We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A party hostel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BASE Backpackers St Kilda to your Saves list
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A party hostel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Very good location near the centre of St Kilda. The room was large - but only two hooks to hang your stuff on - although I suppose many backpackers live out of their ruc!! The only outside area was devoted to smokers which is never fair. Yes the hostel is noisy but they provide you with earplugs and a quick look at the website will tell you exactly what type of hostel it is so it shouldn't come as a surprise. Quite expensive for a hostel.
Would not recommend this place for everyone

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    75
    52
    26
    21
See reviews for
2
41
83
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights while in Melbourne. Reception were very good, even remembered me from my booking. Shouwed me around the hostel to where everything was but forgot to tell me about the noise from the bar, wonder while. Booked into a 6 bed girls dorm which was clean and had a big bathroom, rooms was cleaned and hoovered each day which was good. Kitchen in the hostel was quite small for the no of people in it and lacked pots and pans. If u are a light sleeper make sure and ask for a quite room, even though I was on the 3rd floor it flet like I was in the bar every night, the noise was just redicioulas. during the week it finished at 12 but thur, to sat night it went onto 3 am and it was like it was in the room. If you are looking for somewhere near the beach well then this is ok but just watch to noise.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

we stayed as a couple in a 6 bed dorm and there was plenty room. It was clean and we had an en suite in the room which was really handy. There was a car park as well which was good as we had hired a car. It was a great base for travelling down to phillip island and lots on offer to do.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

could of done without 10 am room service walk-ins, but apart from that was excellent

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BASE Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Address: 17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BASE Backpackers St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.