We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rococo

Rococo
87-91 Acland Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
+61 3 9525 3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 178 Restaurants in St Kilda
Price range: $8 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rococo is a bustling Italian restaurant, a place to 'be seen' offering a huge range of Breakfast , moving into antipasti, salads, traditional Neapolitan pizza, al dente pasta, risotto and a mouth watering , comforting and affordable 'street food' menu for Lunch Mon-Fri. At Rococo, we pride ourselves on the quality and consistency of our food, the freshness of our ingredients, and the menu's diversity, whilst traditional- incorporating modern techniques. Home of Melbourne's greatest Bolognese sauce, and arguably it's best Pizza.. There is something for everyone at Rococo
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We shared 3 entrees and all were great, the bread was the best lve eaten in a long time and the serves were generous. The main courses were man sized serves,fresh and very tastey, l couldnt fault the food although the waitress didnt know anything about the dishes when asked, the Afogato is simply the best lve eaten although l was told the panchetta was a little bland.
I will return.
Beware when parking in the surounding areas because although we parked in an 1 hr zone apparently it is a permit zone and we were fined $85.00 and St Kilda is notorious for giving parking tickets even though you think you are legally parked.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    95
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bentleigh, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Acland Street's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visit this restaurant at least once a month and the food has never failed us. Whether you just want breakfast, a coffee, a pizza, and they are to die for, tapas or a full meal the quality of the food has remained constantly great. Their selection of wines is as good as you will get and we have always enjoyed the variety of staff they attract, especially those who have come here for on an overseas working trip. The place is always busy and this alone is a great sign.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“St Kilda favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Have eaten here so often over the years, always look forward to it and am never disappointed. Only problem is the wine is a bit expensive.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food, accomodating on a busy night...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stopped by this restaurant after prowling around St. Kilda for the day. It was very busy during dinner time and we had no reservation, but they accommodated us and found a small table for two. Service was pretty good, they had a sommelier on staff which is always nice. The gnocchi was very tasty, I finished the whole thing which is hard for me to do. They top it with crunchy crotons and fresh ricotta, yum! Definitely would go back. Cool atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Abuzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Dine at this restaurant on 2 occasions once for breakfast just the 2 of us and then for lunch with 4.
Had the full breakfast which was of significant size for $18 with lots of bacon, 2 sausages eggs etc was good as breakfasts go but not to be raved about, hit the spot.

Lunch for 4 covered pizza, bruchetta, and a selection of antipasto again all good but not great.

Breakfast was quiet lunch on a Saturday was hectic and fairly loud.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rococo also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Rococo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rococo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.