We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Kilda Novotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne St Kilda to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
A TripAdvisor Member
“St Kilda Novotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Excellent location and friendly service especially in the restaurant. Clean rooms and good views. The front desk staff were a little overwhelmed at times and did not have all aspects of our booking ready when we arrived (eg tickets for an event in Melbourne). Room service was prompt and polite. The rooms themselves (we had 1 standard and 1 deluxe) are a little on the cosy side but well designed. The bay views are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    750
    381
    103
    51
See reviews for
302
813
160
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Booked a family suite months in advance due to a wedding we were attending. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival that our room was upgraded to a penthouse suite which was superb. Rooms were very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. Location is central to everything. Would have loved to have stayed longer if we had the time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was a little disappointed in the room overall - facing another building, and not very big or with any special features. But, I'd booked it as a mystery hotel on wotif so I suppose you can't expect the best rooms. It was average, an okay place to spend the night if you were going out and not spending much time in the hotel.

It is a great location for restaurants and nightlife, if you "love to watch the sun go down, on St Kilda Esplanade" (from the Espy Hotel nearly next door) and for the markets on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had a great stay at the Novotel St Kilda. The tram stops right outside the hotel and dropped us in the heart of Melbourne, Federation Square, where we had a leisurely stroll to the footy at the MCG. We then headed to Lygon Street, Carlton, for dinner in a taxi and returned several hours later very happy with our day of activity. The hotel is clean, comfortable, close to the CBD and the staff are very helpful. We have now stayed here several times and the close proximity to all the excitement of Acland Street is fabulous!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Bar meals (coffee service very slow). Room a bit tight in wet areas. Position covers for a multitude of sins. Best = Position & ease of access to public transport. Least = Breakfast closes to early on a Saturday. Run to 11am.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.