We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location... to bad about housekeeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Fitzroy St., St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive St. Kilda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, great location... to bad about housekeeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The location is great... the front of house staff are fabulous... provided you don't get one of the burrows out back the rooms are of a good standard too. However, this property is poorly let down by the appalling quality of house-keeping! It's just terrible!

I started with apartment 9... avoid it... it is so pokey and air and light-less... to pass that off as a room suitable for an extended stay was a real challenge. Fortunately, the excellent front of house staff felt my pain, and I was relocated to a balcony apartment... which was fine, with a beautiful outlook over Fitzroy street and the parklands.

However, the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired! Daily housekeeping was rudimentary at best... half my lights were blown, the ceiling fan was coated in dirt, and the bed linen... really? I expect better from the Medina franchise!

Seriously, their housekeeping staff should be overhauled completely!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms... avoid apt 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESKMgr, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your stay with Medina Executive St Kilda.

I'm pleased the Front Desk Team have been able to assist you during your stay. I trust you are now finding Housekeeping & Maintenance to be up to standard as I see your stay with us has now been extended.

If there is anything at all I can assist you with for the remainder of your stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Claire Davidson
Hotel Manager
Medina Executive St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    188
    77
    20
    25
See reviews for
111
109
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Brilliant Location, with safe and secure parking. Comfortable room, quiet and good sleep value. I recommend this if anyone visits melbourne. The only disadvantage was a musty smell in the corridor once in a while and the pain of transferring elevators to go from the North Tower to the South tower

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESKMgr, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with Medina Executive St Kilda.

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us! For any future stays, if you would like to ensure a room in the North Tower (at the front of the building), you are able to do this by booking a One Bedroom apartment. All of the One Bedroom apartments are in the front building.

Should you wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Claire Davidson
Hotel Manager
Medina Executive St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

While getting in and out of the car park was scary as was narrow and had sharp turns (we were in a hire car) and not a great first impression, the apartment itself was such a pleasant surprise. The balcony overlooking the park was great and had plenty of room. It was clean and had everything we needed.
The staff generally ignored you but were helpful and friendly if you did ask for assistance. Certainly close to everything. Lovely walk to the beach and pier and restaurants were very close.
Had a very small gym but adequate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESKMgr, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with Medina Executive St Kilda.

I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also pleased that the team here were able to assist you during your stay.

With regard to the car park, I think you will find it much easier to exit next time you stay with us. We have just installed a sensor which opens the door to exit, rather than needing to press the button on the wall.

Should you have any questions regarding this or if you would like to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me at the Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Claire Davidson
Hotel Manager
Medina Executive St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was the 3rd Medina property we have stayed at in Australia.
Medina St Kilda is on busy Fitzroy Street and is easy walking distance to restaurants, hotels, bars, corner stores and public transport. The tram into the city takes 20 minutes and leaves from just down the street.
A walk into Ackland street and all its cafes takes about 20 minutes.
The 1 and 2 bedroom apartments are huge and have all you need for a great stay. The beds are fantastic and the staff at reception very helpful.
They are happy to store luggage for you.
Unfortunately there is building work going on next door and concrete pours at 700am are a pain but thats the luck of the draw.
This property, together with the Flinders Street Executive in Melbourne and the Sydney Central are a really good option when looking for more than a hotel room.
And its nice to sometimes stay out of the city centre in the suburbs for a change.
Try Banff restaurant/bar just down the road for fantastic cheap breakies and great Pizzas.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front, although on busy Fitzroy street have balconies which are great to sit on and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESKMgr, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your stay with Medina Executive St Kilda.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Claire Davidson
Hotel Manager
Medina Executive St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our group stayed at apartment 35 for a week to catch the Australian Open.
The apartment was clean and comfortable and had a good view of Albert Park. If you wake up early enough, you could see the hot air balloons flying around near the city. There were also many food joints around, with nearby supermarket and Tatts where we could purchase our tram tickets if we're out of coins. Very convenient.

The helpful front desk manager Claire also helped me to contact the Flinders Street Medina when I asked if we could park our vehicle there to catch a tram to the AO. Appreciate it!

My only complaint is the parking. Somehow we had to notify the front desk pretty much everyday in order to get in even though we had registered our vehicle. There was an instance when I pressed the intercom at the carpark entrance and the person manning the reception insisted that I go down personally then to register before they would let me in. Luckily I had passengers in the car to help me with that, else I would have to reverse down the narrow ramp and risk scratching the car!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESKMgr, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with Medina Executive St Kilda.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

With regard to the car park, you are able to use your room key to open the roller door if you prefer not to use the intercom.

Should you have any questions regarding this or if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Claire Davidson
Hotel Manager
Medina Executive St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincentia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I too read all the bad revues prior to my stay and I was nervous. As it turns out my worries were unwarranted. We stayed in apt 36. It was on the small side for 4 people, it only had 1 bathroom and the sofa was too small but it was clean, the beds were comfortable and the view fantastic. Fantastic restaurants are on the doorstep. Just down the road is a great little supermarket and the trams are right out the front. Street noise was not an issue. When booking ask for a room on the Fitzroy st side. I would stay there again

Room Tip: Relatives stayed in Room 21, it was much bigger than 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESKMgr, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with Medina Executive St Kilda.

I'm pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Claire Davidson
Hotel Manager
Medina Executive St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

After reading some of the other reviews I was a bit sceptical about coming here, but when I arrived I was pleasently surprised. Great studio apartment with everything you need to have a comfortable stay. The staff and front desk were very friendly and very helpful. It was very clean too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESKMgr, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Davidson
Hotel Manager
Medina Executive St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda

Address: 157 Fitzroy St., St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive St. Kilda)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Business Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive St. Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.