We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 8 Carlisle Street | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The only place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We recently had a trip to Melbourne from the country to see a concert at The Palais. We found this hotel on the website. Wow what a find it was. Staff were brilliant and attentive, rooms were of excellent quality and comfort, very well priced and food brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Wendy M

Thank you for your kind words regarding the Cosmo and our team! I look forward to sharing this with them – and I know they will be delighted to hear they left you with such a positive impression of the place.

Please let me know when you are next planning a visit, I’d love to personally help with your booking!

Thanks again and warmest regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    222
    73
    22
    17
See reviews for
69
236
62
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Located a minute from Akland street surrounded by bars, eating places, coffee and other shops.

A few minutes to the beach, Luna Park and other attractions.

We were upgraded to a studio apartment overlooking a quiet street when we checked in. Off street free secure parking.

Breakfast on site is well priced and of good quality.

Overall a good base for a stay on the beach in vibrant St Kilda.

Room Tip: Room 108 is out the back overlooking a quiet back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear SpannerPerthWA

Thanks for a perfectly put Review! Great Location, Free Room Upgrade & Parking, Quality Breakfast!

For those guests thinking of staying with us, the Cosmopolitan Hotel is home to Chalk Café & Bar.

We offer a special Boutique Breakfast with an extensive selection, tailored to suit all tastes and diets. Of a weekend our Chef Tyron offers an additional A la carte menu with gourmet breakfast options starting from just $9. The setting is chic and the service is friendly and the vista offers shopfront views of the Carlisle Street Hub and all its action!

Thanks again SpannerPerthWA, hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our last stop off in Australia before we headed back to the UK and before we got there we were quite apprehensive about the size of the room. This is because we booked a petite room and if Sydney was anything to go by then there would be no room to swing a cat. However we were surprised when checking in as the receptionist decided to upgrade us to a bigger room seeing as we were there for 5 nights. We got to the room which wasn't in the main building, a short walk across the car park, and when we walked in we were pleasantly surprised as the room was huge and smelt like the perfume Angel. I thought it was the cleaners but everyday we entered the room whether it was morning or evening we could really smell it. Having free wifi was a bonus and the only place we stayed in that did offer it free and unlimited usage.The hotel was in a great location situated a short walk away from Ackland street, Luna Park, Beach and the tram into the city. Ackland street is great for boutique stores, restaurants and Ice cream parlours. The only negative we have about the hotel is that it is over the road from a hostel called Base which also doubles up as a bar/club. At night it could be very noisy until early hours but apart from that I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if the hotel isn't busy. No harm in asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear ryan180680

Thank you for staying at the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

For the benefit of our other readers our Petite rooms, snug in size are equipped with all the modern conveniences as our many room types. This budget accommodation level, provides a perfect base for single or couple travellers, for a night of two, who plan to be out and about, exploring what St Kilda and Melbourne has to offer. It's great to hear the team were able to offer a complimentary upgrade for your five night stay, something we happily do when available.

Attention to detail is something our housekeeping take pride in, so thank you for sharing how happy you were with the freshness of the air in your room each day.

I am sorry that the external noise from our neighbours was an inconvenience. Being amidst the hustle and bustle of colourful St Kilda, regrettably does not mean we are immune to the noise of our neighbours. This is currently being looked into by the General Manager and the local council.

Thanks again and warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Chic hotel. Well located next to trendy Acland street. Fantastic service. We were instantly upgraded when we checked in. Comfortable king bed and spacious room. Off street free secure parking. We were even allowed to leave our car there for the day after we checked out. If travelling on the spirit of Tasmania, this hotel is not far from the port.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear NadineLee

Thank you for the review and your kind words about the Cosmo and staff. We pride ourselves on our service and the team will be delighted they left you with a positive impression of the place. It’s fantastic news that we were able to offer you an upgrade on arrival, something we happily do whenever available. We also recognise that guests may want to enjoy St Kilda a little bit longer on a sunny Sunday afternoon, and with our ample amount of parking bays it usually no problem to extend this extra courtesy.

For the benefit of our other readers, The Spirit of Tasmania is located a short 10 minute drive from the hotel and our parking is complimentary! This sort of flexibility is the reason why the Cosmopolitan Hotel is a popular choice for our guests embarking or returning on the Spirit of Tasmania.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to St Kilda!

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A little out of the city but on the tram route into town, 5min walk to tram stop. Great food and fairly large comfortable rooms, excellent comfy beds, only a short walk to the main street of St Kilda with heaps of restaurants, close to the beach and the famous sea baths. Also fairly quiet location for a city stay.I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear toptravellerLismore

Thank you for your review.

It makes me happy to hear you enjoyed your room and found your bed to be Comfortable and Excellent. MicroCloud toppers were recently introduced to all of our beds in the hotel with the intent of providing that extra level of softness, for our guests comfort. I am glad you liked them and it’s great point to share to our with other readers – Thank you!

I hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for five days, and it was a great stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing good local advice and great restaurant recommendations (including discounts for staying at the hotel). Rooms were big, clean and bed comfy. No noise, which I let them know was crucial for me (very light sleeper). 1 min walk to Acland St. Wish there was a mini bar in the room, but there was a fridge and I stocked it from the nearby 7-11.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Al R

Thanks for staying and reviewing us!

Our reception is 24 hours and our staff really enjoy having a chat with our guests, finding out about their day and helping them with the things you have mentioned.

Cosmo’s 8 room types are all unique in size, décor and their position within the three wings that is the hotel. It’s great to hear your room choice was quiet, spacious and just how you like it!

I appreciate your view on the minibar at the hotel; however our offering, has our guests in mind completely! Instead of having a limited selection of drinks and snacks that we have chosen for you, that occupies all the space in your fridge, we give you the option to bring your own or have us supply exactly what you want for your entire stay. Cosmopolitan | Quench is an extensive selection of reasonably priced favourites given to our guests on check in. Our reception team personally deliver, and can even pre-stock your favourite selection for your arrival. All is available for you to see in our new display fridge at reception. Additionally, the menu also incorporates a lobby shop selection for all those little things you forget when you leave home, like your toothbrush!

Thank you again for your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Situated in a convenient location, close to everything that St Kilda has to offer. Staff were very frendly, professional and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding (continental with enormous variety plus eggs to order). Meeting facilities and catering were very good as well.The only downside was noise until 3 am from the yobbos outside the backpacker hostel across the road, but the staff advised me to tell them next time there was a problem and they would try to deal with it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Darwin_AustraliaJohn

Thank you for so nicely listing what most appealed to you about your recent stay with us. I am once again delighted to read that our Boutique Breakfast served in Chalk Café was well received and that you made the most of our generous selection! Thanks for mentioning our Meeting facilities at the hotel, for the benefit of our other readers who may not be aware we have a smart conference space, nestled on the third floor of the property, very accessible, with lots of natural light overlooking St Kilda with all the equipment necessary for your event. For those guests interested in more information, feel free to contact Meera at the hotel for a site inspection or for a friendly chat through our offering.

I am sorry to hear our neighbours caused you some discomfort on this stay, this really disappoints me to read and I can assure you that we take this very seriously and are in discussions with the local council who have recently showed an interest in our case.

Thanks again for your review John and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle Street | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.