We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest St Kilda Bayside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quest St Kilda Bayside to your Saves list
Quest St Kilda Bayside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Eildon Road | (enter off Acland Street), St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment in late January and was impressed by the size and the cleanliness of the apartment. The Quest is located in a quiet street, but only a short stroll from St Kilda beach and the restaurant strip. The apartment had great bed, that was extremely comfortable and also had a full kitchen. I experienced no street noise or noise from other apartments, even though the place was fully booked. I stayed for two nights and the cost of the apartment was reasonable as I stayed during the time of the Australian Open, so hotels were charging premium prices . The staff were very friendly. My swipe card did not work one night, after the office closed, but I was quickly let in by the live in manager. St Kilda is only 20 minutes by tram to the Melbourne CBD. Trams run every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    80
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
52
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds - england
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I can't fault this place, it's not luxury but your not paying for that, it's clean, it's spacious and it's in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington Peninsula
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

This is the first time I have used an apartment hotel and I will definitely be using one again - wherever I am travelling.. This place is well located, clean and friendly. Great ambience. The apartments are not huge but they were extremely comfortable for the two of us and my work colleagues felt the same. Well equipped too.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

For me accommodation can best be judged by asking myself if I would stay in the establishment again, unfortunately I would not return to the Quest St Kilda. We were phoned by reception the day before we arrived which was a lovely touch, my husband told the recetionist that we woud be arriving at around lunch time the next day but that we understood that we couldn't book in until 2pm and that this was fine, the receptionist told him that it probably wouldn't be a problem booking in earlier. When we arrived in Melbourne it was the wettest November day on record - really torrential rain. We arrived at the hotel at around 12pm and was told that we couldn't book in until 2pm which was a little disappointing given that we had a three year old in a stroller, it was pouring with rain and we had thought that we may have been able to check in earlier given our conversation with the hotel the day before. I asked for the loan of an umbrella however they were all gone to other customers so we braved the rain and headed off to find something to do for two hours.

The room was miniscule and if I had of realised how small it was I would have booked a two bedroom apartment. The description of the apartment included 'a roll away bed' there was absolutely nowhere to roll a bed away to instead my three year old slept in a fold out bed which took up the whole of the lounge area and nearly saw his head sleeping in the kitchen. If you are planning on staying here with any more than two people you must book a two bedroom room. We have stayed at other hotels with fold out beds and have had much more space. The bathroom was claustrophobic and the shower head was detachable because it had to be as you couldn't move in the shower comfortably. The pool was freezing cold and my three year old could only manage ten minutes at a time in the pool before he started shivering and turning blue. The pool and garden area was meticulously maintained and very clean as too was our room so full kudos to the housekeeping staff. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were horrendous. The kitchen was well stocked with crockery and utensils. The hotel was in a good position but could do with a bit of an update. Quest really needs to look at its advertising the one bedroom apartment as it is not suitable for more than two people - so they shouldn't advertise it with a 'roll away bed'. The pool is not heated. Overall a very lack lustre hotel which although reasonably priced was not cheap and definitely not four star in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideStKilda, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this review, December 9, 2009
I think that our rainy late November weather must have put a dampener on this guest's stay. We are really sorry for any negative experiences this guest may have had and wish that this family had approached us about their concerns during their stay. There are few points mentioned in the review which I would like to clarify:-
1. Guests waiting to check in do not have to go off somewhere while they are waiting for their room to be ready. We have seating in our reception area which is regularly used by guests waiting to check-in, or by guests waiting for taxi pick ups etc. If a guest arrives early and the room is not ready, our procedure is to advise housekeeping and if the apartment has been vacated our housekeepers will immediately attend to the room. It is usually ready with 1/2 hour as we send extra team members into the apartment to speed up the cleaning process.
2. In relation to the size of the apartment - they are not huge but there is ample room for a rollaway bed. It is a cheaper option for those on a budget and we always have people staying in the apartments and using rollaway beds. If we have complaints, we listen to our guests and adjust our policies accordingly. Prior to this review, we have never had a complaint re the difficulty of fitting in a rollaway bed. They fold up during the day and are out of the way. Obviously they are going to take up valuable floor space but that would happen if you had guests at home and no spare beds!
3. We have a range of pillow options, so a quick word to reception would have fixed up that problem.
4. Our swimming pool has solar heating and it works hard to maintain a comfortable temperature. When it rains heavily - as it did during late November, our warm water is replaced with lots of cold rainy water and it can take a few days to warm up again - particularly if the temperatures are cool. Any pool anywhere would have been similarly affected.
5. The shower stalls are not massive but I used one yesterday and stood under the shower head and washed myself properly with absolutely no inconvenience. They are a standard size.
6. Our apartments are tired. All of us here found this comment particularly upsetting. Following is a list of improvements over the past 3 years. All apartments painted, recarpetted, new curtains and blinds. All bedding replaced with triple sheets, valances, cushions and runners, couches replaced, lamps replaced, new artwork in all apartments, new kitchen benchtops, cooktop, taps and handles on all cupboards replaced. New shower screens, toilet roll holders, towel rail holders, taps, shower heads and benchtops in bathrooms. We have just taken out our TVs, which were only 12 months old and replaced them with LCD TVs and new stands. Many apartments have also had dining tables and chairs replaced. Our telephone system has been replaced and offers a much more user friendly system than the previous one. We have safes on order and we are waiting delivery of those.

