We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waverley House Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waverley House Cottages to your Saves list
Waverley House Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   205 Palmers Road, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Numurkah, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We are currently on the last leg of our honeymoon, arrived at the Fish Pen cottage yesterday, by the afternoon had decided we would extend our stay an extra day. Waverley Cottages are beautiful well appointed little home away from home. Cant wait to light the candles and sink into the spa tonight, everything you need is here ...We will be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Always special to host a couple who have made their special commitment to each other - we wish you all the best things in life together. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited Lakes Entrance stayed at the Waverly Cottages in a bid to have a relaxing break from Melbourne and were not disappointed. We booked the Fishpen cottage and found it to be beautifully decorated, cozy and clean. We loved the spa and the beautiful grounds the cottages were situated on. It was so nice, quiet and cosy we would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed Fishpen Cottage and went home relaxed - thank you for taking the time to review our property and we do look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay, in the bass cottage. The place was spotless, well equipped and spacious. The setting was perfect. A couple of km out of lakes entrance centre, in a peaceful wooded setting. The pool was lovely and warm and the two BBQ areas are great, complete with outdoor furniture and fridge to keep food and beers cool. All in all a wonderful stay. The only negatives are the windows could do with cleaning and the advertised bass straight view, is a slight exaggeration, as it is obscured by the trees in the distance. Would use again and would recommend to anyone, whom wishes a change from the run of the mill hotel chains in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay - Bass Cottage, so named becauses it faces Bass Strait, visible through the golf course trees, faces south so as you point out, salt spray on the windows is a constant challenge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here in Cunningham Cottage for three nights in Feb 2013. It was excellent. The cottage is immaculate, spacious and very well appointed. There are six cottages on the site which is situated about five minutes by car outside the town on a hill in a very quiet area. We met Jan, the owner who was very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast provisions were very good.I would thoroughly recommend staying here. Although there is no wifi in the cottages, we used the library in Mechanic St. It's free (just need some form of ID) and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you to our lovely international guests for taking the time to review our cottage - we hope the rest of your holiday in Australia was wonderful and you will return to our shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a wonderful stay on our honeymoon! Just LOVED it so nice, quiet and relaxing!

Our cottage looked stunning when we arrived.

I'm not one for sleeping in strange beds but this was an exception comfiest bed EVER!
we really enjoyed ourselves and thankyou once again, our stay was by far to short, we will be back soon and you really did go above and beyond to think of everything!

Couldn't be happier!! :) <3 xxx

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you! We value all our guests and always try to meet their needs...but sometimes guests like this couple are really fun to do the extra details for, because they too, are really appreciative.
If we could write a review on guests we would highly rate you too and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount gambier
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in a cottage that we had booked for nearly twelve months. The first night I raised concerns with the owner/host that there was a knocking noise rendering sleep impossible. Attempts were made to fix it, whilst the frequency of the noise was reduced it remained intermittently. My husband then raised the problem the following day only to be told that nothing could be done because "all the plumbers are on holiday", the noise was worse the second night. To say there are sea views is a stretch and the race track road that the cottage backs on to contradicts the advertised "peaceful setting". At $250 a night for hardly any sleep we feel extremely ripped off.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Customer satisfaction will always be a priority and it is true when alerted at 11.30pm our guests had this issue we did attempt to hear the knocking noise reported - not easy in very windy conditions. However eventually we did, secured a cable and felt all was well at 1am. We checked and again heard a noise the next morning and wondered if it it could be a plumbing issue as lots of water had been used washing, spa etc. Being New Year we did indeed warn the guest getting a tradesperson immediately might be difficult.It was attended to and nothing further was said to us re a problem the second night by guests on departure so this review comes as a surprise to us. We stand by all other features of our cottages but do acknowledge when at Christmas/New Year the town population trebles, traffic on our roads increase and could be an issue with light sleepers (the previous review is of a cottage next to this one and expresses a different opinion)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a perfect getaway in this beautiful, serene accommodation. We stayed in the Cunninghame cottage for our family of 4 (2 adults + 2 young kids). The place is clean, tidy and well equipped with all the necessity for a family. The kids enjoyed the spa in the cottage and the warm pool.
the cottage is spacious and beds are comfortable. the older reviews about stained waters is not true as the water is clean and clear when we were there.
location is great, short drive to the main beach and yet secluded in its own area. we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
During the busy Christmas season, it is lovely to one of our guests has taken the time to review us - thank you so much and we certainly welcome you and the children back soon. Oh and the photos are nice too. I like the one with our Christmas bow on the front door, have never remembered to photograph the cottages "dressed for Christmas!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waverley House Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley House Cottages

Address: 205 Palmers Road, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waverley House Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six 1 and 2 bedroom private and unique FSC cottages. Quiet and private location and only 2 minutes drive to town centre and the famous Ninety Mile Beach and Gippsland Lakes. Tastefully furnished and set in landscaped native gardens overlooking Lakes Entrance and located next to Lakes View Golf Course. Cottage features include - Woodfires, Spas, queen/ king/ king single beds, reverse cycle air conditioning and outside – generous verandahs and covered carports. All boast well appointed kitchen and laundry and spacious rooms. A continental breakfast basket for the first morning is included in the tariff. Relax and enjoy our solar heated Pool, Covered BBQs or the Hydrotherapy spa with its open fire and plasma TV. Perfect Gippsland location for short breaks, romantic escapes and longer stays with family and friends. Lakes Entrance – an ideal base to explore East Gippsland’s National Parks, cruise, sail or fish the lakes, ocean and rivers. Enjoy Gippsland’s abundant natural and fresh attractions. Your Hosts, Rob & Jan Davis look forward to making your stay an Inspiring one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waverley House Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waverley House Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.