We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check Out The View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Save Saved
You added Novotel Melbourne St Kilda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
NSW
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Check Out The View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We recently travelled to Melbourne for a friends wedding and decided to stay in St Kilda. Having heard of the Novotel Brand we thought we would check it out.

The room was perfect, , newley refurbished and contained spa . The views overloking the bay were amaxing The bed was very comfortable and room relaxing.

We found all the staff we came in contact with to be very helpful and friendly, it seemed nothing was too much trouble for them.

Thanks Novotel St Kilda for a great stay.

  • Liked — The views and the bed
  • Disliked — we had to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1506-gm05, Hotel Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, July 22, 2008
Dear Sir/ Madam

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review of our Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your previous stay. With the hotel located so close to the beach we find we have a number of wedding guests using Novotel Melbourne St Kilda. The location of St Kilda is great for that special occasion and with back drop of Port Phillip Bay it is very popular for wedding photo's and ceremonies.

I would like to thank you for taking the time out to write your review as it is important for us to receive feedback on our newly refurbished rooms.

Warm regards


Shane Edwards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    723
    367
    98
    46
See reviews for
288
785
156
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

We spent 3 lovely nights at the novotel st kilda. The hotel was located ideally overlooking the bay, and between 2 most interesting streets in St Kilda (Acland & Fitzroy)! We could walk to everywhere and exprience all the fun & actions in St Kilda. It was also very handy to go to the CBD by tram as there was a tram stop right in front of the hotel.

The best thing about the hotel was their staff, who were all friendly, approachable and efficient. Everyone said hello to us with a smile on their faces.

We heard from a staff member that the hotel is due to be refurbished from April 08. With the staff and the location this hotel already has, I'm sure the refurbishment will take the property up to the next level. We look forward to staying at the novotel st kilda again later this year.

  • Liked — location & staff
  • Disliked — not much... especially knowing that the hotel will be refurbished from next month
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

In all my travels I would have to rate this hotel as the worst I have ever experienced. It's a real shame because it's in my hometown of Melbourne Aust. I stayed for the weekend with my husband to celebrate my b/day, worst b/day ever. The room was in desperate need of renovating, noisy neighbours, rusted taps & soap holder in the bathroom and the grout looked dirty. I did make a complain and the manager on duty was fantastic but she can only work with what she's got so we got upgraded to a deluxe bay view. Unfortunately the bay was on the side so to get a bayview you needed to squash your face against the window, the bathroom was worse and the mattress hadn't been replaced in at least 10-15 years. Cannot believe they can charge what they do for such bad bad accomodation.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

We stayed at the 6-storey Novotel St.Kilda for 3 days/2 nights for a bit of a break from town during a recent warm spell in Melbourne. I was travelling with two 11 year-olds (my daughter and her friend) and we were looking for somewhere for a spoil, with a heated outdoor pool and things to do locally if the weather turned.
We spoke to the Novotel directly, a few days before we wanted the rooms. Hotel reception offered us a very good deal on the spot, with an upgrade to an Executive Suite overlooking the bay for the cost of a Deluxe Oceavview Spa Room, so we paid $339 per night for a spacious two room suite on the 4th floor, with king bed, kitchenette, little lounge area, fabulous ocean views and a great spa. They threw in the rollaway bed for free (usually $45 extra), and gave us early check-in and late checkout. Not a bad price considering the Australian Open was taking up a lot of beds that week in Melbourne. Moreover, the staff were especially friendly to the girls, and overall we felt they were always happy to oblige.
The pool was a lovely saltwater heated pool, not as large as some, but hardly ever busy, and in nice surrounds with blue sky and enough lounge chairs,and complimentary towels from the gym. We spent hours by the pool it was so pleasant and relaxing. After checking out on the last day, reception set us up by the pool for a few more hours, to enable us to enjoy a last leisurely swim - which we really appreciated.
The front bar faces the ocean, and if small and lacking a little in atmosphere, served drinks at very reasonable prices, similarly the room service prices eg. $6.50 for a mixed drink. The summer pudding was so good,we ordered it again!
The hotel is not cheap,but the Novotel's location is key. Right on the beach esplanade,and 5-10 minutes walk to locally famous Acland Street shops,cafes and cakes. A good bet was buying fish and chips from there to eat on the beach. The historic St.Kilda pier is also across the road from the hotel,with a lovely cafe at the kiosk right at the end for a breakfast or lunch in any weather.
We were really delighted with our stay and impressed with the friendliness of the staff.

  • Liked — The space, the views, the convenient location
  • Disliked — Not cheap
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenville, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

Stayed in the deluxe spa bay-view room in Dec 07. Great views of St kilda beach as promised (though we had to pay extra for this), the spa bath was good, large enough for 2 people. The room was clean and pretty big, included a kitchenette, lounge area, tv. The hotel facilities such as the swimming pool and gym was average nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

This is a small hotel for standard room
Bill settlement was fast and efficient with fee in the currency
of one's home country printed together with the AUD amount
Not much to see and do in the area
My standard room was standard and small but clean. Peaceful at night
Not much to see or do in the immediate vicinity and definitely not as bustling as Melbourne CBD but nice suburb to stay to enjoy the ocean and Bay
Buffet breakfast was limited in its variety (compared to a typical asian hotel which usu features a larger variety of food and drinks)
A good and cosy business hotel nevertheless
Be prepared to pay more than AUD 50 one way to Melbourne airport from the hotel doorstep

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

Without doubt the worst hotel I have stayed in over the last 10 years. For the price we expected modern with all items in good clean working order.
What we got was outdated, in poor repair, with repair evidence staring us in the face. The shower tap fell off in our hands and the shower head squirted water everywhere. The towel rail looked as if it had recently been glued up and the repair not completed. It was impossible to read in the room as the lighting was so poor.
When we wanted to ring the desk and complain we were unable to as the telephone did not work.
Never again.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque, seaside suburb of St Kilda, Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Situated only 6 kms from the city and 28 km from Melbourne Airport, the property boasts 211 guest rooms, extensive conference facilities, heated swimming pool, fitness centre, onsite parking as well as dining in Grill 3182 Restaurant & Bar. The diversity of Novotel Melbourne St Kilda and its beach-side location will ensure a most memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.