Around the property, we have completely renovated our reception area and we are awaiting quotes for replacement of glassed areas in the lobby. Each apartment has been fitted with electronic locks, replacing the less secure keyed option. We have installed digital CCTV cameras throughout the property and mindful of the water shortage in Melbourne, we have installed a water tank so that we can readily refill the pool. Our gym equipment has been completely replaced as well. The swimming pool area was looking tired and the grassed area was suffering because we were unable to water, so we replace it with synthetic grass which is much more presentable. All pool furniture has been replaced and new umbrellas have also been installed. As any reader can see, we have had an extensive upgrading program in place over the past years.
We care about our guests and their experience and always welcome comments during a stay and will work with the guest towards recitfying any concerns they may have.
As this guest recognised, our pool and gardens are immaculately maintained, our apartments are clean and well maintained as well. This is indicative of our property - clean, well appointed rooms, friendly staff and a property that fits well into the four star category.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Our first night in Victoria (at the Albert Heights Serviced Apartments) was a disaster - we had booked 4 nights but checked out after 1. Next stop, The Quest St Kilda Bayside, and wow, what a comparision. Our phone enquiry was quickly responded to, helpful and professional. Carl was courteous and welcoming on the phone - I had to call 3 times as we needed directions!
Our room was made available for us immediately and we were made welcome to check in early. After all, the bed had collapsed the night before and we hadnt had any sleep at the Albert Heights. Carl assured us that the beds were safe at Quest! and that they didnt have too much issue with noise as it was opposite a church..
Carl even came out of his office personally to welcome us, and gave us a free bottle of wine. What a nice gesture - after such a bad start to Melbourne it really gave us a warm glow.
The apartment was great - all we could ask for and more. spaciuos, clean, well appointed, well equiped, warm, quiet.....need we say more?
Secure underground parking at only $8 per night was the icing on the cake.
We would recommend this to anyone - all staff were so nice, absolutely no complaints whatsoever.
Thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Before embarkıng on a trip overseas we had some business to attend to in Melbourne, so we decided to stay ın St Kilda for a few days. This place had been recommended to us and we were not disappoınted. Quiet location, clean rooms and friendly staff - and the added bonus of beiıng close to the CBD and St Kilda Road offıces. Would highly recommendç

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed here last weekend with a friend. Got a free upgrade to a 1 bed apartment from studio. Full kitchen if required, quiet yet close to the action, clean and great staff. Good price - what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest St Kilda Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest St Kilda Bayside

Address: 1 Eildon Road | (enter off Acland Street), St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest St Kilda Bayside 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest St Kilda Bayside's refurbished apartments are the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. We are situated in a quiet residential street yet only minutes walk from the cosmopolitan attractions of St Kilda, with business and cultural precincts being easily accessible by tram or car - or a walk!Just 5 minutes' walk from St Kilda beach, each of these refurbished (completed September 2012) studios and apartments features kitchen facilities and a private balcony. Also available is a well equipped gym (open during office hours), heated swimming pool and BBQ facilities (summer months only). Guests' security is paramount, with carded apartment access, tagged property access and on-site car parking. Each studio and apartment has custom-made furniture and soft furnishings, an LCD TV, dining area, private bathroom and laundry facilities. Private kitchen facilities include an oven, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. Additionally, a variety of local restaurants offer Quest St Kilda Bayside guests the ability to charge meals back to the apartment. Melbourne city centre is just a 15-minute drive from Quest St Kilda Bayside apartments. Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit is 500 metres from the complex, it is less than 10 minutes' walk to Luna Park and the beach is only a few minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quest St Kilda Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest St Kilda Bayside Hotel St Kilda
Quest Hotel St Kilda
Quest St Kilda Bayside Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest St Kilda Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.