We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Colonial Village Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Colonial Village Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Colonial Village Motel
31 Mortlake Road (Hopkins Highway), Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Warrnambool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night after being recommended it. I think I got one of the unrenovated rooms. The bed blanket, the chaires and the floor all had stains or were just dirty. The spa did have a cool glass ceiling but the sun had decayed the plastic jets and they had painted over them to make them white again. The room was big overall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
16
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Again we stayed here as we had our grand kids 10 and 15 The cabins are separate standing and there for allow you to have fun laugh etc with out feeling guilty of walls. Spa was a bonus. Shop over the road as the cabins are self contained.

Room Tip: Separate cabins ideal for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night en-route to South Australia. The room was recently updated and was done very well. The bathroom was luxurious, the bed was very comfortable and the place was extremely clean. We booked direct but got a Wotif price. Great value for either a short or longer stay. It is on the edge of town but well worth considering,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castillos, Uruguay
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This very clean and comfortable motel is conveniently situated near a big supermarket and near to some well priced restaurants and the very good Bowls club! Friendly staff. Allthough a little far from the center of town, it is still worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked the room via the tourist information and they did us proud. Accommodation was self contained and was large, roomy and very clean. Parking was under a carport at the side of the room. The kitchen was supplied with microwave,hotplate, pans, crockery, cutlery, tea making facilities, they even supplied dishwasher liquid, tea towel and fly spray. Beds very comfortable, bathroom spacious, clean soft towels. Breakfast was delivered to the room (choice of a few dishes) only cost $10 which was excellent value. You could book an evening meal to be delivered to your room from a nearby restaurant, although we ate out it was nice to be offered this service. We booked for two nights but stayed an extra night as we were so comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have recently come back from a 4 night stay at Colonial Village Motel with a holiday package we got through Travel Auctions. It had been along time since we had been to Warrnambool and we had some concerns when we read previous reviews about this property. But our experience was great! Our self-contained unit had everything we needed and was comfortable and clean. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

ok ok, i stayed here this year with a family member and it was bad! I mean reallly bad! (you will see my review earlier)

But the second time around (my husband booked it without remembering I didn't like it the first time, and I travelled with someone else that time!)...different story

The $185 or something like that rooms with a double bed and three single beds, a fridge, kitchen, tv, dining table, spa bath ....is fantastic!
We decided to spend some time in Warrnambool, Great Ocean Road for our wedding anniversary!
The hotel lady was nice and understood we had trouble booking the hotel near Flagstaff Hill !
This just proves that sometimes you need to pay up more for quality and that is what happened this time around. Location was good as we wanted to be away from the town centre. The rooms are away from others which is good so we did not hear noise from other guests.

Clean place this time around....

Maybe the owners are reading this site.
Thank you. I believe in redemption!

Room Tip: Pick the double bed with 3 single beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Colonial Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonial Village Motel

Address: 31 Mortlake Road (Hopkins Highway), Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Unique property has gone under a Renovation, Refurbishment and is conveniently located to the City center,on three acres of garden. Our guests can relax in Spacious Studios, Suites or Appartments that offer modern, contemporary amenities, FREE WiFi,Foxtel,most are appointed either with a Kitchenette or Full Kitchen. Including Spa rooms for a spontanious couples getaway, Single,Double or Family rooms are also avaliable yo suit all types of traveller, at amazing value! A Tennis court, FREE parking at your door to room, FREE WiFi, wheelchair access, Laundry are avaliable, with a BBQ amoungnst beautiful garden,Playground,perfect for lazy summers night after a day spent exploring The Great Ocean Road and famous Twelve Apostles. Visit the areas popular Attractions including Logan's Beach Whale Nursery,Flagstaff Hill,Tower Hill Reserve, Hopkins Falls. We look forward to Welcoming you to Best Western Colonial Village Motel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonial Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Colonial Village Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.