We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service not up to scratch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rococo

Rococo
87-91 Acland Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
+61 3 9525 3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 190 Restaurants in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rococo is a bustling Italian restaurant, a place to 'be seen' offering a huge range of Breakfast , moving into antipasti, salads, traditional Neapolitan pizza, al dente pasta, risotto and a mouth watering , comforting and affordable 'street food' menu for Lunch Mon-Fri. At Rococo, we pride ourselves on the quality and consistency of our food, the freshness of our ingredients, and the menu's diversity, whilst traditional- incorporating modern techniques. Home of Melbourne's greatest Bolognese sauce, and arguably it's best Pizza.. There is something for everyone at Rococo
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Service not up to scratch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We chose to eat at this restaurant on a busy night when there was an event on at St Kilda. Although we had a booking we had to be asked to be shown to our table and then once again had to ask for menus and service. Once we ordered, our meals weren't too far away and service picked up a little. The food was good and well priced however they seemed short staffed or unable to cope. We would be happy to try this place again on a quieter night.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    108
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Went with a group of six friends for breakfast a good variety menu all up five different dishes were ordered and enjoyed by everyone. Service was efficient and friendly. Only downfall was the coffee could have been hotter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good breakfast. Service was attentive but not too rushed. I would go again. Prices were reasonable..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broulee, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We loved our food at this restaurant. We had tapas type dishes and it was all delicious and reasonably priced. The drinks were not cheap, but consistant with St Kilda prices. Staff were polite and service was excellent. It was a week day but still packed.
The only problen we had with our experience was that they allowed smoking in the outside eating area. Perhaps this is ok in Victoria but I found it disgusting. Diners should be able to eat outside without smokers puffing their smoke directly into your space.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible staff and service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Staff was rude, just trying to rush you in and out, not once were we asked if we wanted more drinks.
When we were leaving, a member of our party overheard one of the waiters talking to the next party waiting for our table which was booked for the exact same time ours ended, leaving no room to move, and said we were being difficult!
Horribly disappointed, do not come here!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rococo also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
Hawthorn, Boroondara
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Rococo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rococo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.