We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and you get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Raglan Motor Inn

Raglan Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Raglan Motor Inn to your Saves list
Raglan Motor Inn
376 Raglan Parade, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Warrnambool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cheap and you get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

With a 3 star motor inn, you don't expect silver service, and the place was cheap, so we knew what to expect in terms of the room, etc. The room itself was nice enough, not huge, but it was big enough for the two of us. The room actually sleeps 3, but it would have been a bit cramped with more people. The owners were lovely people, very friendly and helpful. The downsides of the place was that it is right on the main road, so pretty noisy. We're both heavy sleepers, so it didn't really bother us, but lighter sleepers might have trouble getting a good rest. There were a few issues we had with our stay though. Firstly, we booked the stay through booking.com and booked to include breakfast for an extra $8 each, however, on our second day, was told that the owners would include '$8 WORTH' of breakfast. This is not what was advertised, but the owner said it was the websites fault, not theirs, so breakfast wasn't going to be included for $8 as was advertised. Second, on the breakfast menu, there is no price listed next to the newspapers, indicating for all intents & purposes that papers were complimentary, however, we still got charged. Also, on the first morning, we got the paper from the day before!! Breakfast was good size portions, although on the 2nd morning, the milk in the milo was off, which was pretty disgusting. We didn't bother with breakfast on day 3! The other negative was the water pressure in the shower, in that there was none!! It took 10 minutes to get a reasonable water temperature, it was either boiling hot, or freezing cold, but when we finally managed to get a warm water, the pressure out of the shower hardly makes it worthwhile.

Having said all that, however, the place was quite cheap, so if you're just passing through and need a place to lay your head, you could do worse. The rooms are clean and have what you need for a simple stay. Just remember that you get what you pay for, and you'll know what to expect!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed one night here on our trip down the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne to Adelaide. We received a warm welcome from the owners, the room was a good size and very clean and despite being on a main road was very quiet. Would reccommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have visited this motel in February 2012 on our way back from the Great Ocean Road. The room was clean, we had a flat TV and the staff was friendly. We made our reservation based on the recommendations on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The motel is located close to a highway, you could hear sometimes the trucks and cars but for the $95 per night I wouldnt complain too much. Bed was ok. Internet was for free and speed was good. Motel is 15 minutes walking distance from the "town center".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a trip from Nelson to Geelong. The staff were very welcoming and the family room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable for a family of four, with a separate bedroom for the kids. Although located on the main street through town, we did not notice any noise from the traffic as the rooms are all located "out the back". Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here during a weekend trip to Warrnambool. It was easy to find on the main road, plenty of car parking with all units on the ground floor, and the owners were very friendly and helpful with local directions and recommendations.

The rooms were a good size, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Excellent facilities (hot power shower, TV with lots of channels, toaster/kettle in room, very good A/C that warmed our room up quickly as it was a winter's night). Its a good base for exploring Warrnambool - a short drive to both the whale watching platform at Logan's beach, and in the other direction a short drive to the town centre. The only thing I can fault is that the pillows were very hard, but that aside a really good stay and perfect for a stopover on a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We did not book accommodation prior to arriving at Warrnambool. We found out this motel from an advertisement on a brochure. Located not far from the city centre (about 5 mins drive), access to the supermarket and F&Bs was convenient. The price for a standard room was very reasonable too. The room was comfortable and clean, there was free Wifi and free parking. Had a great stay here, and would not hesitate to return to the same motel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raglan Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan Motor Inn

Address: 376 Raglan Parade, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raglan Motor Inn offers well appointed accommodation together with country style service and a warm, friendly atmosphere. Double, twin and family units are available, with off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raglan Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raglan Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.