We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne St Kilda to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

My mum and dad had travelled from Papua New Guinea and booked 3 bedrooms for friends and family for my wedding. Mum had explained to the reception that it was for my wedding day and preparations leading up to the day.
When my mum arrived at the Novotel there was construction going on out the front, which is not a great place for photos at all!! It was hard to find the entrance because of the contstruction going on out the front.
My parents had two lots of friends also staying at the hotel and she had requested all of us to be on the same floor and then we were all spread all over the hotel!! Mum and Dad then had to be changed rooms because of the continuing whistling through one of the windows.
When all my bridesmaids and I arrived at the hotel we went down for dinner which is at the moment in one of the conference rooms which makes you feel like you have to take a notepad and pen with you in expectance of a meeting. Really not great!
We woke up the morning of the wedding to find that in my parents room they had been scolded by the shower because of the maintenence.
My parents had organised a delux breakfast in the room for all my bridesmaids and myself and when it hadn't arrived in the room we had to call downstairs to find that they claimed they didn't know anything about it. When they organised something for breakfast for 8 people it came up with 3 small muffins and 5 extremely small danishes, cold coffee in take-away cups and orange juice. When we called down to complain we were then sent up EXACTLY the same again. Dad and I went to McDonalds for breakfast with everyone!!!
Mum then went to organise lunch which FINALLY showed up how it should be.....heaps of sandwiches and champagne which had been previously organised at the same time as breakfast.
We all left and then my parents stayed another night to leave early the next morning with a COLD SHOWER instead.
This is an extremely POOR example of a hotel of this standard.
Their good fortune that one of the managers, Robert is excellent because if it wasn't for him the place would end up with no guests. He is one of the only reasons we stayed there in the end.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew-maynard, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, March 23, 2009
Dear Brown_Katrina

Thank you for taking the time to review the Novotel Melbourne st Kilda.

I was disappointed to hear that your stay did not match your expectations.

As you mention the hotel is currently going through the final stages of a refurbishment program. The front doors and restaurant are the last two areas to be completed. This will be finished by the middle of April.

We have discussed your disappointing food and beverage experience with the management team with a view to improving the way we communicate your needs and deliver our service.

Thank you for the positive comments regarding Robert, he is without a doubt a valuable asset to our team.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns as this is the only way that we can monitor and improve the services we offer. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Thank you
Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    793
    400
    112
    53
See reviews for
317
858
165
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

When booking in hotel make sure you tell them if you have bed and breakfast as they had us as just bed and I had to show our booking voucher to confirm our booking, but after that the room was very good and so was the breakfast. The position of the hotel is also good, although the pool is small it is okay but they could do with a few more sunbeds we stayed for 5 nights and were very pleased with it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1506-gm05, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, February 23, 2009
Dear EssexJennifer

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I apologise that we did not have the correct meal plan in our system when you arrived.

we are currently looking into all aspects of the pool area and its surrounds. More guest furniture is one of the things that we will change in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you
Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeheim-Jugenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days during Christmas week 2008 with family including 3.5 year old daughter . Hotel is in excellent location just across the road from St Kilda beach . Handily placed then for beach activities and also for using as a base to explore Melbourne and the surrounding area . We had a family room on the top floor of the hotel , room was clean , comfortable and spacious enough for the three of us . Excellent views over the sea front . Breakfasts were buffet style and the food choice presented was pretty good . Staff were all friendly and helpful . Nice touch on Christmas day when all the kids there recieved a gift . Note the website mentions a gym , this wasn't actually there when were there . The pool is small but nice to dip into a day sightseeing . The hotel is on the tram lines and getting into city centre is pretty easy .What is quite good is that they offer free internet access in the reception area , ideal if just wanting to dip into e-mails but not so good if you want to Skype family . Room internet access is quite expensive .Maybe they should give free room access especially at Christmas time when they have a large amount of people away from home staying who would appreciate free Skype access with family . St Kilda beach is quite busy and has plentiful eating and drinking places around it . The Espy was good value for food and drink . The beach itself isn't the nicest if you are looking for good clean sandy beaches. If this is what you look for then head towards Point Landsdowne and the west of Melbourne where the beaches are fantastic ! We did the touristy things in Melbourne , Yarra valley wineries , Puffin Billy - great for kids , drove the Great Ocean drive as far as Lorne , again spectacular scenery . Even went tot he cricket on Boxing Day at the MCG and thoroughly enjoyed the experience . Overall a good hotel , excellent location and in our opinion great value for money .

