We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but reasonable room in a great spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 8 Carlisle Street | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but reasonable room in a great spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed two nights to enjoy the locale. Booking and greeting were straightforward and friendly. Free onsite parking, shaded if you are lucky. Room was bright and clean without being anything special.

Well located just back from Acland street. Good views to beach and St Kilda landmarks without noise. We didn't use restaurant or breakfast because we were so close by to Acland Street.

Will do iut again one day.

Room Tip: Upper balcony overlooking Palais, Luna Park and Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Semperpronto,

Lovely to have you stay with us and thank you for your review!

We understand value for money is important, so on your next visit be sure to ask our friendly staff about our special packages on offer including - Boutique Breakfast (in Chalk Café) Parking and Wi-Fi – in a room type suitable to your needs and comfort.

See you on your next trip from the country.

Warmest regards
Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    221
    73
    22
    17
See reviews for
69
235
62
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel was simple to find after catching the 96 tram to Luna Park, a quick wander up the road and we were at check in. Check in was friendly and efficient, and I was pleased to hear we had scored a free upgrade from Petit room to Twin - I would say this at least tripled the amount of space we had. A selection of drinks and snacks are available at the front desk that you can stock your (empty) mini bar with, or Woolworths is just around the corner for supplies. The beds are comfy and the shower pressure good. The fixtures and fittings are modern although a bit worn, which given the price of the stay didn't impact us at all. Staying in St Kilda was much nicer than our usual CBD stays, friendly vibe and plenty to see and do. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear invisigirl

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Cosmo.
I am pleased to read that our complimentary upgrade given to you on arrival was well received – something we love to offer when we get the chance. Thank you also for commenting on our team on check in – I am sure they looked after you for your entire stay with us.

Come back again soon!

Warmest regards
Ben Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We checked into a terrace deluxe room with a balcony facing west on fourth floor. You get beautiful sunset If you are lucky. Reception is helpful. The room is clean and bed comfortable. Water pressure excellent. No complementary mineral bottle water available in room but water boiler is there. Wifi is good even at the highest floor. The best part about this hotel is it's location in st Kilda. Minutes away from the beach and Acland st.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear chiachiang

I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and loved staying in our Deluxe Terrace room. It's great to read you love our great location as much as we do - just minutes walk from Acland Streets many cafes, bars and shops; and 20 minutes to Melbourne's CBD via tram, stopping just 200m away from the hotel.

Thank you again chiachiang, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards
Ben Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Cosmopolitan was a great choice for our night in St. Kilda. It is a motel, not an upscale hotel, but we found it suited us just fine.

Our first priority was the parking. The hotel was full, but we found a space. The mattresses must have been new, as they were very comfortable, and the staff was helpful and friendly.

It was a pleasant walk to all the nearby restaurants and then to see the penguins at the pier.

I would highly recommend it for someone staying in St. Kilda.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Kathy E,

Thank you for your great comments after your recent stay at the Cosmo. All our beds are equipped with MicroCloud toppers, adding to their softness and comfort. I am very pleased you loved them!

Thank you again Kathy for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back again to the Cosmo.

Warm regards
Ben Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backers
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Grand apartment. There were 4 women and 1 very small bathroom - so not great. Given it was 2 bedrooms we were expecting a bathroom and ensuite but that's our fault for not better looking into the facilities. The room itself was quite tired and "lived in" with a fair amount of wear and tear. We were on the top floor at the back of the hotel so it was nice and quiet. Location is ok and walking distance to main St Kilda attractions and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful and would give their service 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Backers,

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I am extremely delighted to hear that you rated our staff 5 star for their service. They are very happy to hear your comments. For your next visit might I recommend our one of a kind Courtyard Suite. This apartment is equipped with a full size kitchen, dining and living areas with its own private courtyard, perfect for a girls getaway weekend.

Feel free to give me a call directly when planning your next trip so I can personally take of your needs. I look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Warm regards
Ben Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We picked up the room for less than $130 so expected a motel room that would be OK. The hotel is a little tired and the room 'used' but was nice, clean and equipped with a king bed. The bed itself was very comfy and the staff efficient, friendly and knowledgeable of the area and more. We also had free parking.
The excellent location at St. Kilda is also quiet and not spoilt by any revelry from the rather 'cosmopolitan' local environment.
Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear HotdogDave,

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found it great value. Our staff always strive to go above and beyond and I was delighted to hear that they assisted you in any way possible during your visit. It’s great to hear that you share our love for this location in the heart of St Kilda.

We look forward to welcoming you to St Kilda soon.

Warmest regards
Ben Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Have stayed for 2 nights with two friends. Our room was located on first floor but it was pretty quiet. The supermarket and restaurants were located nearby with 5 mins walk. Though the room is not very decent, it was clean and with average size. The front desk staff were helpful with smile. We felt relax during our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Request for upper floor with better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Zoey M,

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our most important task is to make your stay comfortable and I am very happy you were relaxed and found our staff friendly with a smile.

If there’s anything I can do for you in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Ben Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle Street | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.