We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Ink

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments Ink to your Saves list
Apartments Ink
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Inkerman Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
Hobart
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We purchased 4 brand new tops, wore them only once and put them in the washing machine in our unit. We were horrified to find the machine had left rust marks all over the tops. The manager would only offer half price dry cleaning. we submitted one top to test to see if the marks would come out but they didnt. The said they tried to call me four times but there was no record of the call on my mobile phone. We asked the hotel (via email) that as the marks wouldnt come out to reimburse us for the cost of the tops but they would not. NOT HAPPY CUSTOMERS.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room size you book and pay for...we booked and paid for a 32 sq room with 2 lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi RedDRAGON1954,

We appreciate the response you have posted on Trip Advisor, as you would expect we are quite disappointed at the obscured and missing information posted in light of the thorough correspondence between us both. We offer to our readers the opportunity to obtain this correspondence and related evidence as well.

To clarify, the marks on the clothing presented to us were most definitely not rust marks. This is a blatant lie, and we have the photos to prove that the marks were black and dotted, much like those from something being in the laundry that has leaked and stained. We do take complaints quite seriously and in this case we took out a Service Order from our technician to thoroughly test the machine for faults. The result from the service found no faults with the washing machine or dryer and the technician had put the damage of the items down to possible ‘user error’. We concluded from our investigations that the washing machine or the dryer was not the cause of the stains to the items in question, yet as a sign of goodwill, I had offered to cover half of the dry cleaning bill. Further to this, we had guests occupying the room prior to your stay and also after as well with no faults with the washing machine had been lodged at any stage.

RedDRAGON1954, we have phone records to show that we had attempted to call numerous times to personally discuss the outcome. There is no reason for us to fabricate any of the above as we have nothing to gain except handle the complaint in a satisfactory manner. In regards to ‘asking’ for full reimbursement for the clothing, this was more so demanded in your email correspondence, along with threats of legal action and also posting negative reviews on Trip Advisor.

For the benefit of our other readers, if you would like more information on this review, we have extensive log notes, correspondence and service reports as evidence that can be provided upon request to better understand the sequence of events and steps Apartments Ink took to rectify and ensure satisfaction of the guests stay and complaint. We believe the above was an unfair attempt to get items reimbursed for no fault of Apartments Ink and are sincerely disappointed with the outcome and the impression that it has created for Apartments Ink.

Yours sincerely
Justin Hunt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
37
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient to the City and St Kilda, I stayed four nights for work and the apartment rooms were tidy, clean and spacious. There was a large bedroom and adequate lounge, dining space and a full size kitchen. There is easy access to trams along St Kilda Road or Chapel St, which will take you to most of the "places to be". For those who do not to go far for meals there is a small restaurant downstairs plus supermarket to take advantage of the kitchen facilities.

Room Tip: Building B is back from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi 1Ramian

Thank you for the positive review on Trip Advisor. We do pride ourselves on being a clean, modern serviced apartment which is conveniently located. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Please contact me directly as I would be delighted to make the reservation for you.

Yours sincerely
Justin Hunt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every year my family and I spend a weekend in the city and generally stay in the CDB however this time, with a toddler we we're looking for more space and more options for our recreation time. My mum and a business colleague of hers had stayed at Apartments Ink a few weeks prior and couldn't speak more highly of the staff and facilities so we took a punt and changed our booking and we we're so glad we did. From our arrival at the hotel we we're welcomed warmly from the lovely front desk staff member and helped with our multiple bags as we made our way up to our room.

The room was spacious, immaculate and the portable cot was even set up for us - which every parent finds so helpful when arriving late and with an exhausted 2 y/o. There was extra bedding in the closet and enough towels for each family member. Everything was so clean with that freshly washed smell that I love, being a bit of a 'clean freak'.

The kitchen was complete with everything we needed for breakfasts and takeaway meals, complete with a full size fridge to house our left over feast from the onsite Asian Fusion restaurant & all the treats we had bought from Aldi just downstairs - how convenient!!

It was typical Melbourne weather with rain intermittently over the weekend so we were very glad to have our car parked onsite and undercover in the secure car park as we we're coming and going all day long around nap times.

We were very happy to find that once in our room we basically didn't hear any of the noise from the street or external corridors - it was a lovely quiet location and certainly not ridiculously busy like the CBD hotels where you can't get good service even if you ask several times. We asked for some suggestions on local parks and restaurants and the hotel's manager was obliging and spent several minutes giving us all the information we asked for and more.

