We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parisien

Le Parisien
15 Eastern Beach Rd, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
(03) 5229 3110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 355 Restaurants in Geelong
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistantly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The only place in Geelong to take business collegues if you want consistantly good food and service. Have never found the waiting staff rude or unhelpful and am surprised by some of the reviews I have read. Have to wonder about the source. Perhaps it can be a little bit pricey at times, but after dining at restaurants in Melb and overseas it compares more than favourably. Steaks are always great and more importantly cooked properly, and the wine list exceptional. Seafood platters to die for. Have been a regular customer for over 20 years and will always keep goin back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    19
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine Classic French Food.."Bon Appetit"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Gorgeous views and atmosphere, beautiful classy timber interiors and white linen. It's not often that you go to fine dining restaurants where the food takes up the plate! We are frequent eaters here and always seem to back go because we know the food is great and consistent. Yes it's more expensive than a cafe but you get what you pay for. Service is attentive without interrupting conversations and your time. Will definitely be back.. again. Can't go past the garlic & chilli prawns, followed by a classic and especially succulent pepper steak (from a rural background I know a good steak when I see and eat one!) topped off with a chocolate souffle and beautiful wines. Would advise you wear streatchy pants! Great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pathetic service from the manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Terrible service. Arrogant manager who failed to 1) seat us 2) apologise 3) offer alternative to te complaint. Absolutely pathetic.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tired Old Duck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Le Parisienne for lunch 3 August, 2012.
Ordered
LE CONFIT DE CANARD
Duck leg confit, mash, French peas with a duck
jus and Cointreau
42.90
& was very disappointed with the dried, tasteless duck. Quelle horreur!
When I complained to the waitress and asked her to convey my dissatisfaction to the chef there was no feedback. The ?owner/maitre did not bother to speak with us, despite his presence in the restaurant talking to other customers.
The restaurant is very overpriced and obviously benefits from it's monopoly in Geelong.
The decor is tired and I object to being seated at a squashy table at the side of the restaurant when there are only 16 other diners.
We were asked if we wanted to "order" some breads which we declined on arrival.
$5 for a 150ml soft drink and $11.50 for a Stella is way up there. This is not Vue and I would recommend to keep on driving and go to Melbourne for a much better dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrendous!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The evening began with a very cold welcome from a waitress clearly needing to get home! Entree was going well, till the equally rude waiter wandered over and took our snails...before we finished!! The duck main looked great, the crepe not so much. The duck was tough and incredibly salty...disgusting!! The crepe tasted like home made pie..a bad one!! Overall, apart from the overpriced very poor food and terrible service....

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Parisien also viewed

Geelong, Victoria
Geelong, Victoria
 

Been to Le Parisien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Parisien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.