We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very trendy and different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzrovia

Fitzrovia
155 Fitzroy Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria, Australia
+61 95370001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 190 Restaurants in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Overlooking Albert park and breathtaking city views, Fitzrovia has pride of place in our beautiful Federation mansion house with pressed tin ceilings, hand-made brick work, stained glass, baltic pine floors and a host of wonderful original features.From 7am through till late at night, our kitchen produces some of the area's most innovative dishes, made entirely from local Victorian produce, with a strong European style.Our menus change regularly with the seasons, so take a look at our website to see what we are doing!
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very trendy and different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for breakfast/brunch recently. Very different menu and most delightful variety. Very busy but we only waited 20 minutes for a table for 6. This restaurant was recommended to me by a family member living in Melbourne and we are so glad they did. The fresh fruit and couscous was excellent and my wife loved the french toast. Looking forward to trying dinner next time in Melbourne.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    65
    9
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very nice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Beautiful venue, gets very busy very quikly after 7.30pm. Loved the open kitchen where u c the chefs working and how everything is cooked and prepered. Perfect hygine! Cosy atmosfere, not too noisy and with nerby parking. Staff were nice, food takes time to arrive as everything is freshly prepered (I watched, we sat close to the kitchen) so dont go if u r short on time. Its perfect when u enjoy company and conversation while dining. Food looked stunning, presentation of a pricy restaurant, yet much more affordable. Very tasty! Pasta was generously graced with mushrooms and sauce, elsewhere u get full bowl of cheap pasta with very few veg in there, so very impressed with their cooking. Great menu options, We all had a beautiful time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just had dinner at this great restaurant. The meals were excellent , so were pre dinner drinks and wine. The staff were very friendly and professional, the chef came out to speak to us about the food which I thought was very nice and professional. The atmosphere in the restaurant is warm and inviting , the decore is gorgeous with fresh flowers dotted around , a little rustic but very chic. The meal portions are also very generous . Highly recommend Fitzrovia !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stumbled across FItzrovia by chance, enjoyed a beautiful lunch and decided to return for an evening meal. The service was exemplary and the food exquisite. Do yourself a favour, choose a beautiful night and enjoy the hospitality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“cozy and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This small neighborhood restaurant and bar is relaxed, cozy and so friendly. The food portions were much, other than in Europe! the steak was so delicious, so was the chicken. I couldn't resist the temptation of the dessert!

I would definitely eat there if I were in the city again!

In spite of the fact that, there was some loud inside, we moved outside, which was relaxed and fresh.

The smokers are not supposed to smoke inside, it's prohibited in Australia but here they did and the staff were so polite to ask them to smoke outside.

Don't expect 'fine dine' here, just a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and very good food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzrovia also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Fitzrovia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzrovia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.