We explored the local area, found some suitable parks and playgrounds within walking distance and ate all of our meals in the hotels vicinity as there was a HUGE selection. We took the public transport into the city which was close by and easily accessible.

My husband (who has a bad back) said that he found the bed very comfortable and I am determined to get a King size bed at our house now as I slept all night without noticing the extra little person that had crawled in overnight :)

I was so happy to have decided to book with Apartments Ink after my mums raving review and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for spacious clean rooms, friendly expert service, easily accessible facilities and a beautiful local area. We have already booked into Apartments Ink for our family Christmas weekend away in 2015!!

Thank you to the wonderful staff at Apartments Ink for a very relaxing and most memorable 'staycation' in our favourite city. Looking forward to making our stay with you part of our tradition.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Claire B,

Thank you for your great review of Apartments Ink! It is fantastic and certainly encouraging to know that guests and their families enjoy their stay with us. We always try to go above and beyond for our guests, so getting an overall 5 star rating and a highly recommended remark is well received by the team here.

We hope to see you again in the near future and look forward to exceeding your expectations once again.

Yours sincerely
Justin Hunt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Stayed last weekend with friends for a girls wk end/ taste of melbourne jaunt. Called hotel prior and they gave us a deal for booking multiple rooms. Friendly service from start to finish, decent rooms and close to chapel st. Great little restaurant called uncle around the corner on Carlisle st. Building is nice and secure and housekeepers cleaned the room every day. Late check out was a bonus on Sunday - Would definitely recommend !

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi gegenp,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it is always a pleasure to accommodate groups who pre-plan for the varying festivals in Melbourne. I hope you didn’t get too wet at the Taste of Melbourne! I have encouraged all our staff to read your comments as they work very hard to sustain a friendly and professional standard of service to all of our guests, on their behalf, thank you very much. I was also excited to hear that you enjoyed uncle, this is one of my personal favourites in the area, dishing up some very tasty Vietnamese.

Gegenp, thank you for your recommendation, if you return to Melbourne we hope to accommodate you and your guests again.

Yours sincerely
Justin Hunt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I have just jumped online to write a review about the great week that we had in Melbourne. But mainly the service and standard at Apartments Ink - it was fantastic!. I was a little confused about the previous review because that is completely opposite to the quality and standard that we had.
We had 4 apartments booked with Apartments Ink and all of them were fantastic! Each day the housekeeping team serviced the apartments and any information or help that we required reception always did it with a smile.
Yes the apartments weren't the cheapest in the area, but personally it is worth paying the extra to get the facilities of an apartment compared to a hotel.
After reading the list of issues that the previous person had I can honestly say that we did not encounter any it and we had 4 apartments to compare. Maybe that traveller had a chip on their shoulder and needed to take a chill pill or blamed the hotel for their bad attitude??? Either way I loved Apartments Ink!

Ill be back in March!

Room Tip: Always book the apartments - they are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Kate H,

Thank you so much for the kind and generous comments on Trip Advisor relating to your stay at Apartments Ink . It’s nice to get positive feedback, but better still is knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay and that we have lived up to their accommodation needs. It is rewarding enough to have lovely people like yourself stay at our Apartments and we cannot wait until you all come back in March as you were all an absolute delight.

Your sincerely
Justin Hunt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at Apartments Ink in mid October 2014, below is listed issues we had:

*  both mattresses in the apartment were sunken 
*  bedroom window being next to the main corridor to the other apartments and lift
*  sheets on beds were not clean and covered in stains
*  lack of extra bedding and pillows
*  mould in the shower and tiles in bathroom
*  Stains on the carpet in front of the bedroom
*  Crumbs under table top and in the creases of the chairs
*  dish washing wand was filthy dirty and required replacing 
*  the heater in bed rooms was not working
*  the dirty dishes in the cupboards of the apartment
* "hair" in the drain on the balcony 
*  dust on the bed side tables 
*  after the sheets were changed there was still stains on the comforter
*  the ceiling bedroom light was not working (blown)
* TV remote was filthy dirty 
*  sticky residue on back of magazine 
*  dust and finger prints on wardrobe doors
*  sensor light constantly turning on 
*  constantly being woken by other quests arriving and leaving ( rolling of suitcases)
 
We wrote an formal email to the manager regarding our issues just to be called liars and money grabbers after we paid $350 per night in standard room during peak period that was sub standard in cleanliness and in over all presentation. Also we were also told that if we didn't
Iike the apartment we should of left and stayed at another hotel rather than cleaning the apartment to the four star standard as advertised.

