We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardara House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geelong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardara House B & B
Save
You added Ardara House B & B to your Saves list
4 Aberdeen Street, Geelong, Victoria 3218, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Geelong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port vila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house and lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at Ardara House this week as a last minute type of stay after an afternoon of bird watching. Although I was a bit loose with my communication (sorry, Maureen), Maureen was very friendly and "no fuss", when we arrived kind of late and without confirming first. Our room was beautiful, with fit out in full period style, with lovely taste. The tidiness and cleanliness was enviable-I wish my house was half as clean! The bed was very comfortable and the linen excellent quality. In the morning, Maureen prepared us a simple but wholesome breakfast, with delicious fruit and yoghurt, cereal and toast. A wonderful, private experience and located close to the beautiful Geelong waterfront. Thanks so much, we would highly recommend Ardara House and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ardara house is a great place to stay. Maureen and Owen are lovely hosts. They provide a wonderful welcome that makes you feel that you are in your own home. Maureen and Owen provide a lovely irish touch of hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Thank you so much Owen and Maureen for you magnificent hospitality. The house was beautiful and we felt so much at home that we will be back. The house was in a great location and walking distance to all that we were after. The night market that you told us about was great. We both really enjoyed chatting to you and hearing about the stories of your life family and extended family with the Geelong footy boys. Breakfast was fantastic. Highly recommended.
Thanks Andrew and Jacky

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Amazing BnB and lovely hosts- Maureen and Owen, very nice place and warm hospitality and have a great feel of being at home. Place is clean and nice. And it is near the City Centre and Pakington shopping precinct... Will not hesitate coming back here again and recommend it to people...

Justina Wong

Room Tip: Get the double room.. Very nice and homely feel.. Spacious and with ensuites..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at Ardara House recently for a weekend and found it an ideal place to stay, We wished to see the sights of Geelong and everything was within a short drive. The hosts Owen and Maureen are very friendly, give advice on things to see, and provided a lovely breakfast with freshly prepared fruit. Bedroom was comfortable and quiet - parking at the rear.

J&P H

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

If you like nostalgia and heritage, this is the place for you. Beautiful accommodation, very roomy, extremely comfortable, close to the great waterfront walk, and fantastic hosts. Our breakfast was delicious. We would love to stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Ardara House B&B for two nights and had a great time, Maureen and Owen are lovely hosts. We had a room with a large bed, a small fridge and an en suite bathroom. The B&B is located in a quiet area that is also very central to Geelong attractions. If you're looking for a healthy breakfast (fruit, cereal and toast) and good Irish company, this is the place to stay. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ardara House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardara House B & B

Address: 4 Aberdeen Street, Geelong, Victoria 3218, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardara House built in the Edwardian period as a large family home is just minutes to Geelong Waterfront, Botanical Gardens, Deakin Waterfront Campus and many of Geelong's finest restaurants. Our family run business offers a warm irish welcome with ample guest rooms with all facilities. Ardara House is l5 mins from Avalon Airport and has off street parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardara House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.