We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, good-value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park
15 Orrvale Road, Shepparton, Victoria 3630, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Albury, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, clean, good-value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I didn't consider this park at first as it is not right in the centre of town, but I'm glad I did. I first went there a year ago and have always stayed there when in Shep ever since. I travel solo, so I need to feel secure. The managers there are friendly and the place is very well run. Everything is very clean with lots of little touches - fresh flowers in the amenities, a hair dryer, a small heater above the mirrors etc. I left my dinner in the camp kitchen fridge in my favourite pyrex once, and the dish was all clean and waiting for me at reception when I next came by. If you like parks that 'have everything' and charge a premium, this is not for you. If you like parks that have all the basics plus a bit more (rec room with comfy chairs and big screen, pool table and books, well equipped camp kitchen, etc.), a friendly atmosphere and at an affordable price then this is well worth a look.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed at the big 4 Shepparton East on another occasion in 2010 and found it to be suitable for a family. As we have another event to attend in April 2014 so we thought it would be wise to book again and did so in April of this year. All OK until just now when I was rung up by the caravan park management to pay a "deposit" for our booking. The "deposit" consisted of two days payment up front and it seems that they must have bumped up the rates especially for us. We have a camper trailer and thus only need a grassy site which usually costs around $30 per night. The bill came in at $72.00 per night / $144.00 for 2 nights!!!!!!! Far out, it must be very special grass! We have travelled extensively all over Australia and I can honestly say that this is the most expensive park we have stayed at! AND WE HAVEN'T EVEN STAYED THERE YET! To say I'm disappointed is an understatement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayebernardi, Owner at BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We thank you for your recent comments and feedback.
Our records show that when you stayed with us in 2010 there were 4 of you - yourself, your husband and your two children. You stayed in a powered site at $57 per night. You have again booked a powered site for four people in April 2014, the tariff will then be $72 per night – that equates to an increase of $3.75 per year [for four people].
Our Park offers a wide variety of facilities for both parents and children and along with the grass powered site you mention above we also provide a giant jumping pillow, solar heated in-ground swimming pool, synthetic grass tennis court, basketball, playground, go karts, air-conditioned recreation room with pool table, table tennis, video games, TV& DVD, wireless internet, large camp kitchen with 3 bbq’s, fridge, stove, oven, microwave, sink, tables & chairs & TV, clean showers & toilets, private family bathroom, laundry and dump point.
However if you feel you would prefer not to stay with us and cancel your booking we will of course be happy to provide you with a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights over a long weekend & got a great Big4 special deal! Kids free and 4pm checkout. Was a terrific offer. We had our own caravan & paid for a ensuite site. Our toilet/shower facility was quite old but clean. Family loved the games room & camp kitchen was
great. Managers were very cheerful and helpful too. My only problem was our site was near the busy road & really noisy with trucks throughout the early evening & morning. Next time we stay will not worry about an ensuite site & settle for a quite powered site away from the road.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The park is in handy location just outside town, only short drive to nearest shopping centre so it is very convenient and still a quiet place. The park is a bit higher priced than other places of similar type, but it's well equipped, has a nice pool (which our daughter used even though we stayed in winter - had to cool down after day of playing football) and one of those big jumping pillows in the ground. There is good shading of trees for summer, although when we stayed the weather was cool - our cabin had good heating and electric blankets on beds were a bonus!

Room Tip: If you prefer an early night take a cabin further from the outdoor kitchen and pool..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Big4 Shepparton East, we were back for Easter. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member upon our arrival Good Friday, we were informed what was on around town and when shops and attractions would be open. Our site was easily accessible and well set up. We barely saw the kids - they had heaps to do - everything got a workout! The basketball court, tennis court, go carts, playground and of course the jumping pillow. The amenities were always clean and fresh. The park although full was relatively quiet - meaning we got to sleep in everyday!
Well done to the team at Shepparton East! We loved it! THANK YOU!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked six of their poolside cabins for the Labour Day weekend. The cabins were a bit like Mary Poppins' carpet bag: compact on the outside, but a deceptively large amount of room inside. We had three adults in most of them, and we could really have fitted in more and still not he tripping over each other! They were roomy, clean and well-equipped. The hosts were friendly, and bent over backwards to accommodate our needs when we had special requirements. The Park is not in the township of shepparton itself, which is rather nice. It had a nice country feel, but less than five minutes in the car saw us in the middle of shepparton. We'll certainly be staying there if we have cause to return to shepparton.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family are big fans of Big 4 parks, having stayed at quite a few around Victoria. Yes they cost a bit more, but they usually have good facilities, excellent cleanliness, good locations , and friendly service. We stayed at Big 4 Shep overnight while visiting relatives for a family party. This is the first time we have not stayed at a hotel when we have visited Shep, because my expectations of Big 4 parks is that they are on a par with many hotels. My first impression was disapointing. The park is very clean and is out of the CBD in bushland, which is nice. There is a big jumping pillow, small playground for kids and a nice pool area. However, we arrived in the late afternoon on a 33 degree plus day to a cabin that was stiflingly hot like a sauna. The glass entry faces the afternoon sun and all curtains were open. On such a day the cabin could have been bearable just by keeping the curtains closed to the heat of the day, and perhaps a window. The air con took hours to cool the room down because of the high ceiling. The decor is very dull and boring browns, which was a bit depressing. It is in need of some uplifting colour to make it more inviting. While the cabin was clean, and well equipped, I was left feeling this experience did not measure up to my previous visits to Big 4 parks. I felt glad I was only staying one night. Kids will probably like the 4 bunk beds in the 2nd bedroom, though on this night the top bunks would have been very hot places to be. I did get a reasonably good nights sleep as the park was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the afternoon sun if you visit in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayebernardi, Owner at BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Joandy8, thank you for your feedback. It is our normal company policy on hot days to pull curtains and turn air-conditioners on in preparation for guests' arrivals. Unfortunately on the day of your arrival, this didn't happen. You're right - we dropped the ball and I can only offer you my sincerest apology and give my undertaking that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park

Address: 15 Orrvale Road, Shepparton, Victoria 3630, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Shepparton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Shepparton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best family accommodation in Shepparton and in a lovely peaceful location, well away from the train & the airport noise - we have everything to keep the kids happy - giant jumping pillow, solar heated in ground pool, go karts, brand new synthetic grass tennis court, basketball, giant chess, playground, recreation room with pool table, table tennis, video games & TV/DVD. Our accommodation ranges from self-contained cabins for the budget conscious to our lovely new cedar villas with all linen provided on all beds, reverse cycle air conditioning and 2 TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Shepparton East Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.