We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very stylish, huge value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges St Kilda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges St Kilda to your Saves list
Rydges St Kilda
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   35 - 37 Fitzroy Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3018, Australia (Formerly Hotel Urban St Kilda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Australia - Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, very stylish, huge value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Nice surprise, will be my Melboure regular from now on.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    140
    73
    17
    15
See reviews for
29
165
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

we stayed at this hotel with a scoopon deal.
Its a lovely hotel, really close to all the action in st kilda. Rooms were clean, and beds were a delight to sleep in. Staff were really friendly despite us being there on a deal. Breakfast was yum!

Totally recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, marketing Manager at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Hi della123

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Urban St Kilda.

We also happen to think it’s a little gem and in the perfect location – especially with summer fast approaching and the beach so close. Our great breakfast offering is fast becoming very popular with our new look café where you can sit in the window or outside and watch the colourful sights and delights of St Kilda pass you by.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers
Marsha
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at this holel. The location is great - Fitzroy St has great nightlife and there is excellect shopping a short stroll away in Acland St - not to mention the beach just down the road.

Although Fitzroy St is noisy - the hotel room we stayed in was really quiet and spacious. The bathroom was well laid out - also roomy and comfortable. The sheets were crisp - without having that "cardboard" feeling that you get in some hotels. The towels were large and fluffy and there are high quality eco shampoo and soap, And you could open the window for fresh air. Even robes and slippers in the room - although the robes were definitely designed around someone skinnier than my size 14 girth.

The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful - no trouble getting fresh milk or advice on getting around.

Love the decor as well - great black and white photos of St Kilda - and love the inside of the lift that masquerades as the St Kilda pier.

Quibbles? The TV was small and not a flat screen and we could have done with maybe a small table and chairs in the room - there was plenty of space for one.

Room Tip: Our quiet room was right at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Hi LonesAustralia,

We just love the location of Hotel Urban St Kilda and feel really lucky to be in such a great spot! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us – the beach, shopping, a fun night out, lovely people looking after you, a great bathroom with gorgeous products and a beautiful night's sleep… the list goes on! All these things combined plus the little extras is our idea of heaven. Thanks so much for your review and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Booked the Urban Round Room as a splurge for my 25th birthday night as we planned to go to Flare Restaurant that evening. The room was quirky with an interesting bathroom layout and the spa in the middle of the bedroom. The shower was fully enclosed when the door is shut which always makes for a much nicer shower.

For the price I was a little disappointed with a few things. Firstly the door to the room seemed almost paper thin; although there was not much noise during the night it was awkward being able to hear conversations or movements in the hall and thinking "can they hear us?".
We only had one robe in our cupboard, but a call to reception meant another robe was quickly sent up.
The BOSE stereo system did not function, no matter how hard I tried (and I am pretty good with technology) I could not get it to play the sound from the television and there was no means to hook it up with my iPhone or PC.

However the bed was quite luxurious and the blinds in the room completely blocked out the light making for a wonderful afternoon nap after having arrived much too early in the morning. The spa was spacious enough for two and would have been great to watch some TV from if the stereo had worked and there had been something of interest on.
Reception was friendly, especially one girl in particular who was constantly polite and willing to offer assistance.

Perfect for someone wanting to stay at St Kilda to enjoy the surrounds and sleep in a little comfort.

Room Tip: Round room has great block out blinds and faces the rear of the building - not an exciting view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Hi Drew F,

Happy 25th Birthday! We're glad to hear you splurged on something special, and our Urban Round Room is always an excellent choice.

It's great that our lovely staff looked after you by bringing up another Tie Me Up Tightly robe straight away. We hope you liked the slippers too!

