We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite small room for a lot of money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BASE Backpackers St Kilda to your Saves list
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Linz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quite small room for a lot of money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was sharing a double room with a friend if mine, and the room was quite small, and not really taken care of in terms of maintenance. It was quite clean and it was ok to stay there for 2 nights, but honestly I was really expecting a better place considering the amount of money we payed for 2 nights per person. Mostly very young party people stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi,
thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback regarding our hostel. I am sorry the rooms were a bit pricey, but please understand you stayed in Melbourne during the Spring Racing Carnival where hotel rooms routinely charge upwards of $300 or $400 a night for basic hotel rooms. Our Private rooms contain Queen Size beds, flat screen TV's, Modern Showers and Toilets as well as Air Conditioning and high quality pillows and linen.
we would encourage you to visit some of the local hotels in our area and then compare the quality of the rooms to our own, and assure you that the money to space offering is well and truly up too industry standard.

we do hope you give us another shot to exceed your expectations if you are in the area again, as we do work tirelessly to provide a fun, safe and cost effective home base for travellers of all sorts!

Warm regards,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    75
    52
    26
    21
See reviews for
2
41
83
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Base hostels are known for being reasonably cheap places to stay, and that is exactly why I a gave it 2 instead of 1. The beds are pretty comfortable and the rooms are reasonably clean, so long as you don't look behind the beds!. My main problem with this place is noise! As I write this at 1.30am local time, I can hear the thumping base from the bar below, and the load guests drunkenly stumbling, banging and shouting down the corridors. The sound monitor on my phone is currently reading an average of 66dB (about the same as average TV volume or a vacuum cleaner). I may as well take my bed and move it to the bar to sleep. I would at least get a night cap!

This place seems to be run as a bar/club first and a hostel second. On coming back from my day in Melbourne at about 9.30pm, I was greeted with a crowds of people waiting to get in, and security staff trying to organise them.

This place is run as a bar/club first and a hostel second. I have spoken to about 20 people since 10pm, some trying to eat dinner, some in my shared room, and some in adjacent rooms, and all have complained about the noise. I get some people want to party and make noise, but some people want to sleep. To top it off, check out is 10am, but late checkout can be arranged... forma price!

Redeeming factors are the Staff were friendly and offered me a free drink voucher at the bar. It is also very close to the beach and lunar park

Ultimately if you want a drunken night with little sleep and a short stumbling distance, this place is ideal. If you want to sleep at a reasonable time, look elsewhere

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the bar to have a chance of sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback online! we really do appreciate it, and take these reviews very seriously. at the moment we are just about to begin construction of an internal sound barrier within our bar area, to help further minimize potential noise.
we do already have double glazed glass throughout the building, and internal sound locks that all help to ensure not too much noise gets through.
furthermore, our 24 hour staff do regualr hourly checks throughout the night to ensure that everyone respects that the rooms are for sleeping,

should you wish to give us another chance at exceeding your expectations we would love the opportunity!

All the Best,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Loved it! Had a great welcome from the friendly efficient staff. Had a private room at first then moved into an eight bed dorm for a week. Didn't want to leave! Everything was clean and tidy. I've seen bad comments on here about the cleaning but the bathroom was cleaned thoroughly everyday and the room hoovered. I always seen staff working really hard and cleaning the hallways, stairs etc. The bar downstairs has great food and does good food and drink offers! They even do free hot dogs and free BBQ on certain nights. Its really easy to make friends because they play games in the bar, bingo surprisingly was a brilliant night! The bar gets busy every night and the music is loud but I couldn't hear it in the room which was good. The kitchen is nice and again cleaned regularly! Couldn't recommend this hostel enough! It is a party hostel though which is a good thing to some people not to others. Enjoy!!! X

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your absolutely awesome feedback online! we do pride ourselves on running a clean, safe and fun environment for everybody. We do clean every single room and every single ensuit in the room every single day,
and obviously our world famous Monday Night Bingo is not to be missed!

all the best,
and we look forward to welcoming you back to us here in St Kilda!

all the best,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Base is my second favourite hostel in Australia. Had such an amazing time here, although the rooms are small it does kind of work in everyones favour as it helps you get to know your roomies. I stayed for about 3 weeks and met some amazing people. The staff are super friendly and bubbly. The weeknights are fun, they always have game nights and fun activities. Beer Pong is a must do if you want a laugh :) You can tell as soon as you walk in Base that everyone is having a good time, backpackers and staff are all happy and friendly. Stay at Base :D

Room Tip: Don't stay in sanctuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hey,
thanks for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback!

we really take these reviews seriously, and responses like yours are what motivate us to push that little bit harder and keep trying to be the most fun and entertaining hostel we can be, for all of our guests!

you were like family to us as well, and we hope you have an amazing remainder of your holiday,

All the best,
BASE Crew
!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a place......not what I expected...BETTER, greeted by party revellers including the staff, welcoming, friendly, everyone having a wicked time..
Compared to Sydney Base where I've just left which was a DIVE!!Do Not Stay There!! We all agreed was terrible in our room, an others felt the same in other rooms. BASE ST KILDA, we salute you, rooms 216 and 211 we had an EPIC time, though to be fair there was a killer spider in our bathroom, but we got over it! Haha... Didn't actually sleep in our door, spent all our time in your freaking awesome bar with your freakin awesome staff and the Billboards and Revolver till the sun came up, all you can eat breki , mcdonalds across the way..beach on our doorstop, frozen yoghurt shops, cool bars, awesome cafe around the corner.. This was THE BEST HOSTEL I've EVER stayed in! Met some awesome people, Samantha, Ludo, Jeremy, Felix etc, plus the Dutch gals in our room... Nothing was too much trouble here! You guys have it locked down! On a scale of awesome, your miles above the rest.
Only downside- having to leave :( sad times. But moving to Melbourne in the new year so bring it on, you concreted my Oz move. Thanks again

Room Tip: Anywhere here is awesome, but this is a pure party hostel so be prepared for loud noisy seasoned tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hey LexyAJ,
to be perfectly honest, reviews like yours are really what motivates us to keep on doing our best to run the best Hostel in Victoria, even in Australia! we strive to create the inclusive fun party atmosphere for all of guests, and we are absolutely stoked at how much fun you seem to have had!

we really do hope to welcome you back to our property next time you come to St Kilda,
and hopefully sooner rather then later!

All the best,
BASE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My trip to St Kildas was over 5 years ago now, pre Trip Advisor, i am leaving a review now to let people know that even though i was in my early forties my friend and i had a private room with ensuite and found Base to be a great base, yes there were lots of backpackers, younger people having fun, yes it could be noisy but that was good and uplifting, on a budget this is a great place to stay. St Kildas is a great place.

Room Tip: private rooms are great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hey,
we really appreciate that so many years after your stay here you decided to take the time and leave your feedback here for other potential guests and the general public! you should be happy to know that we have worked our butts off to ensure that our standards have only improved,
and we really hope that if you make it back to st kilda in the future we are able to accommodate you guys again!

All the best,
BASE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

this hostel was okey, it is in the centre of st kilda (like an half hour from the city centre of melbourne)

rooms are with private bathroom and are cleaned up everyday. every evening the bar is open, so if you want to sleep on an quiet place, you should find an other hostel.

the people in this hostel are mostly english people, so lots of drunk and noisy people in here

use of wifi is kind of expensive in here, it should be free when you pay a lot for a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi,
thanks for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback!
we are in the sunny suburb of St Kilda, which is about 20 minutes by tram from our doorstep to the city centre.
Every single dorm room in our entire building does have a modern sleek ensuit shower and toilet, and yes our Bar is open every night of the week.
While we do have a lot of English people stay here, we also have lots of Germans, Scandinavians, French and really people from all over the world come here and make us their Melbourne Home!

The Wifi Costs $4 per 24 hours, or $12 a week, which by Australian standards is actually very cheap for unlimited wireless broadband. Many other hostels that offer free wifi cap it at only a few hundred megabytes, and the speed of their internet is not nearly as fast!

we look forward to accommodating you here at BASE St Kilda,

Warm Regards,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BASE Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Address: 17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BASE Backpackers St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.