We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Geelong

Save Saved
You added Quest Geelong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quest Geelong
16_18 The Esplanade South, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Better than I thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night (1/03/14) and were quite impressed with the room, clean and not dated or 'tired ' looking.The bed was comfortable and the kitchenette was more than adequate for an over night stay. Staff were friendly and efficient. Location is in a quiet street, one street back from eastern beach, so a short walk to a lovely view of the sea. Rates were very reasonable and there is free off street parking. Would certainly recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Quest Geelong, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We stayed here for 1 night (1/03/14) and were quite impressed with the room, clean and not dated or 'tired ' looking.The bed was comfortable and the kitchenette was more than adequate for an over night stay. Staff were friendly and efficient. Location is in a quiet street, one street back from eastern beach, so a short walk to a lovely view of the sea. Rates were very reasonable and there is free off street parking. Would certainly recommend and would stay there again.

Hi Esther,
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Cleanliness of our apartments is the up most important thing to us, followed very closely by customer service.
I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and recommending us. We do take a lot of pride in what we do and hearing your review is fantastic.

Kind regards,
Shirley Dodds
Franchise Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
8
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is hidden from direct view of the sea but is walking distance to the side of the sea that connects to the eastern beach, cunningham pier, steampacket garden, etc. The room is well furnished with a kitchen and comfortable. Parking is ample and free. Only thing is our next door tenant made some noise well into the night. We were adjoining to another room, but our door was locked anyway. Other than that, it is good location and good service. We were also near Torquay where we went there for lunch. We will definitely come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were very impressed with the rooms, they had been refurbished. The king split bed was awesome, so comfortable. The bathroom was large and bright with great big soft towels. The window also opened. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our questions. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the hotel which was a lot quieter that the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spotless rooms with no signs off wear, excellent facilities and plenty of room were standouts at this centrally located hotel. Good location for anyone working in the CBD or the Hospital. Free off street parking and excellent prices available online.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

For Christmas night and Boxing Day the 2-bedroom apartment was fantastic value for a group of 5 people. The apartment was clean and reasonably spacious but we would have liked an extra bathroom - I only noticed after we'd left that is was possible to have this option. Unfortunately we weren't advised of this when booking. Short walk to the paths along Corio Bay, and to the centre of Geelong.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I finished my business trip I Geelong for a couple nights and got better service here than any 5star place I've been to lately. New looking rooms were great and a guy Paul checked me in who was very nice and genuine. Well worth staying here if your going to Geelong. Short walk to stroll along the bay too which was nice. Felt very comfortable and at ease with around all the staff. I was impressed with this place and will make it my only stop for future feeling visits...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It's hard to fault this place really because it's so harmless. The service at the front desk was truly excellent. And it was clean and really did its job as a non-offensive place to lay our heads for the night.

Which for $175, frankly I would want more.

The Quest is, whilst a walk to the waterfront, in the middle of nowhere. A 21 minute walk (according to google maps and my experience) to the centre of Geelong where any cafes, bars, shops or viable swimming options are is a bit ambitious to call it 'Central'.

Our room was separated from our neighbours' by a door, annoying them and us simultaneously by simple whispers.

And the room (we had a courtyard studio) was dark, with broken blind strings and whilst very clean a and functional, was simply depressing.

To really top it off, the hotel was adjacent to the Hertz hire car yard. Which is great for those of us with a practical mind. But what an ugly location for those of us who seek style.

Overall, I wish this little place and its lovely staff well. But I hope I'm never in a situation to have to stay there again.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Quest Geelong, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
This hotel is hidden from direct view of the sea but is walking distance to the side of the sea that connects to the eastern beach, cunningham pier, steampacket garden, etc. The room is well furnished with a kitchen and comfortable. Parking is ample and free. Only thing is our next door tenant made some noise well into the night. We were adjoining to another room, but our door was locked anyway. Other than that, it is good location and good service. We were also near Torquay where we went there for lunch. We will definitely come back to this hotel again.

Hello,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you had a nice time in Geelong looking around Geelong and the Surf Coast.
I'm sorry to hear the guest next door were noisy we try to create a pleasant quiet environment for all guests. Unfortunately there are those guest that are inconsiderate to other guests around them. We do have a on-site night manager that we encourage guest to contact anytime during the night if there is noise disturbances. I'm very sorry this happen to you.
We hope to see you back next time you're in Geelong.
Kind regards,
Shirley Dodds
Franchise Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Geelong

Address: 16_18 The Esplanade South, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Serviced Apartments Australian Franchise of the Year 2012. Quest Geelong completed a $250,000 refurbishment late 2013. The project included refurbishment of all Studio, One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments, comprising of fresh paint, carpet and new mattresses. Works also involved a full refurbishment of the reception and lobby area of the serviced apartment complex. Quest Geelong offers a range of large stylish and comfortable SERVICED APARTMENTS that allows more freedom and choice, whether it is for work or a breakaway. Our Serviced Apartments range from Studio through to One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. With Two Bedroom Executive Apartments feature two bathrooms. All One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments are complete with fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, laundry facilities and washing machine and dryer, separate living zones and balcony. Our Studio Apartments are open plan and contain kitchenette facilities. All apartments offer reverse cycle climate control air conditioners, Foxtel, direct dial phone with voicemail, DVD players iPod docking stations, work desk and high speed Wifi access. Quest Geelong is ideally located near Geelong's vibrant Waterfront and Central Business District and conveniently located via major arterial access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Quest Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Geelong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.