We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Haymarket Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geelong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haymarket Boutique Hotel
Save
You added The Haymarket Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
244 Moorabool Street | (Corner of Little Myers Street), Geelong, Victoria 03220, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Geelong
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Haymarket boutique hotel, is exactly that and a real gem to boot.
There are only six rooms, all beautifully decorated with period pieces and most comfortable.
The double glazing works a treat and there is virtually no street noise.
There is a fantastic little breakfast bar where you help yourself as well as a cosy sitting room with fireplace. The service is exemplarary. Off street parking though not necessary is available.
The hotel is very well priced and is centrally located with several good restaurants available close by, a real gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed at The Haymarket for an overnighter whilst in Geelong on pleasure.... I never could find a boutique hotel in Geelong and I can now say I've found one! But it's VERY boutique although I understand they're building more rooms.
The room was okay. Clean and perfunctory. The TV up to date and working, and the bathroom was very comfortable. Located well, on foot or in car - this is a really nice place to stay. Have to say it's a little more than one would like to pay for what it is, but there's no other boutique option - next stop Four Points Sheraton....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

A gorgeous old hotel close to the centre of Geelong. Atmosphere, comfort, quiet and friendly. We are assured there is a friendly resident ghost as well but he didn't appear for us on this visit! Breakfast is a simple help yourself affair - cereal, toast, juice, tea, coffee etc. Not cheap but would definitely recommend as an alternative to the newer hotels and apartments down on the waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raeh255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Lovely atmosphere and rooms. Very intimate with a very nice courtyard. Honesty bar is a great idea. Service was exceptional. Definately an option for that couples weekend away!

Room Tip: Note this is a BOUTIQUE hotel and accordingly the rooms are decked out with antiques!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Reading other reviews, I can only conclude that some people are hard to please. Who'd be in hospitality?! Yes, I would have liked a more accessible powerpoint, yes the kitchen/bar is pretty tiny - but on the scale of what's important, these things are trivial, and if you want all the 'mod cons' go to the Sheraton down the road. (I have stayed twice at the Sheraton and will never stay there again by choice now I've found the Haymarket which is a gem.) The Haymarket has a lovely feel, and in Geelong that's hard to find. We arrived very late on a Friday night so the hotel was closed and we entered via a laneway with a nearby hotel in full swing with loud music - oh oh, we thought, have we done the right thing choosing this place? However, the instructions as to how to get in worked perfectly, and our room directly on the courtyard was absolutely sound-proof. The heating had been put on for us too, which was greatly appreciated late on a cold winter night. Service at the Haymarket is a feature, the people we met were really lovely and very happy to help in any way they could. We loved the cosy lounge, the free wifi, the honesty bar (though be warned, it is locked at 9pm which we hadn't realised - and we were so looking forward to a glass of muscat in bed!). Breakfast is a reasonably simple affair but not basic - coffee is real and very good quality, bread is wholemeal, and there is a nice range of fresh fruit. The bed is one of the best I've slept in in a hotel. The hotel is located about 5 or 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. Parking is limited to four cars only. Note that although upstairs rooms are probably out of the question for a disabled person, the downstairs room we had would be quite OK for a fairly mobile wheelchair-user. In all, we loved this place and will be back next time we are in Geelong for a Cats match! By the way, we ate lunch on Sunday at Petteval winery - it was outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This hotel has aspirations, but it just doesn't make it. Nice friendly staff, lovely antiques in the room, good bed & bedding, nice bathroom, chocolate on the pillow, lovely little sitting area downstairs. But overall not great, and too many small details missing and jarring. The location is a bit odd - up past some dubious shops and my room looked out over a distinctly unscenic tyre replacement yard.
It's a renovated period building - but whoever didn't bother to replace the ceiling cornices, which made the bedroom look oddly unfinished. The hotel promotes itself as offering 'luxury', yet supplied a very ordinary DIY breakfast complete with ordinary bread and little Kraft plastic packets of butter, honey, marmalade etc. Not my idea of luxury. Good marks for real coffee, but overall it's 3 1/2 star. Once was enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

I am an experienced traveller and after reading the reviews decided to book this hotel. All I can say is that by selecting a hotel based upon reviews does not always work out. This is one of those times. The other reviewers obviously were not used to the standard required for a 41/2 star hotel. This one fails to make the grade. Although good, clean and tidy with friendly staff, it is simply not up to the grade as advertised. I suspect that the grade has been selected by the hotel to justify the price. Therefore it is overpriced as it is really at 3 star level.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overrated
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rustycycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#11 of 24 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.1 mi away
Mercure Geelong
Mercure Geelong
#13 of 24 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 24 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haymarket Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haymarket Boutique Hotel

Address: 244 Moorabool Street | (Corner of Little Myers Street), Geelong, Victoria 03220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel Geelong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing