We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed evening, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie Gray's Licensed Restaurant

Charlie Gray's Licensed Restaurant
Campbell Street Burke and Wills Motel, Swan Hill, Victoria 3585, Australia (Formerly Charles Gray)
03 5032 9788
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 28 restaurants in Swan Hill
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Warragul, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxed evening, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Being in Swan Hill tonight for a firefighting course, I had tea tonight at Charlie Grays.

For entree, I went with standard fare for me: garlic bread. In this case, a baguette with garlic butter. It had the perfect balance of crunch on the outside and softness on the inside.

Main course, I went with the recommendation of the waitress, Sarah, and had the Open Schnitzel Sandwich. She certainly has good taste, it was beautiful. The chicken was cooked well, and combined with the tomato, lettuce, aioli sauce and another sauce I couldn't identify, it was delicious. The side of French fries and sea salt was a perfect way to finish the course.

For dessert, I once again went with the recommendation of Sarah, and had a pear dish. I must confess, I didn't catch the name of the dish, but it was a pear in bread & butter pudding, with a ginger beer sauce. A dollop of cream balanced the tartness of ginger and the sweetness of the pear to create a lovely dish. Certainly one I'd order again!

The atmosphere was relaxed, soft music filled in the background nicely, and overall a lovely, enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    3
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant can be found at the Best Western Motor Inn. The staff are really lovely - attentive and friendly. My husband loved the eye fillet (cooked just to his liking) and my vegetarian risotto was tasty and filling. The restaurant is clean, crisp and comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great meals and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The food here is what you would expect from a 5 star city restaurant. Friendly service and staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Private dining experience - quality meals- great for vegetarians - top customer service - a real stand out - thank you!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious inhouse dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We preordered from our room and then went to the dining room for an enjoyable main course followed by dessert with a good bottle of red wine. The staff were friendly and obliging. A superior meal than would you would expect from an inhouse motel restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Gray's Licensed Restaurant also viewed

Swan Hill, Victoria
Swan Hill, Victoria
 
Swan Hill, Victoria
Swan Hill, Victoria
 

Been to Charlie Gray's Licensed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie Gray's Licensed Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.