We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and Didn't care” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Esplanade Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 The Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude and Didn't care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We were robbed. We only left the room for 10 mins and were conveniently robbed. Tony ---- didn't care and neither did the staff. Police called. Terrible place, I believe it was far to convenient to get robbed. Staff were also rude.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    97
    66
    28
    8
See reviews for
67
107
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Australia
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here for a friends hens night in Nov 2012, we booked 3 rooms and 1 of those was the penthouse suite, which the bride to be and bridesmaids stayed in. They left the room for approx 10 mins to return to find that it had been broken into and the hens handbag with all belongs (money, iPhone etc.) was taken along with a Nikon camera and also all the alcohol which everyone had put in for to drink for the party night, which was a total of approx $4,000.00
And I am absolutely disgusted to advise that nothing was compensated/replaced/or claimed within the hotels insurance. The staff were useless in regards to this horrid matter and especially disgusted in management at this hotel. I believe we all pay insurance for a reason and is very sad when you are paying top dollar to stay in a 4.5 star resort that they did not do anything to help out towards to $4,000.00 + stolen items. And no security cameras at all in lifts/stair cases which would have helped find out who was responsible for stealing the items in the penthouse suite that we were paying top dollar to stay in!
I would not recommend to stay here as it is note safe! And is very poorly managed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for seven days with two friends in a two bedroom deluxe apartment very roomy big balcomy great views fantastic pools and spa a bit pricey but certainly recommend to anyone thinking of staying there

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family of four stayed two nights in a two-bedroom apartment just into the New Year. This is prime holiday time and the resort was jam packed. Our apartment was on the first floor and faced the lakes, but at this height we saw more of the car park than anything. The apartment was large, with two bedrooms coming off the living/dining area. There was a fully stocked kitchen and two good sized bathrooms. There was also a fantastic amount of storage, so if you were staying longer there were heaps of options for your luggage. The washer/dryer combo in one of the bathrooms would also be very handy.

Our apartment was showing signs of high usage, such as many stains on the carpets and marks on the walls. But overall it was comfortable and well maintained. The ensuite had a bath and a separate shower. There was also a small balcony with a table and chairs.

The resort pools were very busy as it was hot when we visited. It was hard to get a place to sit, let alone space to swim. The indoor pool seemed excessively chlorinated, probably to cope with the high number of guests. The outdoor pool was much better, not as hot or as stinging on the eyes.

Car parking at the resort is on a first come, first served basis. As there were no designated spots it was sometimes hard to find a park. Some of the bays are also very tight. We had a car load of luggage to get to our room upon arrival. There is one luggage trolley, but it is hard to get your hands on it, so be prepared to lug everything to your room by hand. There are only two lifts for the whole resort and they are pretty slow and small.

Overall we had an okay stay. If visiting during summer school holidays, be prepared to feel crowded. I probably would have given a higher score if we stayed outside of the peak holiday season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 256 cities Reviews in 256 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located at the south end of the Esplanade and at the south end of Lakes Entrance, the hotel has an enviable position with water on 3 sides. We paid $189 per night. We booked for 1 night and stayed for 2.

We had to wait until 14.00 to check in, as the hotel was very busy. Check in was fast, efficient and friendly. There is private underground parking. Access to all areas by swipe key - good security.

Room 303A - a huge 1 bed apartment with lovely water views to both sides and the sunset from our balcony. The lounge/kitchen area was very large, with high quality furniture and kitchen appliances. The washer/dryer was handy. Large flat tv and good aircon. The units are 8 years old, but showed very little signs of wear and tear. Well maintained. Lovely big bathroom and shower. Large bedroom with king bed and another tv. We could not fault the apartment in any way - really spacious and modern. Nice balcony with good views. All very clean and tidy.

Indoor and outdoor pools. Not really enough space for many to sunbathe and it could get a bit noisy with children. Those pesky kids always seem to want to enjoy themselves - pah!! We did not try the restaurant, but it always looked quite busy.

Plenty of nice walks along the shore to the front and rear of the hotel. Lots of restaurants a few minutes stroll away. The centre of town and a large supermarket are nearby. 90 mile beach starts here, so lots of beach around.

We did have a problem - the washing machine leaked onto the floor on 2 days running. We had to frantically mop it up with towels. We reported it on day one, someone came and had a look and we assumed they had fixed it. When it occurred again on day 2, and this time soaked the carpet, we raised it more strongly, as it would do damage. There was water everywhere. Carpet had to be replaced. A discount for the inconvenience would have been nice, but was never offered a bit poor that.

Also the internet was expensive.
$5.95 for 1/2 hour
$9.95 for 1 hour
$19.95 per day.

This was the first hotel in the previous 5 in a week we had stayed in Aus that charged for internet at all and at high rates. Free internet is becoming the norm now around the world and this place is behind on this. Just charge everyone a few cents a day extra to cover the cost. You can easily walk along the road to McDonalds and get it for free!!!

Would have given here 5 stars if not for the water leak and expensive internet.

Room Tip: Choose a 1 bed apartment, they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived early Christmas Day having booked last minute, just 4 days prior, due to having to postpone our Fiji holiday because of the cyclone. We booked a one bedroom apartment which had a fully equiped kitchen and two tvs, a CD player and DVD player. It was on the first floor, the last one left, so we didn't get a choice of views, which we would have liked - a view of the lakes, it was a view of the swimming pool and road, 108A.
Can't complain about the apartment, though. Not huge but a separate bedroom, ensuite and lounge with kitchenette with big floor to ceiling window in lounge and a balcony. If the weather had been warmer I could comment about the pool of which there are two, one indoor and one outdoor, close to each other. The restaurant had one wall overlooking the pool which seemed awkward but, as I said, we didn't actually use the pools.
The resort is situated at the beginning of the esplanade, so its a 500m walk to the start of the shops. If walking is an issue, you can drive up and park at the marina which has many parking bays along the strip. Value for money, I think so, but would definitely ask for a 4th floor apartment overlooking the lakes, next time.

Room Tip: Choose a 4th floor apartment with a view of the lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came at the busy season, and every place else was packed out. We knew we would have been overcharged anywhere we stayed, but this place really had price gouging down to an art.

Basically, we were in a college dorm room - cheapie mattress, no table, view of neighbour's balcony. The walls were so thin we could hear the neighbour's kids talking (not screaming - talking) and make out what they were saying. It was more sterile than clean - the chlorine from the glass enclosed swimming pool was so strong that we could smell it from the street.

None of this would have bothered us if the price had been more reasonable, but this hotel, like everything in Lakes Entrance was so overpriced that it was hard to forgive the many shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Resort & Spa

Address: 1 The Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esplanade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Waterfront Resort And Spa
Esplanade Waterfront Hotel Lakes Entrance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.