This apartment is not close to Acland street/ Luna park so if you are looking to see the sights and sounds of St kilda and not the brothels I would recommend to stay somewhere else that is cleaner and in a better location.

If you choose to stay here, good luck

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Falhoona,

Thank you for taking time to write an extensive review on Trip Advisor, it appears that we have not met your expectations in this instance, but appreciate the effort you have gone to. It appears the truth has been stretched quite significantly in your review. We understand the first night of your stay was not up to the standards and only some of the above issues were raised. However all issues raised were rectified the very next day. Furthermore, despite our extensive efforts and personal assurances to ensure your stay was comfortable and satisfactory; it is disappointing to see such a negative review on Trip Advisor.

We would like to highlight the below. All of the below was done on the second day of a 5 night stay. Therefore the issues raised only affected the first night, which was fully refunded in recognition of this letdown from our behalf.

* The mattresses were replaced with brand new mattresses the next day of the stay (Receipts can be provided upon request).
* We acknowledge there were some areas of the cleaning which had to be revised as well
* An offer to move to a different apartment was also declined by you

I and the team at Apartments Ink strongly deny and object to the comments made about particular points (eg: calling you lairs/money grabbers, telling you to leave if you didn’t like it). We strongly deny this and it is not really in the spirit of the honesty that is encouraged on Trip Advisor.

We never advertise that we are close to Acland Street or Luna Park; we find the majority of our guest’s research the area and other hotels before making an educated decision on the location of their stay. In relation to our positioning, I am unsure as to your reference to brothels, as we are a within a residential area with a strong focus on community and family.

For the benefit of our other readers, if you would like more information on this review, we have extensive log notes and correspondence that can be provided upon request to better understand the sequence of events and steps Apartments Ink took to rectify and ensure satisfaction of the guests stay.

Your sincerely
Justin Hunt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The accommodation was of a reasonable standard and the staff helpful but I objected to having to pay an additional $Aus300 as a security payment when we had already paid $AUS500 prior to arriving for the 2 night stay. We were assured the money would be back in our account 3 days later and 9 days later there is no sign of any reimbursement. I rang them yesterday and was told that if it wasn't back in today I should deal with my bank to sort out the matter. Not happy!
Christina Lewis

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi 723christina

Thank you for your review of Apartments Ink on Trip Advisor, I am sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations on this occasion, but glad to hear the staff have been of assistance and the complimentary upgrade to a 2 Bedroom apartment was reasonable.

Upon review of your account I did find that the credit card pre-authorisation taken upon check in was only for $100.00 AUD. We do not take more than a $100 pre-authorisation upon check-in. This information is stated on every third party website in our terms and conditions section. In most cases the pre-authorisation is held only 3-4 days after it is initially held. However in rare occasions some financial institutions hold it for longer. In these instances we have to send a manual request for release via fax which is then released within 24hrs. The staff member in question had followed procedure and had faxed your financial institution and requested the $100 AUD be released. Despite this your financial institution has held it for a longer period. This is unfortunately beyond our control.

Alternatively, if the credit card authorisation is an issue, we do give guests the option of leaving a $200 cash or eftpos bond, which is returned on the day of check out once the room, is vacated and checked by our housekeeping supervisor.

We hope that the above clarifies the concerns you had. If you do choose to come and stay in St Kilda again 723christina, please feel free to contact me and I will be sure to offer you a great deal.

Yours sincerely
Justin Hunt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments Ink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Ink

Address: 135 Inkerman Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apartments Ink 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Apartments InkApartments Ink is a Modern, Stylish and Vibrant 4 Star Serviced Apartments which is located in cosmopolitan St Kilda, perfect for the corporate or leisure travelers. Situated on Inkerman Street between St Kilda Road and Chapel Street, it is only a few kilometres from Melbourne CBD.Our luxury accommodation in Melbourne is beautifully appointed, and evokes a sense of warmth and sophistication. Kitchens are fully equipped with European appliances and laundry facilities are an added bonus in all apartments. St Kilda Beach, Fitzroy St, Acland St, Luna Park, Caulfield Racecourse and an array of shopping strips are all within close proximity to Apartments Ink. St Kilda is well known for the array of dining options it provides and the picturesque bayside setting they are set upon. All restaurants, cafes and bars are all within a 15 minute walk or 5 minute tram ride.Enjoy our Melbourne accommodation specials and take advantage of discounted packages suitable for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Apartments Ink reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Ink St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Ink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.