We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old pub old atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Mildura Grand

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Mildura Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Mildura Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seventh Street, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Mildura
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old pub old atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We were a little disappointed with the overall look of this accommodation. The rooms were clean but tired. Bed was good and linen was also very good. The dining room where breakfast was served, was like some old guest house from the mid-fifties. So staid, but the breakfast was adequate with lots to chose from.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    50
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
20
57
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We took a 3 night package with what was supposed to be a “superior view” room in room 36. We were very disappointed as while the room was opening out onto a balcony, the garden “view” was totally hidden behind a big pillar and high brickwork of the balcony. It consisted of 2 “rooms” – one was just an entrance and a place for a wardrobe and a long bench, a small table and 2 chairs and that led into a very small bedroom. The TV was up very high on the wall and not at all comfortable to watch while lying on the bed (the only place to watch it) – which we did a bit as the weather was cold and wet while we were there.
The bathroom was smartly refurbished but very small and narrow.
As it was a downstairs room, we had lots of feet and bathroom noises above us.
The bed was firm, pillows OK.
The staff were reasonable but didn’t go out of their way to be helpful.
After a day we found out that the rooms on the opposite side or the corridor which were a lot larger were actually cheaper as they had no “view”. Room 43 looked good through the open door.
The buffet breakfast which was included in the package was acceptable.
I wouldn't stay here again, but I would do a repeat to Seasons Restaurant - it was really good food.

Room Tip: Upstairs quieter but remember no lift Beware of the "superior view" rooms and check what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel Mildura Grand.
Our Hotel has numerous different room configurations, sizes, and price ranges which we believe contributes to its character and charm, so I apologise your expectations were not met on this occasion with regards to your room allocation.

I do hope with these matters aside, you enjoyed your overall experience and we can welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Kelly Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its historical significance and its proximity to the famous Stephano's Restaurant, which is in the basement. We liked it very much. Sure its been refurbished (albeit some time ago) with a bit of a clumsy touch, but there are traces of the past which still satisfy. The beautiful garden, the views from the balcony, the convenience to the very good eateries Mildura has to offer, all these are positives. In addition, a full buffet breakfast was included, making it good value.

The only negative was the gloominess of the room. We had a rear facing room (requested because of other Trip Advisor reviews complaining of noise in the front facing rooms). The room was comfortable and spacious, but it was dark during the day and the sitting area lacked mood lighting (like a lamp!). So it was either darkness or the full-on bright spots in the ceiling. The irony was that, at night, the external feature lighting was so bright that it seeped in through the curtains. (I prefer darkness when I'm sleeping and light when I'm awake!). Despite the lighting, I recommend this hotel. Staying here is not just a place to sleep, it's an experience to be remembered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the Grand whilst in the area for work. Had a twin room which was spacious, clean and had good light. Shops and restaurants are with walking range and parking is provided.
A very lovely and comfortable place to stay and will stay again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the refurbished area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel Mildura Grand.
I am very pleased to read your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Kelly Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Mildura is the archetypical country hotel. Grand appearance - grand entrance - grand staircase. Very grand dining room for breakfast.
It is in the perfect location in Mildura as you can walk to all tourist attractions and shops, clubs etc.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

However the plumbing is not good. The showers were really difficult to adjust.

Ask for a bigger room but do this early as the hotel is very popular.

Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at the Grand.
I am pleased to read that you appreciate the historical charm of the Hotel and service our staff provide that we pride ourselves on . I hope we can welcome you back again soon .


Warm regards,
Kelly Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed here twice before and the refurbished rooms are nice. I suggest to stay away from the 'old wing'. The light in the shower not working. Called reception. They advised someone will be over shortly to fix. No-one ever arrived, so jumped into dull shower, with no lighting, then realize that the soap from last guest is still in there. With no lighting, I'm sure it would be difficult to clean properly. I very highly doubt it was even cleaned at all. Pity I didn't bring thongs for the shower as felt that grotty. Will stay again so long as the refurbished rooms available. If not, give it a miss. The restaurants here are fantastic. The food and service in F&B brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel.
I am extremely sorry that you experienced issues on this occasion.
The matter will be discussed further with my team to ensure this isolated incident never occurs again. Thank you for your ongoing patronage.
Warm regards,

Kelly Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The welcome was what you expect from country hospitality. Warm and friendly. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom with spa was almost as large as the main room, so it was a great place to relax.

The gardens are really a nice place to spend an afternoon with a glass of wine with the historic fountain in the background.

There are four good restaurants within the hotel complex including Sefano's Restaurant in the cellar.

The only small negative was the noise from people in the room above walking around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Mildura Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Mildura Grand

Address: Seventh Street, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mildura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Mildura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Mildura Grand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Mildura Grand is an historic landmark with a contemporary outlook. A cross-section of services and facilities have been designed to suit individual guests needs. There is an extensive range of accommodation from specialty suites to simpler, yet equally comfortable rooms. Located within Quality Hotel Mildura Grand are six varied dining outlets. These include the award winning restaurant, Stefano’s, Spanish Bar & Grill, Seasons, Pizza Café, the Mildura Brewery Pub and Stefano's Cafe Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Mildura Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mildura
Quality Inn Mildura
Grand Mildura
Quality Hotel Mildura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.