We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hostel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BASE Backpackers St Kilda to your Saves list
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible hostel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Worst hostel imaginable, staff are terrible and absolutely oblivious to residents, shocking lack of manners and regard for paying customers, abusive language is the norm. Despite paying $40 a night we were treated like we were in the way of staff. Terrible vibes for such a cool place and set up. It really affected our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your online review. Unfortunately, handling a group of 8 guys in one dorm room who think they can throw parties all night and ignore it when staff ask them to abide by the rules can make for a dicey situation.
We are sorry you guys had the impression that you could act however you chose when dealing with staff and being rude to other guests, but it is our job to make sure everyone follows the rules and are able to have a safe and enjoyable stay with us.
Understand that while out staff may have become rude, your group did receive 4 separate warnings for your poor behaviour, and most other hostels would have simply thrown you all out.

Perhaps, given how 'poor' you thought we were, it was funny that your group tried multiple times to extend with us despite the fact that we were full.

apologies for not being able to meet your expectations,
though I hope should you chose to stay with us in the future you will understand why we have the rules in place that we do,
Kind Regards,
BASE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    79
    64
    31
    21
See reviews for
2
48
94
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Never stay here, Worst hostel possible, load noise every night, bouncers were the most rude people I have ever dealt with, shocking, would not stay here again. Shocking lack of regard for guests, very expensive and no regard for guests

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your online review. Unfortunately, handling a group of 8 guys in one dorm room who think they can throw parties all night and ignore it when staff ask them to abide by the rules can make for a dicey situation.
We are sorry you guys had the impression that you could act however you chose when dealing with staff and being rude to other guests, but it is our job to make sure everyone follows the rules and are able to have a safe and enjoyable stay with us.
Understand that while out staff may have become rude, your group did receive 4 separate warnings for your poor behaviour, and most other hostels would have simply thrown you all out.

Perhaps, given how 'poor' you thought we were, it was funny that your group tried multiple times to extend with us despite the fact that we were full.

apologies for not being able to meet your expectations,
though I hope should you chose to stay with us in the future you will understand why we have the rules in place that we do,
Kind Regards,
BASE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here a couple of months ago, awesome bar, great staff, room was very nice and came with free ear plugs! Never needed them, it wasn`t noisy even though I was staying close to the bar. Very helpful at the reception desk, good location. St Kilda is the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks so much for the positive feedback!


we really do work hard to get it all 'right' and it makes us feel awesome when a guest thinks we got it!

we can't wait to accommodate you again whenever you are back St Kilda way,

Warm Regards,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I only stayed here for 4 nights and hated it. For $30 a night you would expect a better place. The kitchen was always dirty, i only remember the cleaner cleaning our room once and the beds were squeaky! The people i had in the room were great though so that was a bonus. The wifi was $4 a day and it was slow! Bar was expensive. If your looking for a party hostel then this the place for a couple of nights but there are better hostels about for a lot less.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Dewi, and thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback!
I am sorry that the level of cleanliness was not up too scratch in this instance, but just so you know every single dorm room (as well as their ensuites) are serviced by housekeeping every single day.
Also, our guest kitchen is professionally cleaned 3 times a day every single day.
unfortunately it only takes a handful of messy guests to ruin our hard work for everyone, as has happened in this instance,

warm regards and safe travels,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagambie, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here long term.. (a few months) Absolutely loved my time here. It is a party hostel so if that's what your looking for, it's a great place to be.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Kitchen is well equipped and has a lovely big TV and comfy sofas for chill out days! Staff are very friendly and helpful, including the staff at the travel desk. There's always something going on in the bar. Excellent place to meet people.
Close to everything, 2 min walk to trams.
Love love loved my time here :)

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Female dorms on the third floor are lovely and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Just so you know,
we loved HAVING you here!

thanks for choosing to make us your home when you were in St Kilda,
and if you ever make your way back here to Australia's best beach side suburb,
we hope you stay with us here again!

Warm regards,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oelsnitz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was going by the ratings on hostelworld when booking a night in this hostel. Unfortunately I hadn't checked tripadvisor this time. Fortunately I had only booked one night...lesson learnt from 7 months of travel.
This place is clearly a party hostel...so if you are one of those that get hammered every night, mess up the rooms, don't respect others sleep quality and even have sex in the rooms with others around...this is the place to go. I could tell you about my night there in detail, but I think your mind is creative enough to imagine it.
The value for money isn't great either...their dorm prices are rather high, they charge extra for Wifi and breakfast.
For everyone that values a good nights sleep and value for money...there are better places in Melbourne to go to.
There is one positive thing to mention...the ensuite bathrooms were nice and clean. The cleaners also did a great job cleaning up the room, which was the biggest mess that I had seen stepping into a room.
But overall I would say it was one of my worst stays throughout my trip and believe me I have stayed in crappy places, but not for 30 Dollars a night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi,
Sorry in this instance we were unable to meet your expectations as a property. Our all you can eat continental buffet breakfast served for 3 hours each morning at a cost of $5 is a much more complete offering which goes through till 11am every morning,
and our $12 weekly / $4 daily unlimited download wifi is a much faster service then that offered by hostels offering free wifi in the area.

regards and safe travels,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I booked a stay in this hostel due to the fact that I had stayed at the Base backpackers in Sydney, and they were helpful and nice, even upgrading my room for me when the people who was in my current room decided to have an all night party 2 nights running.
This hostel however, upon arrival seemed nice, but I was soon to learn that they only care about partying and gaining money. Don't get me wrong, I love to have a good night and drink, but the people here only seemed to care about the 'hot' and 'pretty' girls, giving them free drinks and top ups.
The kitchen was a mess, with signs saying that if you didn't clean up your mess then you would be kicked out... Clearly this rule wasn't enforced. The tv room was also part of the kitchen area, so when it was full you couldn't hear the sound at all.
I also found some of the staff to be extremely rude. I decided to book an extra 2 weeks as my flight home was from Melbourne, and they charged my card twice!! And when I confronted them about it they stated that it wasn't them who had taken it, it was the card machine and that I should go and speak to my bank!! I constantly asked them to sort it out, and only on the 3rd day did they actually check their transaction records to find out that they had taken the money twice!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable online feedback!

it seems in this instance we really did muck you around, by double charging your card!

our communal kitchen does get cleaned professionally 4 times a day, and have been working really hard to get that area up to scratch,

we do hope that if you give us another shot at exceeding your expectations we will!

all the best,
BASE Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BASE Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Address: 17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BASE Backpackers St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.