We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner was friedly and kind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkwood Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Parkwood Motel to your Saves list
Parkwood Motel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gps: 8 Lily Street North Geelong | Cnr of Ballarat Rd & Shannon Ave Hamlyn Heights, Geelong, Victoria 3215, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Late Checkout 11am
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The owner was friedly and kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The lady who seems to be an owner was very kind and the room was very clean. And fresh smell from the linens, which was very delightful

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The owners who greeted us when we got here were so lovely and hospitable. We were newly weds and they upgraded us to the "house" which was so comfortable and specious at no extra cost. We came with our families and the stay was a very pleasant one.. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen had all the necessary things to cook a nice meal.. We will definitely come stay here next time. Thank you and hope the owners enjoyed the cake:)

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This motel has just been taken over by new owners, who were lovely people, very friendly and helpful , and keen to make a go of their new business. The motel was clean and comfortable with average sized rooms. We stayed two nights. Some people have said it was noisy, but we didn't fid it so, although it is situated on a busy junction just north of the centre of Geelong which isn't quite within walking distance. We stayed in quite a few chain/franchise motels on our Australia trip. This one was one of the memorable ones for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Katri... L, Manager at Parkwood Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thankyou for your lovely response, we will continue to provide the best for our customers at Parkwood Motel . We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a quick stopover at this motel before starting the Great Ocean Road. We thought it was a very average experience. The room was clean, the receptionist not very friendly, the bed okay and the heating noisy but sufficient.

Not bad for a quick stopover, but definitely not that good either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Katri... L, Manager at Parkwood Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thankyou for your honesty. We have addressed the air conditioning and have replaced the unit in question. Our aim is too please and apologize that you felt your welcome at the front desk was not as friendly as it should have been. We would like to offer you a discount on your next stay with a free continental breakfast for two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Yes, this motel is a bit dated. But it was clean and had FREE WIFI. We only needed it for one night but could have stayed for a few.
Seems the new owners are a family of at least three and were friendly and helpful.
I enjoyed all the flowers in the yard.

Room Tip: Don't let the outside appearance fool you. The rooms are quite nice inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParkwoodMotel, Manager at Parkwood Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thankyou, we are look forward to continue offering excellent service to our valued customers.
Your review is most welcome. thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived in the hotel for the funeral. Most of the family from all over Australia stayed in this motel . Nice room and clean yet very very noisy. as its located in the middle of busy intersection. The heating was not working when we arrived and as it was after hours there was no chance to report the problem. The next day went to reception to advise that the heating was not working, the lady did not believed me and came to double check if not working. I had my family members in bed … a bit weird to have strangers coming to your room just to check the heating as they don’t believe you. As a worker of many years in the same industry this has been very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Katri... L, Manager at Parkwood Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
As new managers from the 23 October 2013 we would like to offer you a discount and a free continental breakfast on your next stay at the Parkwood Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and although it's beside a highway you don't hear any noise. We had a very cosy double room which was very clean. The owners were fantastic, we left some important paperwork behind (getting forgetful - lol) and the cleaning staff (thank you) handed it into the owners, who promptly rang us on the mobile however by this time we were too far away to return. I asked if they could post the paperwork to us which they did and we received it in the mail 3 days later. So a very BIG thank you to the owners for posting it to us. We will definitely be staying here next time we visit Geelong.

Room Tip: A great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Motel

Address: Gps: 8 Lily Street North Geelong | Cnr of Ballarat Rd & Shannon Ave Hamlyn Heights, Geelong, Victoria 3215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkwood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Motel is spacious - Parkwood motel offers you privacy -and soon a retreat feel, a home away from home.Fully serviced rooms, apartments & house each day of your stay. Our large rooms are clean comfortable.Our spacious grounds are a true centrepiece and offering a restful stop to relax by the salt/chlorinated outdoor swimming pool. We have FREE Cable UNLIMITED Wi-Fi, FREE Foxtel, FREE BBQ & FREE laundry. A small collection of books for you choose. Easy to find - we are located straight off the ring road. A easy drive of 2 minutes from Geelong Waterfront & City. We are only an hour to Ballarat, Lorne & Melbourne. The added convenience of being close to many different cuisines of take away or restaurants from Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Fish & chips, Balinese, Supermarkets, Hotels, plus services such as Chemists, Doctors and Service station. A great place to stay for awhile before you start out on your tour of The Great Ocean Road. Twenty km from Avalon Airport. We can are able to provide all tourism information at the front reception. We can arrange shuttles to Avalon 20 minute drive or to Tullarmine Airport that is one hour. We have lots of parking available - great for car clubs, boats and group bookings. Come stay and relax and we promise to look after you at the Parkwood Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Parkwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.