We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jim McDougall in Stefano's Cellar

Jim McDougall in Stefano's Cellar
Cellars of the Grand Hotel | Langtree Avenue, Mildura, Victoria 3502, Australia
+61 3 5022 0881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Mildura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $43 - $137
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Jim McDougall in Stefano's Cellar, formerly known as Stefano's Restaurant, has been a destination for food lovers for more than 20 years. With Jim McDougall as head chef, the restaurant has moved in a more modern direction, while remaining committed to local produce and creating a unique experience for the diner. Open for dinner Tuesday to Saturday, and lunch Friday to Saturday, Jim McDougall in Stefano's Cellar serves a seasonal tasting menu in the cellars of the historic Grand Hotel.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have dined at Stefanos once a year for 6 years and continue to enjoy the experience. The service was impeccable and friendly and made sure that the clients enjoyed their experience. The food was up-to-date cuisine, unusual flavours and ingredients, attractively presented and an enjoy to eat. Even though the Executive chef has changed, this restaurant has not lost any of its interest and appeal - it is well worthy of its hats. We would recommend this restaurant highly for any special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    40
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Still brill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our last visit to Stefano's was four or five years ago. We were astounded. We visited again last week and, yes, we were astounded. From initial greeting to final farewell, the service was impeccable and the food -- well, just go and try it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Wow, what can you say. The food, service and wine is 5 star. What a wonderful lifetime experience, if not a bit expensive

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went to Mildura specifically to go to Stefano's for the degustation and to taste local produce. We have been to many degustations before and I have to say that this has been the most disappointing. In saying that, the service was excellent as was the ambience.
Now, the food. We had the 8 course degustation and as we all know, it is to allow one to "taste" the courses. However, they were so small that if you didn't get the flavour in the first tiny mouthful you missed the opportunity! There were a few "extras" that we're given and one was "Wild Winter Herbs". These were foraged from the wild. All I can say is that they were weeds with a lemon juice dressing on them - not a lot of skill and maybe trying to be a bit arty.
All in all I thought it was quite overpriced for what you were served. Stefano is now looking after Mildura Brewery so maybe that would be a better option. It's a lovely Art Deco converted cinema.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A dining experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the 6 course Degustation menu with matched wine at our evening at Stefano's. It was an experience to remember as each course was a taste sensation like no other. Dare I say it ... it was a sensory experience to savour. The addition of the matched wines with an explanation of each course and the accompanying wine was really informative and added to the evening. I would thoroughly recommend that you 'do yourself a favour' and go there at least once.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim McDougall in Stefano's Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Jim McDougall in Stefano's Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim McDougall in Stefano's Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.