We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Prince to your Saves list
The Prince
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Acland Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here recently with my husband and we both had a fantastic time. The location is excellent, there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and the beach is just around the corner. The staff were excellent. They were able to answer any questions we had and they went out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay.
The room was big, the bed was comfy, and the bath was huge!
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, Circa. The food was really great and the place had a great atmosphere, I was also very impressed with the wine list.
I would definitely recommend staying here, and I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Rosh D
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor for us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the many facets of the hotel - from the rooms to the menu in Circa.

We hope to have you back with us again very son to try the new seasonal menu in Circa and ample a few more of the local bars.

Kindest

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    58
    22
    19
    9
See reviews for
12
83
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel itself is fine and my room was small but very efficient. Although, I did hear some mixed experiences including a mother of the groom (from the wedding the night before the one I attended) being locked out of her room and refused entry because the hotel staff forgot to take an imprint of her credit card. Superb venue for a wedding but we really didn't need lectures from the bar attendant who is apparently studying 'nutrition' about how bad the sugar was for us that we were eating or telling guests they were cut off from the Pepsi max because it was bad for her and she had too many. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast experience. Very similar to the review below reporting on a post wedding group breakfast, so our experience clearly isn't a one off. Rudest staff ever, nearly an hour before they took our food order, we were told that we couldn't order from the normal menu because there we too many of us, coffee and tea eventually came but no offer of more, if more was requested people were very rudely told it would have to go on their room bill, very average food ....the list goes on. Many good things can be said about the hotel but nothing good could possibly be said about the breakfast experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Mopette,

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor. I’m sorry to hear that your experience was not to the standard that we aim to achieve. My sincerest of apologies that the breakfast was such a disappointing experience. I have shared your comments with our events team to look at better ways we might be able to handle groups dining together for breakfast. I would be more than happy to have speak with your personally regarding the problems that you experienced. Please feel free to contact me personally on biz@theprince.com.au so that I can look further into your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had our daughters wedding at the Prince last week and were totally delighted with how the event was managed. The staff on the night of the event were extremely efficient and pleasant to deal with and nothing was too much trouble. We had a large number of family members staying at the hotel and they all enjoyed the rooms plus the breakfast.
The Penthouse was fantastic for the bridal party to use to be dressed and made it very relaxing.
Cannot thank you enough and was recommend your venue for any event.
Kind Regards
Marilyn Strauss

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Marilyn,

Thank you for reviewing the Prince. We are so pleased to hear that your daughters special day was a wonderful experience for all involved. We strive for friendly, efficient and accommodating service and it's always wonderful to receive feedback that is so positive. Hope we can have you back again soon to stay and experience the food and beverage facilities of The Prince.

Kindest

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was recommended by one of my friends. Travel alot for business. Really convenient location good atmosphere, the breakfast was amazing it was funcky not the usual breakfast that you get in other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear tnb84,

Thank you for your review of the Prince Hotel and we are so pleased that the property came on recommendation! We are thrilled that we met your expectations and glad you liked the breakfast. Hope to be welcoming you back to the Prince again in the future.
Kindest

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Come down for work regularly and usually stay in the larger chain hotels in Melbourne'sCBD .
A client recommended The Prince, so I gave it a go .
What a great little hotel .
Hotel is super cool and edgy , great vibe for a weekend away or someone like me who travels a lot .
Greeted by a warm and friendly smile , staff super accommodating ... Nothing was too much .
My room was a cute room which overlooked Acland Street ( a few other reviews mentioned noise - I slept like a baby / found the room noiseless )
Breakfast served at a hip cafe downstairs . Coffee was to a high standard and my eggs were too :)
A stressful week of work turned into a rather enjoyable week .
Thank you Prince , I will defiantly be back .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Kim H,

We really appreciate your taking the time to post a review of the Prince Hotel and the team love hearing that we have been able to make your stressful work week more enjoyable. It’s great that you are looking forward to your next visit, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at The Prince for two nights for a special occasion with my partner and we had a fantastic stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely; it was stylish, with ample space. The room service was restaurant quality and as requested. We had a delicious meal at Circa which I highly recommend. Transport was at the door, and so were the cafes, shops and the beach. We will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Felicity N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our property on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that we were able to make your stay enjoyable, particularly given the special occasion!
We are glad that you had the opportunity to also sample to food and beverage facilities of the property and really look forward to seeing you back with us very soon.

Kindest

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lovely part of town, regular tram takes you straight into the city, clean rooms and friendly service. Take a walk into west St Kilda - wide leafy streets and great Victorian/art deco homes. Perfect boutique hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear JoP

Thank you for your review of the Prince Hotel, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the location - it's really so central to everything! We hope you’ll stay again on your return to Melbourne.

Kindest
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince

Address: 2 Acland Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince is Melbourne's premier boutique hotel, hidden in the cosmopolitan bayside suburb, St Kilda. With 40 individually designed rooms, Louis Roederer in the mini bar, 24 hour room service, exclusive Aurora Spa Rituals amenities, award-winning Circa restaurant in the property and service standards set very high - a stay at The Prince will be an experience to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Hotel St Kilda
Prince Hotel St Kilda
Prince St Kilda
The Prince St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.