We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Mildura Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Mildura Grand to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Mildura Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seventh Street, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
AUD115 (AUD)
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Mildura
South Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I booked last minute as friends were staying here for a mutual wedding. On arrival, very clean, first impressions count. Free parking which was a plus. Well priced. Buffet breakfast included. Rooms very spacious. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    62
    51
    20
    11
See reviews for
23
73
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It seems they have a different idea to "Grand" than I do.

It also seems they have a different idea to what would constitute a 4-Star motel than I do.

Upon pulling up at the motel, I got the impression that this was an older building that may have had something magical done on the inside to warrant the word "Grand" in its title.

Reception was nice and the lovely young lady behind the counter was cheerful and welcoming.

Then it got frustrating: no onsite parking. They do offer you a voucher to park in the dimly-lit council carpark across the street that looks as though it either acts as a skate-park for angst-ridden teens, a hangout for the opioid addicted or even a convenient place to dump a stolen car. And it doubles as a carpark for the Motel.

My initial thoughts on the reception area was that indeed was a "Grand" establishment. It's tasteful with a touch of elegance.

Upon entering the lift and arriving at the 1st floor, I was greeted with hallways reminiscent of the older style pubs of yesteryear; ageing and forlorn looking at best. The doors to each room look period and again I was mistaken for thinking I'd booked into a pub for the night. I even started looking for signs to lead me to the communal bathroom and showers...

My room... It had all the things a motel room should have. Only problem being that this was, at best, a 3 star motel room. I've stayed in 3 star rooms that had a more cheerful feel about them. Dark, worn and generally unappealing is the best way to describe it.

The bed linen was clean though the bed itself would've been equally at home with the cirque de sole acrobatics team as a launching platform come trampoline...

The amenities were tired, the bathroom was dated & not particularly clean and the genuine 1980's telephone/alarm clock clashed with the wood-veneer 1990's motive that adorned the rest of the room.

Then there was the emptying of glass bottle filled bins from the hotel next door and banging of beer kegs at 0530 on a monday morning.

At least the air-conditioner kept its promise of keeping me nice and chilled on a 40 degree day up there.

I checked out the following morning with a sense of disappointment - again greeted by the cheerful young lady at reception. She was this establishments only saving grace.

And thankfully my car was not on fire when I collected it in the morning...

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed there for four nights and was given one of the internal rooms which had a view of a brick wall. Receptionist wasnt very helpful, she was stressed answering phone call and had another traveller behind me waiting to book in. Told her I wasn't impressed with crap room seeing as I'd booked for four nights but didnt get much sympathy. Everything else was great, breakfasts, restaurants, facilities and other staff, must have got the one dud in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has windows looking outwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We didn't stay here but dined here at the Spanish Bar & Grill. Had drinks first with some delicious warmed olives and smoked almonds. There were three of us and we enjoyed kangaroo and beef steaks and barramundi.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria AUST
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When in Mildura, we always stay here. I feel that it is time for some real money to be spent on this grand old Hotel. I agree with many of the other reviewers: tired bathrooms & showers, toilet not working properly, strange to have a bathroom with basin in the bedroom, outdated spas in room, breakfast dining room & food very limited and hasn't changed for many, many years. How about a smile from Reception! Having said that, it has that olde world feeling that very few other hotels have, especially for the price. The position allows easy walking distance to all main restaurants especially Stefanos, Spanish Bar, Province, Saturday market, the river and Chaffey House. It feels like home, so yes,we'll be going back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided on the 2 night package at the Mildura Grand Hotel in late August this year as we were keen to explore some of country Victoria and to dine at Jim McDougall's Restaurant [previously Stefano's] .
We encountered minimal enthusiasm/ interest from reception staff at check-in, with no information given about the accommodation package, just an envelope handed over. We had to ask about the included sparkling wine/ fruit platter and preserves jar.
The room was pleasant with an outlook towards the river, clean, refurbished not too long ago but the TV didn't work. Noise was not an issue on either Friday or Saturday night.
When the room was serviced on Saturday morning the sparkling wine bottle , cooler, fruit platter plate and used glasses were left in the room for the duration of our stay.
The included breakfast in the chandelier room was limited but reasonable. [typical 60's dining, no outside windows, bit claustrophobic for breakfast, but friendly staff]. It was a treat to taste some of Stefano's preserves.
Unfortunately on both mornings of our stay there was a sewage stench outside the dining room due- we found out on asking- to excavation works, not the hotel's fault but staff almost seemed to be oblivious to this and said nothing until asked when a sympathetic word to the guests would have been much appreciated .
On departure we found the encounter with reception staff no different to our arrival.
Sadly, would find it hard to stay at this hotel again.

John H.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed a night in the Grand Hotel before going on our Murray River Cruise. The setting is nice, and handy to town and river. Good facilities (pool, gym, bar, restaurant). However rooms a bit tired and were fairly noisy on street side.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Mildura Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Mildura Grand

Address: Seventh Street, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mildura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mildura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Mildura Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Mildura Grand is an historic landmark with a contemporary outlook. A cross-section of services and facilities have been designed to suit individual guests needs. There is an extensive range of accommodation from specialty suites to simpler, yet equally comfortable rooms. Located within Quality Hotel Mildura Grand are six varied dining outlets. These include the award winning restaurant, Stefano’s, Spanish Bar & Grill, Seasons, Pizza Café, the Mildura Brewery Pub and Stefano's Cafe Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Mildura Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mildura
Quality Inn Mildura
Grand Mildura
Quality Hotel Mildura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.