We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Great Ocean spot to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atwood Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Atwood Motor Inn to your Saves list
Atwood Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   8 Spence St, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Great Ocean spot to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This was very clean, good space to have a rest from Great Ocean Drive day. Brendan, the manager was nice and helpful. Above average bath facility w/spa tub and double walk-in shower. Walk to everywhere downtown.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    62
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
69
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had an end upstairs room in this small motel.We had a double bed, kitchenette area with fridge ,microwave,toaster and kettle.There were no plates and cutlery though, be prepared.Great for making breakfast though.A large bathroom with a good shower.It was very clean.
The owner was very helpful, and wifi was $5 .Our only problem was ,the evening we stayed was a bit stormy and windy, and we found the door a bit draughty .I found it impossible to make the heating work and seemed to cool it down, I gave up.Perhaps better instructions may be helpful for folks who don't use the Australian heating cooling systems.The office was closed or I might have asked.Otherwise great, set back from the busy road through Warrnambool so pretty quiet, and 5 minutes easy walk to the main street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Really easy to find and quiet too, despite being close to the main road. It's just a short walk from town with all the facilities you'll need.
Friendly staff. Nice clean room, if a little small, but what the heck, we only need a place to rest our heads and it was comfortable.
Paid for WiFi.
If we returned to Warnambool, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This motel is very basic but adequate for a one night stopover. Overall, it was clean and conveniently located. Furnishings were tired and the whole place could do with a makeover.

A pleasant feature was that a pre-ordered breakfast was delivered to the room in the morning.

A convenient, budget waypoint along the Ocean Road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Have stayed at Atwood every year for about 6-7 yrs now, helping out with the volleyball tournament on the Labour Day w/end in March each year. Have found the place quite qood, nice and clean, good amenities, staff friendly. Close to the city centre, restaurants etc if you want to walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our drive along the southern ocean road to Melbourne.

The room was a reasonable size but, although it seemed to be clean, it looked rather tired and dowdy. There was very little in the way of toiletries provided but the cooked breakfast delivered to our room was good.

The Atwood was an OK place to stay for a one-night stopover but I would not choose to stay here for a longer period.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

So, started out on a marathon half-day trip from Geelong to Warrnambool knowing that this was a bad idea. Thought I could make it to the 12 Apostles before dark, and then drive back to catch the last train to Melbourne. Well... Turned out that it was one of the hottest periods for decades, and everyone who could drive out of the City (plus all of the usual tourists and Aussie holiday makers) were on the road. Drive took forever. Add to that, all of the scenic spots were chock full of people and full, hot (as in, 111 F+) and full of flies. Rather than waste a precious day away from work, I decided to make a better go of it, planning to return to the Apostles and company early in the morning.

So, I started looking for places to stay overnight. Tested Port Campbell and Peterborough first, only to hear, "Sorry, mate. All full" or "That'll be $145 for the night, NO AIR CON". Given that it was 111 F, I decided to take my chances further on down the road.

After having days of problems with my iPhone internet, finally got a good connection around Peterborough. Lucky enough, Atwood Motor Inn came up as a good bet on TripAdvisor. Tried booking a room over the web, but wasn't sure if it went through. Showed up, and the owners were expecting me. Even gave me a better rate than quoted originally.

Was a bit hard to find. Had to drive around a bit. But good, clean accommodations. Best part was that I paid AU$105 at the last minute during the busiest time of year. Walking distance to good restaurants. Just head toward the water.

Staff/owners were also great. Plenty friendly when explaining tour and eating options. Also didn't blink twice when I needed a primer to get the air con working.

Basic rooms, but everything you need. Was just so nice to get off the road.

Only complaint was the darkness early in the morning. My schedule being what it was, I left well before sunrise. There wasn't a light anywhere in the complex. Made looking for the door locks mighty hard. While I appreciate the need to save power and reduce light pollution, it really was pitch dark outside. Minor complaint, I made it work.

Bottom line... If you want a good place to stay in Warrnambool that won't break the budget, this is your motel.

Room Tip: Excellent budget option on the Great Ocean Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atwood Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atwood Motor Inn

Address: 8 Spence St, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Warrnambool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atwood Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inner city location and the upper end of 3½ star quality, make the Atwood Motor Inn an ideal choice for visitors looking for quality accommodation at affordable prices. The motel has 21 units ranging from standard double, queen/twin share, spa with 2 person corner spa, family rooms that offer kitchenette facilities (sink, hotplates and crockery) and two bedroom family units comprising queen and separate bedroom with two single beds, and a disabled access unit is available on request. All units have tea coffee making facilities microwaves and toasters. LCD TV and free Austar. High speed internet is available. Atwood Motor Inn also has an outdoor entertaining area with guest barbecue and also has laundry facilities for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Atwood Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atwood Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.