We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly budget accommodation option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paddle Steamer Motel

Paddle Steamer Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paddle Steamer Motel to your Saves list
Paddle Steamer Motel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5563 Murray Valley Highway | P.O. Box 469, Swan Hill, Victoria 3585, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Swan Hill
Shepparton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly budget accommodation option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked accommodation in Swan Hill after deciding on a spur of the moment trip to visit family. Booked through lastminute.com
Very warm welcome from the manager upon arrival. Upgraded room when we got there free of charge. The motel is quite dated but it was cheap, exceptionally clean and comfortable for our purpose. We arrived, dumped our bags and headed out. Got back to the room and basically just went to sleep. It's not the kind of room you'd spend all day in - but neither does it claim to be!
Bed was reasonably comfortable. Bathroom spotless with great water pressure and was nice and hot. Room smelled fresh.
Perfectly comfortable and I would stay there again. Especially with the current management (owner?) being so lovely and welcoming when we arrived. Only thing is the pillows weren't great. But we didn't look around the room for more (very late when we got back) and we didn't ask for different pillows so my rating hasn't changed because of that.
We didn't have breakfast so I don't know what it was like. It wasn't complimentary with our price and we chose to eat brekkie down on the river instead.
Even though it's on the HWY we didn't notice any traffic noise.
TV was new - good picture quality

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Dropped in as a pit-stop on my way back to Sydney from Adelaide. Booked via Wotif, delighted to receive a free upgrade on arrival. Room was spacious, perfectly clean, very comfortable. Quiet location, even though it's on the highway. Decent complementary brekky. And SUCH friendly hosts!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a 2 night stay here in a queen room, booked sight unseen through Wotif. On arrival we were very impressed with the room size and facilities. The room was very clean, tidy and the bed was comfortable (a bonus)! Some little extras supplied were shampoo, shower cap, large flat screen TV, free WiFi and daily servicing of the room. One thing I looked forward to every morning was the continental breakfast in the dining room, which is supplied in tarrif. A generous selection of teas, cereals, toast and spreads, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, even a morning newspaper. There was also a shared guest kitchen that came in handy when cleaning up from our nightly BBQ. BBQ facilities were there for guest use and free of charge. I would highly recommend this motel to any budget conscious traveller who doesn't want to skimp on comfort.
The owner/manager was very welcoming and helpful and it's obvious he puts a lot of effort into making your stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

my wife & i stayed overnight on 9-12-11 on the way back home to adelaide from a trip to mansfield .we are carefull on our selection of motels etc after some uncomfortable nights spent sitting on lousy lounges on the wrong angle in to small a room trying to watch a tv that
does not have a programe letalone instructions on how to operate the unit ,or trying to read
in bed with a headboard that hits you in the back of the neck with a light in it so your head is tilted down and most uncomfortable but not this motel. we were greeted with a, here is the
key check it out. we were most impressed with the presentation of the cleanliness the friendliness & the facilities of the whole complex and we aggree with the other reviews that cover what we have not mentioned great job will be back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Got two rooms when doing a weekend trip with friends to Swan Hill. Room deal included simple continental breakfast consisting of toast, cereals with milk and instant coffee granules and juice. No frills but large rooms. Clean. Room came with microwave and fridge and some crockery, There was also a guest kitchen in between. Located not far from main street. Easy parking. Large bed. Nothing negative. Friendly owners.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while we visited some of swan Hill's sights. The manager was very friendly and helpful and available 24/7 if needed. A few local sights not to miss are the Pioneer Settlement on the river and Lake Boga Flying boat museum about 10 kms out of town.
It looks like an older Motel that has been recently renovated. On the edge of town and off the road, it was nice and quiet and very budget priced. Also included in the price is a continental breakfast in the restaurant. My hubby would rather the full breakfast experience so we did not try this breakfast. The standard room was very fresh and clean ,cleaned daily and equipped with eating utensils-plates and cutlery, which was good for us as we could bring back some chinese. There is also a separate kitchen room that you can use and guest laundry room around the back. The restaurant looked impressive from the outside and there was plenty of information on sights to see..There was Austar and also the program was in the room.which is often not the case in other Motels. The motel is set on 4 1/2 acres and has a great play area for the kids.There are also family rooms-very reasonable priced as well and we will be back with the family next time. Whilst this Motel would not be suitable to anyone without a car due to the distance from town,we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely reccommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paddle Steamer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddle Steamer Motel

Address: 5563 Murray Valley Highway | P.O. Box 469, Swan Hill, Victoria 3585, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Swan Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Swan Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paddle Steamer Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property details include - 20 rooms all "NON-SMOKING", AAA 3.5 Star rated, 60 seat buffet restaurant & bar ONLY in our considered "peak seasons", guests only use of huge salt water pool , guest laundry and childrens outdoor playground. We are located close to Pioneer Settlement, Murray River Cruises, Lake Boga, Wineries, Swan Hill Airport and we are just a short 3 min. Drive to centre of Swan Hill, approx. 3Km. There is a huge 82cm hd tv's, FREE wireless internet, reverse cycle air con. And ample parking for cars, trailers, buses & boats.Shared guest kitchens available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Paddle Steamer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddle Steamer Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.