We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne St Kilda to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Upgraded needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is very tired and run down. Bathroom very small and has no vanity. You have to come out into the room to use the hand basin. Only a bed in the room and 1 office chair. No lounge (even though there was room) or coffee table. Bathroom grouting needs replacing as it is moldy and basin plug hole is also very moldy. For the price we paid we did expect much more. Will not stay there again. There are much better hotels in the city and cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear the room you stayed in was not suitable & we failed to provide value for money on this occasion. We conduct preventative maintenance on our rooms & public areas where possible, unfortunately we may have missed this room & will ensure we address your feedback ASAP.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    793
    400
    112
    53
See reviews for
317
858
165
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albury
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a one night stay(26/1/13) at the Novotel St Kilda. It is in a good location across from the beach, Luna Park, and the eating facilities of Fitzroy St. The rooms are quite small, and bed size seems to vary between rooms. We were lucky enough to have a king, but people in our party in other rooms, only had queen size or even smaller. There is a bistro, and bar, but the drinks are very expensive. Better off walking half a block to the nearby Esplenade Hotel. Even though the rooms are small, they are quite functional, and fine for a short stay. There is a powder room separate from the shower/bath, but a common light between the two. If you get up in the middle of the night to visit the bathroom, you either fumble in the dark, or forced to turn the light on which lights up the whole bedroom. We did not pay extra for a seaview room, but still had an OK view of the city skyline. Car parking is an extra $20, but you don't have much choice if you don't want to pay. There are parking spots outside the hotel, but it is all metered 7 days a week. Breakfast was very basic, not a great deal of choice. Better value visiting one of the many cafes dotted around the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Executive Suite was the room which we booked. The room was clean and very spacious as it accomodated two adults and two children. The frontdesk staff are very helpful and polite. Fantastic location close to shops,cafes, beach and Luna Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved the view, if you can afford it ask for the water view. Our room was on floor 3 and was stunning. The decor is very business like an orientated. We had a superior view with a king bed. It was very clean, spacious ,and comfortable. What we thought was complimentary water, had a tag around its neck saying $7.50 for a medium bottle of Gigi water. Lucky that the tap water in Melbourne. Breakfast was very good with all the usual offerings. All in all an excellent stay, and probably the only ace to stay I. st.kolda

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our room was dirty, chipped paint work, holes in one wall, stained carpets and ceiling no bedside table on one side of bed, broken chest of draws (4 -4.5 star???). Complaints were ignored. We had pre paid breakfasts but on the second morning they said we didn't(they did fix this, unlike the last time we stayed here when they wouldn't ) We have stayed here three times previously but will now never go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that your guest room was in poor condition. We are in the process of repairing & repainting our guest rooms to ensure they are maintained to a high standard. I apologise if we missed this room & will address ASAP.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here during the Australian Open after a 10 year absence.

Booked and stayed in a Superior Bay View room. Very pleased with very efficient aircon on a 40 deg+ C very hot night.

Very welcoming and efficient staff at all times.

Our room overlooked the bay, very large and obviously refurbished in the last two year or so.

Very regular trams to the city stop outside. Recommend the Frankston airport shuttle to/from the airport which stops at the front door for about $34 couple vs $70 for a taxi.

Lots of dining options nearby and great walks along the waterfront.

Have seen other reviews about "tiredness" but can only assume that some areas of the property still to be upgraded.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and pay for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#3 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.