Sorry to hear you had trouble working the BOSE stereo system. We haven't had any complaints about this, but will make sure this is looked into straight away. At least you were able to snooze the night away in a big comfy Urban Snorer bed, and we hope you loved your dinner at Flare.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is an excellent hotel in a brilliant location just up from the beach and on vibrant Fitzroy Street with a tram stop 25m from the front of the hotel. I can't understand some of the negative reviews on this place. I will certainly stay there again and genuinely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi cantrav7,

Wow! A perfect score! We're so happy to hear you love Hotel Urban St Kilda as much as we do, and thank you for letting us know :-)

If you want to be kept up-to-date on everything happening you should become a fan of our Facebook page - we're under Hotel Urban St Kilda.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed with my husband at the Hotel Urban St Kilda as part of a scoopon voucher special. As it had been talked up as a four-and-a-half star hotel, i was expecting something pretty special - and was disappointed. The check in was complicated and staff were unhelpful to the point of being dismissive. When I had asked about parking when confirming my reservation, I wasn't told about the $15 fee up front and this was only disclosed after we had parked in the hotel car park - not saying that this was expensive for a night's parking in St Kilda, but it would have been nice to have been informed.

The best thing about the room was the extremely comfortable bed and the quietness of the place. I didn't know that I was staying just metres away from busy Fiztroy street which was great. The rest of the room was very clean, but nothing too special or luxurious. There's no room service, which isn't an issue for me, but my husband was disappointed.

As part of our coupon, we were given breakfast vouchers (billed as"enjoy a scrumptious a-la-carte breakfast") which on further enquiry entitled us to an amount up to $15 each for breakfast. Not a bad amount, but given that most items on the breakfast menu were close to $15 on their own, expect to outlay at least something if you want a hot drink.


so all in all, if you're after a comfortable room in a good location, this is a good spot to try. I don't know how much the normal room rates are as we had a voucher, so I cannot comment on the value-for-money aspect. if you're after something a little bit more luxurious though, then probably best to try something else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi there,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your experience at Hotel Urban St Kilda.

It sounds like communication wasn't the best at the start of your stay, and we're really sorry about the mix-up with the parking. Our check in and parking process is usually very straightforward, so we will have a chat to our staff about why this might have happened.

The Urban Snorer beds are soooo comfortable! We love how the St Kilda location is vibrant, fun and bustling, but at the same time you can chill out in piece and quiet when in your room.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were very happy with our recent stay. The rooms are big and clean with a lovely large over sized bed. A well priced mini bar is also available for your convenience. The room we stated in didn’t have a bath and the television is a little on the small side with only local terrestrial channels available – no sky or satellite.
The locations is amazingly brilliant and given that it is on a very vibrant strip the rooms are completely quiet – not a noise could be heard.
The staff at reception are young and very helpful.
The bar is a little on the quiet side – we were the only people in there when we did go down, and it closes early.
We didn’t eat breakfast or lunch here so I cannot comment on the food, and I am not sure if a restaurant is available for dinner
Free internet is available with a computer at reception – very handy
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a good night sleep in a perfect location and really good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Hi there,

Thanks for your lovely review! What a shame you didn't get to try the brekkie or lunch at Suger Café – it offers such a great menu and a very relaxed atmosphere.

We have Foxtel available in all of our rooms, so we will look into what happened with your TV. The Urban Round Rooms and Sweet Urban rooms have gorgeous, deep spa baths – definitely worth a try if you stay with us again. So, even though you were very happy with your recent stay, hopefully we can make you even happier next time :–)

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges St Kilda

Address: 35 - 37 Fitzroy Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3018, Australia (Formerly Hotel Urban St Kilda)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#10 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges St Kilda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban St Kilda. More than a hotel... It's not your typical hotel setting - but then this isn't your typical Melbourne hotel. Hotel Urban St Kilda offers more comfort, more indulgence, more choice and more inspiration. Only 200 metres from the beach, and with cosmopolitan and vibrant Barclay and Acland Streets at your doorstep, the boutique Hotel Urban St Kilda will suit those who value designer chic combined with relaxed, modern comfort. Our ultra-comfy rooms feature designer everything, premium amenities and our signature Urban Snorer beds that have been designed to provide the ultimate slumber.Consider our Urban Superior Room with designer everything, Deluxe Spa Room featuring an indulgent one-person spa bath, or the decadent Sweet Urban Room with enormous separate bathroom and shower, and double spa. For extra fun check out our oh-so-popular Urban Round Room, with a luxurious double spa featured in a unique circular space. Whatever you fancy, you won't want to leave. If you're feeling peckish pop down to Hub cafe for scrumptious Genovese coffees and mouthwatering treats for breakfast and lunch.So come on over and experience the Urban difference for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Rydges St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Kilda
Urban Hotel St Kilda
Rydges St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.