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1506-gm05, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, February 23, 2009
Dear Guidedug

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our Hotel. It is always great to hear positive feedback.

As you mention the hotel is perfectly located on the beach and with in a short distance to all Melbourne has to offer.

We have just introduced our free internet in the lobby and as you mention is perfect to check up on e-mails and look for things to do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you
Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Stayed for a couple of nights for business (which unfortunately means that I took very little advantage of the excellent location, directly on the beach). The room was fine although the shower was for midgets - I'm 180 cm. and i had trouble with it.

An early check-in was requested and even though the room was not ready at arrival, the staff was very helpful.

Great coffee for breakfast, but no butter - only margarine :-(

The location is near a good selection of restaurants and public transport.

I had trouble locating the entrance on arrival, as the lobby is being renovated, and this also means that the breakfast room is a sad, windowless affair.

Overall a nice stay that will quickly fade

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1506-gm05, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, February 23, 2009
Dear TravellerSomewhere

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mention we are currently in the middle of completing the full refurbishment of the hotel. The lobby/front door and restaurant are the last two areas to be completed and this will be finished by mid April.

I am pleased that the team at the hotel were able to help you out as needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you
Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Booked room on Wotif for $150 Aus Dollars (no breakfast). Check in was efficient.
Room was clean, fortunatly we did not have a cat to swing as we belive the outcome would have been fatel.

The room was located at the rear of the hotel over looking the pool.

The pool was way to small for more than one group at a time, three kids and two adult did not fit comfortably.
The tiles were falling off into the pool, however, kindly other patrons were throwing the tiles into the scrub for safe keeping.

The outdoor space at the rear of the hotel is nothing short of desolate. I am sure a little paving and some water resistant plants would go a long way.

We had breakfast at the closly located Acland St resturant precint which was cheap and delicious.

Would i stay again, only if it was really cheap!

  • Liked — Clear room, good night sleep
  • Disliked — Pool and outdoor space
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1506-gm05, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, February 15, 2009
Dear Travalur

Thank you for your review of the hotel and our apologies that your visit did not meet your expectations.

We are currently waiting for permission from our local council to be able to drain the pool in order to replace the tiles that have come lose, we hope that this will happen by early March.

The area at the rear of the hotel is currently under review and it is hope that we will be able to turn this current area into an area to be used by families

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you
Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Main thing for us is to have a quiet room. Although we were at the front overlooking a main road we heard almost no traffic noise. (With foam ear plugs in there was no noise whatsover.)

Breakfast was good with first rate coffee.

A plus point of the area is that there are two excellent restaurents on the beach opposite the hotel - Donovans and Stokehouse.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1506-gm05, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, February 15, 2009
Dear DRMEngland

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Certainly we have some great beach front restaurants located with in easy walking distance of our hotel.

Our own restaurant is currently being refurbished and will re-open at the start of April with a new name and concept.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you
Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Stayed there with my girlfriend between 14-18 Dec 2008. We booked this hotel due to the St Kilda location and we were not dissapointed.

The hotel is on the beachfront and only a few mins walk to either Acland St and Fitzroy St that have a number of great cafes, bars and restaurants - Monroe's and Curious on Fitzroy St were fantastic. There were a few places on the beach that we'd also recommend such as The Stokehouse.

The hotel has recently been refurbished and it looked like it. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly enough. We had booked a sea view room and had a great view of the beach and the ocean. The room was not huge but it was clean and tidy and very comfortable - especially the bed.

The bar and restaurant area was great - made more so by the staff that really made an effort to get to know their customers. This added to our experience and made us feel even more welcome.

There was a small pool at the back but it was nicely set out and we certainly made the most of it when the sun came out.

Overall we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Novotel and would definately recommend it to anyone who is looking to explore Melbourne but wish to stay in a more relaxed area by the beach.

  • Liked — Location, bar, staff
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1506-gm05, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, February 15, 2009
Dear Bristol Tris

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you pointed out our guest rooms look great now that they have been refurbished. Currently we are completing the lobby and front door area, to be finished at the beginning of March. Our new restaurant and bar area will be complete by early April.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you
Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.