We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service and big room but some annoyances” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   244 Deakin Avenue, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Mildura
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice service and big room but some annoyances”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here several nights and had a good time overall. There are a number of small things the owners could do to really improve the stay, given the price. The free breakfast was ok but a few tiny things would make a big difference - like a choice of wholemeal vs white bread would be appreciated and couldn't cost much. The internet arrangement was really annoying - you get 2 free hours, but you need to call reception to get a new password for each hour, and only 1 device can be connected. We stayed several nights and had to call them so many times, it was just irritating. Not much good for business travellers who need to keep in touch. We stayed elsewhere in Mildura afterwards and got unlimited wifi - it was great. And much cheaper. Also it was 40C when we were there, but the pool wasn't clean so we didn't want to swim.

Small things really but make a big difference. The good things were great - the room was large and clean, the service was very friendly and helpful. And those are very important things!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
16
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I spent an overnight stay while travelling from Geelong to Broken Hill. The greeting at reception was polite and cordial and we were upgraded without asking which further made our stay enjoyable. The room was spacious clean and very well appointed with modern fittings in the bathroom and a ceramic tile floor in the main living area which was a great idea as carpets often do not get cleaned regularly in motels. To sum up we will definitely stay here again when passing through Mildura.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
1,144 reviews 1,144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
929 helpful votes 929 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is one of several motels located on Deakin Avenue- the main highway running through Mildura.

Mildura lends itself as the place to spend a night while in transit, although there are several attractions which are drawcards for a longer stay in the region.

As a Best Western member property, the Chaffey International offers all the hallmarks associated with the brand: clean, comfortable, straightforward accommodation, with all of the essential facilities for the weary traveler or road warrior.

The rooms are set back from the main highway, so it's quiet and peaceful.

I found the staff to be friendly and hospitable.

The location is a short drive from the Mildura CBD- probably just a bit far to walk, unless you're feeling energetic!

My room had a spa- this was located in the bedroom. I should note that the room had a tiled floor- possibly due to the spa installation- which lent a utilitarian appearance and feel to the room. However, it should be said that the room was quite spacious, and with adequate natural light.

The bathroom was a reasonable size, and it was clean and airy. For toiletries, they offer dispensers- this is a reflection of the "value-for-money" nature of the property.

Prior to writing this review, I have read some of the recent negative reviews.

From my perspective, I found this to be a straightforward motel, with no surprises, and offering accommodation at a reasonable room rate. If you are looking for this kind of accommodation, the Chaffey International appears to fit the bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john5113, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback, your comments are really appreciated.

Kind Regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this very poorly managed motel after this accommodation was revealed as being our Wotif Mystery location. We expected that we would be safe as it had a four star rating. This was most definitely not a four star property three stars at most. Very very disappointed when we were offered a room move after terrible smoking smells were coming in our room under the door entering our room hours after we phoned reception to complain. Our complaint was not acknowledged until it was too late. At 10.30pm we decided to go home. I wrote a letter expressing my concerns and this too was ignored. Do not stay at this hotel.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here just for the one night and thought it was lovely. Beautiful spacious room, queen bed, TV with foxtel, nice warm heater and close to many restaurants or takeout places. We would definitely stay here again if the price was right. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I only stayed one night and booked at last minute and found the rooms to be large and clean with ample onsite parking. Close to the centre of town via car and a the restaurant attached has superb food although was a little pricey. The convenience of the restaurant though made up for it though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed one night in a "Chaffley Corporate" room I booked on lastminute

The room was mostly good for the price. It was clean and tidy and comfortable and had the usual features. Bed was very firm but comfortable enough. Some Foxtel channels were available, mostly sport though, and they did offer free WiFi.

Staff were friendly and polite.

Negatives were few:
They had cheap low-quality instant coffee (International roast) which was disappointing, and no hot chocolate.
Large gap under the door meant I could hear ever person who walked past
Air conditioner was a bit old and run down and noisy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn

Address: 244 Deakin Avenue, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mildura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Mildura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel is situated within a five minute walk to the Mildura Information Center and Wave Pools.Ideally suited for Corporate or Leisure travel with 2 hour free wifi available along with a award winning on restaurant which is open Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mildura
Mildura Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Chaffey International Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.