered.

The beautifully grassed sites were a reasonable size, especially compared with other parks in Victoria, had power and water. There were also drive through parks. No shade although trees seem to have been planted in this new park for the future.

This park has a wide range of cabins with most of them looking newish and well equipped. There is a barbeque near the pool - amenities block.This was cleaned by the park staff every day.

What makes this a stand out park?
1.The excellent amenities - not once did I have to wait for a shower at this peak season as there are plenty of showers and hot water. There's also a second amenities block.
2. It's definitely family friendly with a family bathroom, playgrounds, jumping castle, tennis courts, great pool and pay spa, games room, mini golf and peak time organised activities. [Probably necessary as fishing is the go here and kids need to be amused while Dad fishes.] There's river access via a pedestrian path and gate.
3. Location - although a big park, it's quiet yet near enough to explore local places.
4. Well maintained and clean.

Laundry: 4 big washing machines needing two $2 per wash and two big dryers needing $1 coins. Three $1 bought me 24 minutes which was enough to totally dry my load.

The design of the amenities block was unusual because the building also housed the pool and games room with the pool area being partially roofed.

Dogs were permitted and some owners with caravans had portable fencing to contain them.

While you are in the area I recommend a trip to Tower Hill not that far away. There are a range of excellent walks to suit all the family, koalas in the trees, emus parading around, birds. . . picnic area and information office.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A brand new Caravan Park have spent a lot of time and money to make it a 5 star one! A spa, fitness centre, pool, mini golf cabin spotless. Lovely walk down to river, if your into fishing this is it! No traffic noise just birds and fresh air! Quite a distance from Warnambool CBD.Watch for signs on main highway, past Macdonalds near a railway crossing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this lovely caravan park with our small 13 year old dog, and while we had to use our tent because she wasn't allowed in the cabin, we were more than happy with the tent site which had it's own en-suite bathroom, which was spotless. It is in a great area close to the Hopkins River, a nice area surrounded by paddocks with cattle grazing, a lovely pool and gym area and a fantastic camp kitchen. I think more people would travel if they were able to take their pet with them. I know not everyone does the right thing when traveling with a pet, but lot's of older people own pets so these parks are missing out on a lot of revenue by not allowing pets in their parks. We did find a few places which allowed our dog inside, they had vinyl flooring so no problem cleaning up muddy footprints, but most pet friendly places only allow pets that sleep outside, they don't cater for small inside dogs, which is a shame. Would certainly recommend this park to anyone traveling with small children as there is plenty for them to do.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely park, 8 kiln outside Warrnambool, lovely layout, manicured sites, kids playground, indoor pool and spa, tennis court, gym, table tennis, computer games, beautiful clean toilet facilities, 2 minutes drive to boat ramp. Farcenough from main road so you do t hear any cars trucks. It's a great place for all the family. New owners very nice. I highly recommend this park to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hopkins River Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins River Caravan Park

Address: 125 Jubilee Park Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hopkins River Caravan Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the great ocean road just 10 minutes to Warrnambool and beside the Hopkins River this family friendly park is near whale watching and Lake Pertobe. With a range of cabins and Caravan sites to suit every need come and enjoy our resort pool, indoor heated pool and spa, games room mini golf and jumping pillow. Or just relax and enjoy the peaceful surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hopkins River Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkins River Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.