We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room shame about the rest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Mildura Grand

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Mildura Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Mildura Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seventh Street, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Mildura
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice room shame about the rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Another hotel that was built as a coffee shop by the temperance movement.
The check in was flawless and the room though a little small is well appointed and comfortable, the breakfast (included) was good fresh and tasty.
The compliments stop there though.
Parking across the road and a 40mtr walk back to reception (no side entrance), the sauna did not work, the spa had so much chlorine we could not stay more than 3 minutes, the heated pool was cold. Add to this the compressor from the brewery (owned and operated by the hotel) ran all night causing an interrupted sleep. These seemingly small things (individually) added, to leave a bad impression of the facilities offered and we will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Be specific and ask for a room away from the compressors. Also when booking if you think you may wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you found the service provided to a high standard, and you enjoyed the buffet breakfast we offer apart of our room rates.

I apologise that the Sauna & Spa facilities were not fully operational during your visit, but pleased to advise that mainenance of these items has been completed and we have just installed a new Sauna to compliment our recently refurbished Gymnasium in that area.

I do hope we are given the oppurtunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Kelly Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    50
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
20
57
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a lovely stay over Easter in a superior one bedroom with balcony. This is an old style hotel with a lot of old world charm. Very comfortable and well located. We thought the service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff always had a smile which is very important.

Room Tip: Get a superior room with Balcony overlooking the garden. This will give you extra space and nice sem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jon A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us over the Easter break.

We pride ourselves on service and facilities respectively, so it is very pleasing to read that you had such an enjoyable experience and appreciate the old world charm and facilities our beautiful Heritage Hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Kelly Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on recommendation from a friend and proximity to town. Good deals on wotif at short notice.

The real draw card of this place is the fact that Stefano's restaurant (2 hat in the Age Good Food Guide) is on the premises. Unfortunately, the hotel itself is old and worn.

Check in was fine, friendly staff. Free parking is not in a secure carpark, just out in an open parking lot, which concerned me.

The hotel interior is old and run down - carpet clearly worn, paint needs work. My room was also in a state of disrepair. The iron barely worked, and stained my shirt. The window lock was broken. Directly outside the window was a large airconditioning vent/duct that ran and made a loud noise all night. The shower took literally 5 minutes to get hot, and then it was almost impossible to control the water temperature. It was either too hot or too cold.

Overall i was very disappointed, and i will not be staying again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

have stayed at this motel several times over the past few years and this time was one of the legs of a bike tour through VIC, SA & NSW - Well priced and consistent service are the high points I believe for this place. Walking distance of just about everything in Mildura - Great facilities - Good clean and well serviced rooms - Dining room puts on a great breakfast

Room Tip: All fairly good - I prefer the rooms out closer to the swimming pool but no real preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Tom B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experiences with us at the Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stays with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Kelly WIlliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were in Mildura for a business function. After a quick visit to the Grand last year we vowed to return and stay this time- as it turned out the biz function was at the Grand this year.! we booked 3 nights.
I was keen to stay close to the pool and garden wing and we were not disappointed . This is an old establishment with character. Kind of reminds me of on an old cruise liner with corridors linking up. It has its creaky floors, dark corners and odd rooms. Yes you have to be wary of some rooms that may overlook a void area - most of these rooms are in the Carazza wing, I would recommend The Front wing, Langtree or Garden wings. Overall the rooms are well appointed but differ so you get what you pay for.. this is a popular hotel for weekender and school breaks so rates vary. Our rate included a full buffet breakfast in the diinig room, good service (thanks Colleen!). There are restaurant s - Stefanos, Seasons/Spanish Grill (not Spanish)..see reviews.
We will be back!

Room Tip: read review..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed one night at the Grand as I was in Mildura for Business.

I was really looking forward to staying here as I love old world charm. Unfortunately my stay was a disapointment.
Beware of room 25. It must be their worst room. Frosted glass windows that protect you from a view of airconditioners. The room was hot and the aircon was very noisy on one fan. There was constant noise from outside my window all night from a leaking aircon pipe and a motor ? generator or noising aircon unit.
Bathroom had several hairs on the sink and bench not wiped from previous guest.
I was prepared to suck all this up as Im not a complainer but then I took a shower ar 8am and it was COLD...Yes a cold shower.

I gave this feedback to reception who reduced my room rate.

My work mate stayed at the hotel on the other side - room 31.She had no view but had not noise , clean bathroom and importantly a hot shower.

Breakfast - cereals , fruits and hot food were lovely. Croissants looked like they have come from a packet.

The Grand needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room. Avoid room 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Mildura Grand.
I am disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience on this occasion , and for this I apologies and wish we had been given the oppurtunity to resolve the issues you had at the time .
I do hope we are able to welcome you back again to the Hotel to experience the high level of service and facilities we pride ourselves on .

Kind regards,

Kelly Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caloundra
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having not visited Mildura ( as a band member) since 1965,I was amazed at the size & beauty of the area(parks,river etc) & the number of beautiful restaurants all within easy walking distance..The Grand is an institution..lots of old photos on the walls in the welcome area..& is well maintained .We had a big, airy room( with a very comfortable bed) that opened out onto a rose garden,a really good breakfast buffet & very friendly staff....The famous Stefano's Restaurant is just around the corner,as is a Brewery Bistro & a delightful bakery..a well stocked bottle shop is next door.The Murray River with it's many attractions is just across the road..
The Grand really is a grand place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor looking out at rose garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Mildura Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Mildura Grand

Address: Seventh Street, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mildura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Mildura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Mildura Grand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Mildura Grand is an historic landmark with a contemporary outlook. A cross-section of services and facilities have been designed to suit individual guests needs. There is an extensive range of accommodation from specialty suites to simpler, yet equally comfortable rooms. Located within Quality Hotel Mildura Grand are six varied dining outlets. These include the award winning restaurant, Stefano’s, Spanish Bar & Grill, Seasons, Pizza Café, the Mildura Brewery Pub and Stefano's Cafe Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Mildura Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mildura
Quality Inn Mildura
Grand Mildura
Quality Hotel Mildura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.